Families logo

Random Ohana..

In this family..no one fights alone, and no one is left behind.

By Justice for AllPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

There is a book I read many years ago called Random Family by https://www.amazon.com/Random-Family-Drugs-Trouble-Coming/dp/0743254430

" In her extraordinary bestseller, Adrian Nicole LeBlanc immerses readers in the intricacies of the ghetto, revealing the true sagas lurking behind the headlines of gangsta glamour, gold-drenched drug dealers, and street-corner society. Focusing on two romances—Jessica’s dizzying infatuation with a hugely successful young heroin dealer, Boy George, and Coco’s first love with Jessica's little brother, Cesar—Random Family is the story of young people trying to outrun their destinies. Jessica and Boy George ride the wild adventure between riches and ruin, while Coco and Cesar stick closer to the street, all four caught in a precarious dance between survival and death. Friends get murdered; the DEA and FBI investigate Boy George; Cesar becomes a fugitive; Jessica and Coco endure homelessness, betrayal, the heartbreaking separation of prison, and, throughout it all, the insidious damage of poverty.

Charting the tumultuous cycle of the generations—as girls become mothers, boys become criminals, and hope struggles against deprivation—LeBlanc slips behind the cold statistics and sensationalism and comes back with a riveting, haunting, and true story."

My random family is not a ghetto, but a true saga of one woman always in search of her Carebear Tribe, a Carebear tribe of "adopted" family because of the illegalites committed by several police deaprtments and Chatham County, Ga committing State and Federal RICO violations against a juvenile probation officer that no one will investigate. It is about a woman who meets these amazing people like firefighters, police officers and every day people who she adopts as family because her family has ignored her, from her biological one to the blue family she was part of. It's not No Matter How Loud I Shout: A Year in the Life of Juvenile Court. https://www.amazon.com/No-Matter-How-Loud-Shout/dp/1501102931

It is the true story about how people I have met became family to me when everyone I considered family became the problem. It is about finding justice when every system in Georgia has failed me and taken care of people who don't deserve it and excluding me from the same things anyone is entitled to. We don't get to pick our biological family, and my father failed me when I needed him most just as every man I respected as someone I would want as a father has turned their back on me when I need them. It is about finding home and the people who don't stand with their "family" when they don't do the right thing.

The world I knew was full of first responders that I took it upon myself to be their champion because I believed in what they did and that they worked for a system that while broken was full of people who went the extra mile. Not people who intentionally went against everything a badge stands for and the system protected them. These people are are a dishonor to everything they represent. These people I have met have become family to me because of how they treated me when the people I considered family and friends have turned their back on me while the worst that could happen has been done. For 2.5 years no one has spoken up for me, and only to attack me. In random moments I have literally seen heroes shining through the darkness. They haven't been able to fix what the bad ones have done, and sadly they disappear every time I say they are family, which is maybe just that they don't rememeber me but I remember their light, their professional family and hope one day they will speak up for me and be part of the end of the trauma and tragedy.

These people I have dubbed "Carebears" they are the best of the best and haven't reversed or judged like the people who think that I deserve to go through every trauma, every loss alone when they could have stopped it from getting worse. They are always the people I would have hired could I get anyone held responsible in the government which even lawyers have ignored..Justice has a beginning. It begins with people supporting each other, and refusing to see one person suffer alone. It is not criminals and child molsters being able to commit felonies like entire police departments, it is not leaving rapists out of jail, or investigators ignoring emails from victims, or people making police reports, it is not dumping women in the street, it is not anything I have seen for a very long time.

It takes only one person standing by, and up for another, supporting them through what they can, making a place a home and the bad in the world go down in the world. That is fair, for those who make others suffer to suffer through what they allowed to happen to another person. Chatham County, Ga could take a few a notes. Each person who contributes to injustice deserves the fate they created for another. They deserve nothing less then the exact experience they put someone else through with their silence. They deserve to live in gas stations, to be sexually battered and have law enforcement allow the criminal to go free. They deserve the experience they created for someone else..

When we stand neutral and silent on matters of injustice, we should be made to live the life of the people we vicitmized. There is a justice in world but it it is not in allowing someone to hurt, struggle and protect ourselves out of cowardness. We conduct ourselves as if we are professionals not endanger any life. To those who know the blue line does not protect those that break their oath, that hides in shame or is silent in moments of peril, we are stronger than then those that dishonor our fallen. My adopted father, is a former Navy Seal who also a homicide detective. He adpoted a woman because he didnt trust her father, and he was right. He protected an abused woman at the cost of his career as a police officer, he trusted me with his company, he shot his own son who raped a woman, paid for her to live while she was healing and then hired her. That is honor. He will always be the guiding light of my heart. He taught me how to run a business, how to mediate every conflict the right way. He simply had a code and hell hath no fury when you crossed him. He is the sweetest man alive, but he will never rest until his daughter is avenged. I struggle with it more than he would because I am still protecting his company, my other family that will never lose one of their own. That is the family I have ever known. That is the family I expect to see in others.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Justice for All

"Justice delayed, is justice denied" "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

Tattooed, Employed and has a Psych degree..Always on the look out for a group of Avengers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.