Families logo

Second Oldest among Three kids

January 07, 2021

By Shalini GoundenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Second Oldest among Three kids
Photo by Tsunami Green on Unsplash

I'm the second oldest. When my sister moved out, she had responsibilities to help around the house and go to work. While the two youngest are at school. Since she moved out, all the responsibility landed on me. It was a big struggle for me. Even though it's a struggle for me to do both at once, I was able to manage to do it all. Then later on in this month, I quit my job so I can focus on my brother. I had to help my brother with his homework he gets from school. Even though I am the one who mostly. I have to take care of him during the day.

Being the second oldest isn't the easiest. There are some good parts to being the second oldest among the three kids. That is taking your younger siblings to places like the park, go get ice cream, etc. Doing all these things with them is so much fun. Mostly spending time with them before they get older and making memories with them. This one day I took my little brother to the park and let him play as much as he wants. After that, we went and got some ice cream. Once we finished having ice cream we went home and had dinner. After having dinner, my brother and I got ready for bed.

While I was struggling with doing work and helping around the house. I tried to do both and don't freak out because I usually have to work an 8-hour shift and come home. Before my dad came home to do some housework before my dad comes home. I couldn't take the pressure of doing both and having no rest so I quit my job. So I can help out at home. Then I spend some time with my brother before my dad comes home from work. All the struggles I am going through right now is a lot for me to handle. But after a while of doing it, I got used to it and continue to do it every day.

When my sister moved out, she had responsibilities to help around the house and work. Now the responsibilities are put on me. When she left, the responsibilities are all lot to handle. It got to the point that I got used to it and learned how to do both. I had to decide on whether or not if I have to leave my job. So I can watch my brother and help him with his homework and picking him up from school. The decision I had to make was I have to leave my job so I can focus on my brother.

Most of the days out of the week, I'm the one who is mostly taking care of him. when everyone else at work. Once my dad comes home, I go and get some rest while my dad is watching my brother. That is the only time I can get a break, out of the day. By the end of the day, I tried my best of going to work and helping around the house. Mostly, I have to wake up early in the morning so I could drop my brother at school. I really try hard to make sure my brother goes to school and gets dropped off and picked up from school.

Now, when I’m not working. My time usually is with my brother and helping around the house. The time I put on my brother is my priority, while I am at home. So I can put my time and effort into his school work. Everything I do is for my brother because I have to struggle every day doing things for my dad. After all the responsibilities land on me and I don’t get any help. I tried to help out my dad as much as possible. I'm getting tired every day from waking up early to wake up my brother.

Few months pass by, out of nowhere my sister wanted to move back in because of the place she was renting out. The owners t were to change the rent price. The rent kept on going higher every month. My sister got sick and tired of paying more every month. So she left and moved back in with my dad.

Since my sister moved back a couple of days ago. Now I have extra help around the house. Now there are more hands helping around the house. When she doesn’t have work, she helps me around the house. It is really helpful when there are extra hands. I was struggling when my sister wasn’t around helping me. I’m glad she came back.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Shalini Gounden

My name is Shalini. I'm writing romance/fantasy content on my page and I might think you'll like to read this romance/fantasy stories that are on my page. I hope you enjoy reading these stories that are written!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.