Families logo

Samantha

I will let Samantha take you there...

By marie e ehlenbachPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Samantha
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Do you want to pursue your passion?

Are you ready to live your happiest moments of the past and future?

Well, then you've come to the right place! Today we will let Samantha take you there!

Once upon a time, there was a dog named Samantha..

I was about seven years old when I asked my Mom for a dog. She said, "maybe." That got my hopes up ten feet! Maybe for Christmas!

Everybody told her what they wanted for Christmas. I still wanted a dog. My half-brother wanted a bike. He was six years older than I was. So I thought I wouldn't get what I wanted. A dog costs a lot of money, just like a bike does.

Well, that day of the year came about really quickly! It was Christmas Eve, and we all got into bed. I snuggled up with my collie (stuffed!), closed my eyes, and went to sleep immediately! I woke up with a start it was my Mom!

"Come and see what you've got."She said.

I jumped out of bed and went around the corner, and stopped just like a scared person would do. I screamed. It is a dog! I went over to her, she was so small she could barely fit in my hands. With a purple streak of nail polish on the top of her head, she looked adorable! My Mom said the lady put the nail polish on her so we would know which one she was. Like I would ever think any different! She was the one! I called her Samantha. I had my name picked out and everything. Samantha is just like the girl who is the witch on tv! She kept my attention for the rest of the day.

I felt bad because my step-brother didn't get what he wanted, but not so bad!

Well, Sam,(I started to call her that) had big trouble in potty training. I left Sam with my step-dad while Mom and I went off on vacation. We got back and there were no mistakes in the house. I thought "how could he have done it!" I was only nine at the time After I went to bed I snuck out and I heard my Mom and him talking. He cracked her ass every time she did a poo in the house! I cried and went back and hugged Samantha. We had two boxes of treats, no tricks for my Sam! All in the cabinet!

I went on the next few days as if the was nothing to remember. That went on for two or three days. I kept giving my Sam treats. It passed by. Like all those things do.

My step-dad brought another dog home! She was three or four times the size of Samantha! How are they ever going to get along?

Her name was Carrie, she was a girl too. She chased my Sam all over the yard! Carrie got her into a corner of the yard and that was it! Samantha came out hissing and snarling! I never thought I would see her like that? It was like a shake-off! I felt better now, I could see I could let them in the yard together.

Another day, Carrie jumped in the pool! My step-dad and Mom thought that was really funny. So, they picked up my Sam and put her in the pool! I was terrified. How could you do that? Look at her she is going to drown! I jumped in the pool, even with my clothes on. Would you believe I got in trouble for having my clothes on? Well, no Samantha was going to drown?

Well, that went over like a lead balloon! I am ten years old, and I am not going to let my dog die. I don't care if you think it is funny!

She told me if I stayed a little longer you would see it was funny too. Sam can swim! The only thing is you, in all your wet clothes. Go in and change. You see, it's all a big joke.

I laughed with my Mom over that story. I thought she would bring that story about Samantha. Samantha was my buddy! Whenever I got sick, she was always there. When I hurt my elbow she was there too. Whenever I laughed, she was there. She had a say so about everything in my life that I did. When I was sad, she was sad. When you think about how many times in your life she should be there. She was always on my lap or under my feet. I hope she always knew I would be there for her! I even gave her bites of my ice cream!

When you are young, no one can bring you better than a dog. It knows a lot more than you think. A lot more than she shows you. All you have to do is keep her company. Like her scrapes and scratches! She will always love you! Samantha, I knew that I will always love her too. She stayed with us for eleven years. She stayed with us the whole time. All my cuts and bruises were licked by Sam! Whatever ways there were, none seemed to help better than hers. No band-aids or alcoholic sector will take the pain better than the licks!

Sometimes there are people seemed to know better than dogs. Untrue in my family! I guess I am the only one who knows how much a dog can love you! The dog, like Samantha, who just happens to be mine! My family had pictures of us when we were small. Sam just seems to fit right in! When she got old, the hair on her face got white, I mean white! So there is no letting dogs can be like humans! Sam got white whiskers too! I was glad she got too old and feeble to keep them in color! I was ready to move out. We got the word from the Vet that she was a little too old, so we had to put her down. I will always keep her in my heart.

humanity
1

About the Creator

marie e ehlenbach

I started writing when I found my imagination needed a place to be! Yes, I will write about anything that comes to mind! Living near the National Park in Washington, DC. I find it is the place to go to let your imagination take over!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • marie e ehlenbach (Author)2 years ago

    It brings back memories!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.