Families logo

To a Father

Fractured Fears and Future Hopes

By Call Me LesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
10
Photo by David Bartus of Pexels

I am a collector of father figures; no one who knows me well would ask why.

I recently lost my former father-in-law, a man who made fatherhood—parenthood—his primary mission in life. It will always be a wound on my soul that I didn't get to give him a grandchild, just perhaps less raw than it is today.

And yet, it was a wise choice I did not.

The time is past; the people in that family I held so dear for twelve years both passed by and passed on. I have no regrets; I loved him as deeply as any daughter-in-law ever could have.

...but...what now?

My thoughts on parenthood have evolved and diverged over the years. I'm 35, not exactly prime age to have a child—even if I still had two ovaries. If you want to know the journey of the reduction to one, you can read about that here:

Do I dare to look to the future?

To still have hope that I'll be a parent?

Sometimes I think, yes. Other days, on my bad days, I think I should never be a mother, an old sentiment placed in my mind from society's expectations of motherhood and both well and ill-intentioned acquaintances.

When you're bipolar, everyone seems to think they have a right to weigh in on your decision to be a parent.

Beyond my own aspirations of parenthood, do I dare to dream of finding someone to be the future father of my children?

C knows I do dream and often.

My long established friend recently turned more, we're both in the same boat: a little older, wondering if there are any exits left on the highway of singlehood over to becoming a family. I'm grateful he's never shown a shred of concern for my shortcomings; he has more faith in me than I do most days.

C, I don't think I ever told you how much this meant to me:

And there is where I think he'd be the right person with whom to have children. Parenthood involves a lot of faith: in yourself, your relationship, finances—heck, the future of the planet. His unwavering faith in me makes me feel bolder.

Would I like to have our biological children?

Yes, of course. It's a defining moment in any relationship when that happens, and who, among those who want biological children, doesn't at least sometimes daydream of the love and miracle of conception?

But, my heart is open.

If it doesn't happen naturally, I believe another opportunity will present itself, and we will find a way forward through adoption or fostering. As a member of a still oppressed minority in Canada, C might want to look to his people for a way to make a difference in the world. We have the same heritage, though mine is much farther up on the family tree, and, sadly, many of those branches were lost thanks to the Canadian Residential School System.

*

Needless to say, this Father's Day will be a complicated one for me. I'll be mourning a father-in-law, mourning the relationship I thought I'd have children during, and trying my best not to dwell too much on the past and my mistakes. I will, of course, send my living father a note. And I will be thinking of the grandfathers I never knew and the surrogate one who's still here, but barely, and who I wish I could take a walk with one last time.

But now, thanks to C, I'll also be thinking of the future, putting a little faith and hope back into myself and my dreams. Like I said, on my good days, I do think I'd make a good mother, but more so, on any day, I know he'd make an excellent father.

*

 ~This piece is entered into the, 'Dads Are No Joke' contest, on Vocal Media~

parents
10

About the Creator

Call Me Les

Aspiring etymologist and hopeless addict of children's fiction.

If I can't liberally overuse adverbs and alliteration, I'm out!

Instagram @writelesplaymore

Vocal Spotlight

~&~

She/Her

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    Well. You know how much I can relate to this, I am sure. Les, this is beautiful and raw. Well done. <3

  • Sarah G.2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing! I especially love your opening line -- it's excellent.

  • Ali Howarth2 years ago

    Beautiful writing. Thank you for sharing <3

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    I enjoyed the.story and wish you the best in the years ahead. You have done a good job of honoring the father figures in your life .

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Enjoy the story and how it is written.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Love this Les. I believe your day is coming. You have everything it takes to be a mother, and then some. My daughter and her wife have three children, all from donated sperm. My daughter carried them to birth. So my daughters wife is not biologically related to them but she is most certainly their mother. She couldn't love them more, or they her, if she carried them herself.

  • <3 these are among the many reasons we all feel so close to you. There it is, hope, in black and white!! Whatever the future holds for you, there is no doubt you will be a master at it!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely read! Brilliantly written! Your heartfelt story is courageous, caring, and calm. To be a father takes lots of C's and more Choice, Chances, Change! 😊💖💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    emotional and beautifully written. Well done.

  • Madoka Mori2 years ago

    Gorgeous and heartfelt.

  • Sadness and happiness and hope for the future, beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.