Families logo

My Home Away From Home

The rhythm of the night in Roanoke Virginia

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Former Roanoke Civic Center is now the Berglund Center

I wrote an article about my hometown, Blue Ridge, Va. where I actually lived growing up. Being a small town we had to travel west on Route 460 to Roanoke, 10 miles away for grocery stores, doctors, and entertainment. I moved to Roanoke in 1979 and believe it or not there are still some buildings in place, that were a part of my childhood and teenage years. Each of these landmarks is within a one-mile radius and within walking distance from each other. I woke up at 5:30 AM this morning desiring McDonald's Coffee and went to the restaurant that was near the downtown area of the city. It was dark of course and as I began driving home an idea took place in my mind.

McDonald's is on Williamson Road heading south towards downtown. Directly across the street from Mickey D's is what used to be called Roanoke Civic Center. It was lit up in the darkness and I decided to get a photo for this challenge. This facility was built in 1971 and the church my husband attended as a child, used to be in that very spot. It was torn down so the city could use the land. This was a part of so-called urban renewal but it really destroyed black neighborhoods and a sense of community was lost.

. My mother would take my 2 brothers, myself, and our stepsister to the circus in the Civic Center for many years. After my husband and I met in 1976 we attended numerous concerts in this facility. We saw so many talented singers and musicians and often some of them made return visits and we got to enjoy them 4 or 5 times over the years. I will try to name as many as I can. Earth-Wind and Fire, The Commodores, The Jacksons, LTD, James Brown, Parliament-Funkadelic, Teddy Pendergrast, Rick James, Patty Labelle, Shalamar, The Bar-kays, Cameo, Bobby Brown, Prince, Morris Day and the Tyme, The Chi-lites, The Stylistic, The OJays, KC and the Sunshine Band and so many more. We probably attended about 50 concerts during a 10 year period. In 2014 the name of this building was changed to The Berglund Center.

Saint Andrews Catholic Church

About 4 blocks away, in the historic Gainsboro neighborhood, just off of North Jefferson Street is the Saint Andrews Catholic Church. As a child, I was afraid of this building at night and thought it looked like the spooky Disney castle. My Great Aunt Gladys lived only 2 blocks away and whenever I stayed with her I could see the tower in the darkness and it sent chills down my spine. This church is the one remaining structure from a time when the neighborhood was mostly white. This edifice was built around 1900-1902 which makes it a true landmark. This morning I had no fear but was in awe of the structure in the waning of the night.

The Gainsboro Library.

Just down the hill, about 50 steps is the Gainsboro Library. For many years this was considered to be the black library. I can recall a time when the bookshelves towered over me and I could get lost within them. Today this library has been modernized and there are fewer books. Computers, video games, CD's and DVD's are now the norm. There was a time when the staff and patrons were all African American but not anymore. This library now is a multicultural hub and the students from the Catholic school next to the church frequent this establishment.

YMCA

About 3 blocks North West of the Library and 2 blocks from the church is the YMCA Express on Orange Ave. When I was growing up this facility was the Young Women's Christian Association and was a haven for young black girls. There was skating and socials that kept young girls and teens busy after school and on the weekends. I attended a nearby elementary school but was driven back to Blue Ridge each evening. I never got to participate and felt left out when the girls would talk on Mondays about the fun they had with the Y Teens.

Once the main branch of the Young Men's Christian Association went coed, this branch was changed into a fitness center and rebranded from YWCA to YMCA. I have many memories of this building and one that is not so fond. When I was in kindergarten, one of my older cousins got married and held his reception in this building. I went outside alone and climbed on some rocks in the back and fell. I hurt my left knee and began crying when I noticed it bleeding. The scar is still visible 58 years later.

Hotel Roanoke Conference Center

When you drive south from the YMCA you pass the church and the library on the left and you see the back road that takes you to the civic center. If you turn left a few blocks later onto Wells Ave you will come to The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center. My great aunt, whom I mentioned earlier worked at the Hotel for many years and she could walk as she was only a block and a half away. Look closely at the top left of the photo and you will see a glowing tower. This belongs to the Wells Fargo building which actually is located in the downtown area and several blocks away. Just beneath the tower, you can see the top of the actual Hotel Roanoke. The brightly lit building in the front is the Conference Center which was added in 1995.

My husband worked at the Conference Center for many years and we both had relatives who worked in the Hotel, for their entire careers. This facility is referred to as The Grand Old Lady and is one of the oldest and most well-respected establishments in the entire city. When we lived in the Gainsboro neighborhood I often walked down to the YMCA, then back up past the church and the library then the back way through the Civic Center parking lot to McDonald's for coffee as my morning routine. I would then walk down to the street in front of the hotel to circle around and go back home. Although I have lived in Roanoke for close to 42 years, I consider it my home away from home. My heart will always consider the town where I grew up to be my true hometown.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.