Families logo

Story of my life

The story of my life

By Gracie CrusinberryPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Story of my life
Photo by Josefin on Unsplash

This is the story of my life. Where can I begin or even start? As you may know I'm Grace but I go by Gracie. To those who don't know me; Hi thank you for taking the time to read this.

I'm from Nebraska, but I wasn't born here. You see as you may or may not know from my depression story you know or may not know that I'm adopted. I was born in Vietnam in a small town. I was six months old when I was adopted. I don't know who my dad is at all, because he left my birth mother when I was born I guess or even before. Who knows? I'm writing this story to see hopefully that maybe just maybe that this story will reach out to her. In some way that she'll read this.

I wasn't born in a hospital at all not that I know of, but what I was told is that I was born in a house. When I was born I had complications, thats why I was placed for adoption; so when I was adopted and picked up by my family, my adoptive family noticed something on my arm and wondered what it was. When we got back, we went to the physician to see what I have. I was diagnosed with neurofibromatosis type one and scoliosis. On my arm they said it was birthmarks. With that my life was just a whirlwind for me. I also have soft tissues on my left side ono my wrist and hip.

At the age of 3 or 4 years old I had my first neck surgery. Then at the age of 5 or 6 years old;I had my first back surgery on I think my lower back, that surgery I had a bendable rod in my back that can be lengthened. However my doctor who did my surgery for me thought it wouldn't help me as much so that was when he decided to get me a second surgery on my upper back. This surgery we did a stainless steel rod that is permanent.

So in school I had to get a lot of accommodations. I was held back a grade because, I didn't start to speak English til the age of 3 years old. What my told me or maybe that I can't remember, anyway she told me that I had to take preschool three times. I had to get a speech teacher to help me read so I can improve my reading. After my last surgery my mom would make me go to physical therapy. I didn't do what they told me there at the physical therapy appointments because I was a kid.

I didn't wanna the physical therapy at all because, I didn't like it at all. So they would say ok Gracie can you do this for me and that and so on for me? Wouldn't even budge. We weren't far from them to get there from where I was at for the house just to get the appointment. So whenever we got home I would just do my own thing that they told me to do because I guess I wanted to be in my own environment which was at HOME!!!

So one day at home in the sunroom I said to my brother Ben "HEY BEN LOOK AT ME" walking like Frankenstien, now I know what you're thinking Frankenstien really? Yes really I literally walked like him as a child just out of no where because, I could barely even walk. My room is upstairs so I couldn't sleep up there after my surgery I guess they didn't want to put too much pressure on my back and neck if I looked down. So I had to sleep downstairs near the doorbell in the office. My mom put my mattress, blanket and pillow down there for me. I went to school for half the day since I started school at 9am and school didn't end til like 3pm.

So for half the time I would go home early around 11am, ya I was there for basically 2 hours, isn't that weird? To me that was normal and I didn't think of it til now. I was a kid when this happened to me, it was normal for me. Yeah I know 2 hours isn't enough to learn everything, my classes had to accommodate for me so I can write things or my teachers would write notes for me to help me or even giving it to my mom.

So one day I said to my entire class that I was gonna visit my birth family in Vietnam when I was about 8 or 9 years old. It was nice seeing my birth family there however going through airport security was a hassle because it would go off. I was wearing a back brace so my back can be straight for a while. I got sick there from food poisoning I think because they washed their dishes in the river that was really dirty.

My family I travel a lot around the world ever since I was adopted, we've been to a lot of places around the world such as: Australia in Sydney, Gold Coast, Surfers Paradise, Cairns, Uluru; New Zealand in Hamilton, Wellington, Christ Church Queenstown and Auckland; Italy in Rome, Pisa, Venice, Assisi, and a few hours in Bologna; France; Germany; Switzerland in Geneva, Zurich and Grindelwald; Austria; England; Norway; Sweden; Denmark; Amsterdam; China in Beijing and Hong Kong; Japan in Nagasaki, Hiroshima and Tokyo; Vietnam; Costa Rica; Dubai; Brazil; Puerto Rico; Scandinavia; Hawaii; Cayman Islands and so many other places.

Whenever I wear a bikini people would stare at me because of my birthmarks. Im tired of people staring at my stomach for it like ya something is wrong with me on my stomach, but please stop staring at me and not say anything. Like don't say whats wrong with her mommy? Or what happened to her arm mommy? what happened to her stomach mommy? why is her tummy dirty mommy? im tired of it im sorry. if you see me in a bikini with the birthmark on her stomach and arm dont say anything to me at all just dont. dont say rude stuff about me please dont. ok thanks

If my birth mom or my biological dad or brother and sister or cousin. I want to know that I'm ok but I wish you never left me (my birth dad). Why did you leave me? Why did you leave my mom? I have so many questions. Is my birth dad dead? Is he alive? Like what.

thanks for reading this guys bye...

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.