Families logo

Shy

How To Be A Shy Girl!

By marie e ehlenbachPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Shy
Photo by Pâmela Lima on Unsplash

What does it mean when a girl is shy?

Shyness is an emotion that affects how a person feels and behaves around others. Shyness can mean feeling uncomfortable, self-conscious, nervous, bashful, timid, or insecure. People who feel shy sometimes notice physical sensations like blushing or feeling speechless.

When I was a young girl, I was really shy. I remember when I was at my Aunt and Uncle, everybody had a root beer float! I could not bring myself to say I will have one too. I wanted one but I dare not say that I did!

My life went on that for years and years to come. When I was growing up I ask my Mom about all of this. She had four children. The first three were growing up with a lot of friends, phone calls. I was left with some of these things. I had a lot of by friends in a hand shell, four or five at a time. That's how many, over four year of high school I had. My Mom said when she was pregnant with the three before me, everything was fine. When I came along there many gruel fights, back stab between my Mom and Dad. There was six years between my older (step-brother), he was older than I.

Later I found out that I was not paternal. My Dad (stepdad) was not my really Dad. My Mom was kind of withdrawn and seem upset through the whole pregnancy. I found out later, my Dad was ALL GREEK! That was a real FIND. I didn't know who my father was or is, I found out through 23andME. I gave my blood through a little test tube and they have it tested. Mine was half Greek (my Father) and the other one have was English (my Mom). My step-father was German, Russian, and Irish.

I guess that leaves a whole thing about shyness to me! I can't have a Mom who was upset through the whole pregnancy and come out without anything wrong! My Mother was having an affair with a man who was Greek! Who am I to wonder who my father is!

I have really come out of my shell. I am a single divorced Mom, I had to make money! What was the next best thing? I have been a server, for about twenty years!

Being a Mom your child doesn't want a silent mother. A Mom who cares about nothing but, what is going around your child. I thought would be a chore but there is nothing that I would want to know. I had a son! There was always scout's, baseball and football, and none the less there was girls! He is not shy!

I thank God for him not being shy. I was divorced when he was seven months old. I thought I had a good father, but I was wrong! He saw him one time after my divorced! One time! He paid one child support payment. And that was all until my son was thirteen years old. We waited a long time for that! It lasted until my son was a senior in college!

Reset your password! Being a shy mother was just not to cut it. So I started to push myself into conversations. I found that was just fine, I felt so much better! I got me casual friendships, and sometime dates! I would not have any if I had my shy self!

Now my son is a teacher in New York! Not being shy got him into that! You have to be outgoing, and strong minded!

siblingspregnancyhow todivorcedchildrenadviceadoption
Like

About the Creator

marie e ehlenbach

I started writing when I found my imagination needed a place to be! Yes, I will write about anything that comes to mind! Living near the National Park in Washington, DC. I find it is the place to go to let your imagination take over!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.