Families logo

Meet Billy No Mates

And wish a Happy Unbirthday to me

By Ryan O'BryanPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like
Meet Billy No Mates
Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

Am I the only man who has never, ever had a Birthday, Father's Day or Christmas card from his children? I have four children from two ex wives and I am estranged from all of them due to what is called Parental Alienation.

Only one time, my youngest daughter took me out for a meal (still no card, but a meal is a pretty good substitute) for my Birthday and that was a great many years ago, maybe fifteen years. The last time I met or spoke to her, my eldest daughter was full of promises to take me out and get me drunk for my birthday. It never happened. In fact she spent all her money on enjoying herself and ran out of money, so yet again I had to sub her for the her journey back home.

This last thirteen years I haven't even had so much as a "Hello Dad how are you?" email, and that costs nothing, zero, zilch. Many times in my life I took mum out for a meal, or took her shopping, or invited her over to Spain and I never ever allowed her to spend a dime. It was my pleasure to pay for her return ticket, all her food and her accommodation as well as all of her outings.

Is this new generation meaner, more selfish and self centred than mine? When I once commented to my eldest daughter that she never ever called me she got all haughty and offended accusing me of calling her self obsessed. Yup, I never said it baby, but now you mention it, you are.

If I had anything for them they would be on the phone faster than lightning. If there is nothing in it for them they don't bother. I recall my younger daughter once telling her elder sister that she would not be able to accompany her on a visit to my place in Spain. My eldest daughter got all offended and said to her sister "Are you telling me I have to go and be with him on my own?" I never realised that she hated my company so much.

My son hasn't been much better. Years ago in his teens if we went out to the town centre he would walk five yards behind me. Apparently it wasn't cool to be seen out with your Dad. One time he was walking alongside of me on a bright sunny day and as I turned my head to the left I could see him staring at me out of love and admiration. Errrr, no. He said he was checking out his reflection on my sunglasses lenses, to see how cool he looked.

I truly cannot remember that far back to recall if I was anything like that with my Dad, I sincerely hope not. I know I certainly wasn't with my mum. I was always proud to be out with my mum. Maybe it's a Dad thing, I don't know. And maybe it's my over expectation, I would be interested to know in the comments section what your experience has been with your own children to see if it is just me.

children
Like

About the Creator

Ryan O'Bryan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.