Families logo

Frozen rain and breath

Christmas lights reveal rain and frozen breath

By Sophia GenoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Christmas lights reveal rain and frozen breath

My first family gathering in Atlanta after 1 month abroad was tonight. The late year weather tortured us, too warm for snow yet too cold for a pleasant rain. But we had all promised each other to make the best of it and meet for one night at The Atlanta Botanical Gardens Christmas lights show. Previously we would meet every year between November, December, and January to see this show, but the on,y when the weather would allow us. This night had grown into a cold dreary mess we had to make beautiful ourselves.

Usually the gardens would be beautiful enough to cheer anyone up. The bridge forest transformed its trees into shining candy canes while special effects filled the forest with jolly music and sparkling lights. I will admit the rain flickering through the lights was hypnotizing, but also numbing to my weak hands and feet. Tonight had to be enjoyable though, I would see my family after 6 total months away from them. After this night I also don’t know how long it would be for us to all be in the same place. Shortly after we entered the gate digital snowflakes fell to the ground. In front of a ornate crimson light arrangement one street light shone so brightly you could see all of your frozen breath that left each body. My mother had quite a good eye and begged me to model my breath for a few photos. I am grateful to such advanced phone cameras for capturing photos for memories when I don't have my equipment. These moments are surreal in retrospect. Standing in the freezing rain at night, just to get a photo of frozen breath. On a night when everyone has un-said feelings built up from months of barely any contact. It’s still a spectacle of how everything was just like before after I came home.

Judgmental dragon

The night went on and while my sister and her daughter decided to stay within the juice hall, my mother, brother, and I decided to explore what was open of the frozen gardens. A 37ft tall LED dragon was perched by the field of Christmas music themed glowing statues. Every year the same Christmas songs playing over a solitary garden in the city. So overplayed, yet somehow someone still enjoyed them. Including me in some nostalgic way. As of now I was sneaking around trying to find my way to un-lit areas of the gardens to escape some feeling that nagged me that night. Every time the guards tried to hinder me I acted as if I was just observing my breath in the street light. It genuinely was interesting though, to think of water and heat leaving my body with every breath. This night in particular with temperature below 38 but hovering above freezing.

Gum drop tunnel

One salvation was the orchid and tropical room at the far left side of the gardens. Inside a warm “tranquil” jungle awaited. This jungle too had LED lights reflecting off of the giant ferns and small ponds. Since at night the green house for the orchids was fairly dark, many parts were closed off. Me and my brother however felt that had no meaning and wondered around the small winding paths past the quail nest. This also felt like it would be a lingering memory linked to that one photo of indistinct breath. My brother was hesitant and in my touchy mood I didn’t consider his feelings much, good thing he ended up enjoying the night. I had hoped my mother would join us but she felt obligated to help with her granddaughter. I knew how she really wished to wander through the gum drop tunnels with us though.

Fake snow

As our hands began to finally lose feeling we all re grouped and decided to depart from the frozen gardens. On the way out we had all made it our signature to make a pose under the street lights for our frozen breath modeling. My sister’s specialty was the smize. Whatever that meant it was funny. After the night gathering had ended I am only sure of those special moments while everything else is colored in from faint memory. It’s mostly the special things we end up remembering anyway and that’s what they’re for. Until I see my frozen breath again I will probably not have much recurrence for that late year night.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sophia Geno

I love to write about travel, poems, art, and social issues. Stay with me for Korean content, and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.