Families logo

I Successfully Hid a Pregnancy to Term. Here’s Why

It wasn’t for attention

By Julia MarsiglioPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo taken by author’s husband

When I announced the birth of my youngest child on Facebook, I received a message from a friend I had last seen a couple of weeks prior. She was shocked. She hadn’t noticed. And she didn’t know.

I hadn’t exactly tried to hide it when I saw her, but I hadn’t mentioned it either. I wore a pair of shorts and a loose-fitting T-shirt. A group of us were watching TV, and I lay on my back (because it hurt). I honestly thought my bump would be visible at least in that position.

But I didn’t want to talk about it. Announcing my pregnancy drew attention to it, and I was barely surviving. I had announced pregnancies twice before, but this time was different.

I was measuring small — eight weeks behind to be exact. My urine protein got flagged as high in a routine prenatal visit. Further tests got me slapped with a preeclampsia label. Sonograms revealed an IUGR baby (too small) and low waters. In my mind, I was carrying a dying baby. Some might think I was being hyperbolic, but my obstetrician understood my fear.

Three months before I conceived this baby, I gave birth. I gave birth, but I didn’t bring the baby home. My little girl was sent to the morgue, and I was wheeled out of the hospital with a cardboard box of mementos instead of my child. It would be a gross understatement to say that losing my daughter destroyed me.

I had announced my pregnancy at twelve weeks like I was “supposed to”. Everything was perfect until it wasn’t. I spiked a fever and ended up in the hospital with sepsis and a dead baby.

It’s a funny thing — going through a public pregnancy loss like that. People haven’t really learned how to relate to people who have lost babies yet. It’s been taboo for so long, that even well-meaning people don’t know what to do or say. I attended my sister’s wedding ten days after my loss, and most people avoided eye contact. A few people offered condolences. To me. Not to my husband. I was uninvited to a baby shower.

In the loss community, we talk about secondary losses and secondary traumas. The way people reacted to my loss and the lack of support surrounding it was a secondary trauma for me.

We had no funeral, no acknowledgement of the gravity of our loss. I knew that if it happened again that I would need to be able to tell the world in my own timing. I wouldn’t hide the loss, but I wouldn’t share until I was ready to face the secondary trauma either.

So when I got pregnant again, and so soon after, I wasn’t ready to tell people in the first trimester. The second trimester rolled around, and I still didn’t feel ready. I was pressured into telling a few people, and a few more guessed, but there was no big announcement. Many remained in the dark.

When I hit the third trimester, that is when the problems started: the IUGR and the pre-eclampsia. I had twice-weekly visits to the clinic then and one scary trip to Labour and Delivery after I stopped feeling movements for over an hour. My heart was preparing to grieve, not to welcome a baby home. So although I had planned to finally announce in the third trimester, I couldn’t do it.

The fact I measured a whole eight weeks too small undoubtedly helped keep the secret. The photo above is of the day before my induction (at 37 weeks). My oldest child was excited to welcome a living sibling, and I was trying to latch onto that hope.

I think I might have given away the ending with my first line, but we did welcome a healthy baby boy in July 2018, eleven months to the day after the birth of his sister. He is the light of our lives.

Image taken by author’s husband

Let's stay in touch! You can subscribe to recieve occasional updates here!

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Julia Marsiglio

Loss parent. Canadian poet. Fiction and nonfiction writer. Intersectional feminist. Writing on trauma, grief, mental health, marginalization, neurodivergence and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.