Families logo

What Happens If the Epidural Doesn’t Work?

Sometimes the Epidural doesn’t work and it sucks...

By Rich BurtonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Going into labor and just assuming you are going to take the epidural and all will be well is exactly what I was assuming... But that isn’t always the case. Which was very unfortunate for me. I hope it doesn’t happen to you, but if it does here are some tips.

Get ready for pain

The pain that you will experience is excruciating. Probably the worst pain you will every have in your entire life, unless you have more kids, ha. This was my first baby and I was so ready to not feel any pain. They give you a button to push for more anesthesia, but if you have to be on your side and move in different positions, the medicine might not take on certain sides of your body so you will feel the contractions on the side that you aren’t leaning on. If the pain starts to come in, push that button and the pain will hopefully subside in 20 minutes, and if it doesn’t then brace the side of the bed and get ready to squeeze.

Under PRESSURE

The pressure is so real that I thought I was going to die. Once I was dilated to a certain point, I could literally feel his head going down my cervix and into the vagina area. It hurt so bad and I kept screaming that I want him out. It was great that my husband was there because I was grabbing his shirt with so much intensity there were wrinkles all down it. Make sure you have some sort of support person with you if you are not ready for that pain. My tip, take deep, long breaths. You won’t want to, but you have to because then you will start hyperventilating and might pass out, get a bigger headache than you already have, etc.

Be Mentally Prepared

The pain and pressure is so intense that if you aren’t ready for it, it will hurt even worse. My mom’s epidural didn’t take on my second sibling and she told me that if that happens, then get ready mentally because it will take a toll. Which it did. Take an extra class about giving birth naturally and how to prepare. I wish I did because I was just screaming I wanted him out, I am so tired, I want to be over, etc. I ended up pushing for about 10 minutes because I couldn’t handle it any longer and I tried so hard to get him out. The nurses were impressed, but I just had the mindset to get the little dude out, but I did tear a lot, so just beware of that! Prepare for the pushing and prepare for the harsh labor.

Just Push Them Out

You will be tired, you will be sweating, and you will be wanting that baby out of you! They say that pushing is like trying to push out a poop, but I didn’t feel like that was the case. You use your ab muscles like you are doing a crunch, hold your breath, brace your arms on your legs, have the nurse and your support person push your knees into your chest, and put your chin to your chest. Afterwards, after the drugs somewhat wear off, your chest is going to hurt like a mother (pun intended, ha) and you will most likely want to take your meds for that pain and not your pain in your vagina and butt. You will tear. Especially if this is your first baby.

Relax

After you have this baby, take a bath. A long, hot bath. If the hospital doesn’t have a bath, take a long, hot shower and hopefully the shower head comes off because you will want that all over downstairs and it feels fabulous. You will be sweating and exhausted from the pretty much natural birth you just had to endure, and the bath/shower you will take will be the best one you ever had.

You’re Getting the Greatest Gift Ever

After all the months making them, the intense labor for hours, the hard pushing for however long it takes, possibly the NICU, maybe your baby is premature, etc., you are getting the greatest bundle of joy that you made and that is beautiful. Your whole life is about to change, whether it’s your first or your last. They are all a different experience.

Good luck and I hope your epidural takes! Just remember breath, get ready for pain and pressure, and prepare your mind for those things!

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Rich Burton

I’m a work from home mom with 2 crazy kids. I write for fun with the hopes of finishing my unfinished book!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.