Families logo

From Ones Perspective

Short Story about other people's perspectives

By Rhea CampPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
From Ones Perspective
Photo by Thomas Rey on Unsplash

From broken to healed, healthy to sick, there are many ways that people are suffering. Even in the healthy and healed times. There are certain times someone who is broken can look down on someone that is just like them. Something to ease their pain off to someone else. It’s all perspective. It’s all the way you see things in your own point of view that make things bad or awkward. Someone right now is probably thinking to themselves that they can’t push through what they are trying to accomplish because others who are broken like them are holding them back from their true potential. The elderly will possibly look down on pregnant teens and people who are leaving the house states away. There are parents who do not see eye to eye with their child because it’s a different generation then what they lived in.

One day perspective will just be a good thing. One day people living how they want will be alright. It will just take time. If you are a parent, who is struggling to have a connection with their teen or child, try to put yourself in their perspective. Put yourself in their shoes. Try to see how they perceive things that don’t seem right to you. Talk to them. Try to get them to explain. Some people can’t communicate how to interpret their own ways of thinking due to pressure. Your child might not be able to understand why you don’t want them to do the things they want to do.

If your child is depressed, please don’t blame them for being lazy. Don’t tell them that cleaning could help them and that doing work will distract them. Depression sucks out all of the will power they have. It makes them believe the world is against them. It’s a mental illness and called that for obvious reasons. There are kids who don’t believe they do enough when they try to understand you. As a teenager myself, I wish I could explain to my parents that being depressed not always has a reason for sparking. It can happen at random. It can happen due to major changes in their lives. It’s not always a specific thing. Some kids are just wanting comfort because they don’t know what to do.

When I become a parent, I hope my child comes to me for the things they struggle on. I hope that they can tell me that they are depressed and tell me when they feel suicidal. I wish that when they think they are an LGBTQ+, that they come out to me for support. These are things my family never really understood. I hope that when my kids are ready to leave, that they know that I will always be their number one support. I will try to understand their struggles and their worries, even if it doesn’t make sense to me. It was never written as one of the easiest things to cope with. It was never an easy decision to make to become a parent. Some parents don’t live up to what they or their lover wanted. Sometimes mistakes happen, sometimes words are said when not meant to. But that is not an excuse to let a child or teenager feel like it was constantly their fault.

I may act like I know much, but truly I don’t. I’m nineteen years old and trying to make a difference using stories that people possibly won’t even read. I want to be a therapist so I can help kids understand themselves. I want to be the shoulder for people to cry on when I never had one. I may look or seem lazy, but I fight my own battles. Some massive, some minor. Some battles last for weeks. I sometimes just lose the ability to want to continue working hard on my own life. Which is an absolute normal thing to feel. It’s alright to feel like you can’t continue on anymore. It can be so hard to continue on if you have no one. You can easily turn your actions around. Easily turn your voice around. It just takes time to perfect. I’m a young adult with only small ideas and a small thinking span. Pain never hurts the same. Pain never reacts the same. Everyone is different and everyone has their own voice to speak.

Let them. Nobody else will help you, unless it starts with you. This is for people who think their parents don’t understand you. Some parents may be absolutely psycho. This is also for people who can’t bring themselves to move on. That message is for not only myself, but for others too. Don’t let people tell you who you’re not. Don’t let people decide your fate for you. Only you can push yourself to strive for the goals. No matter how hard it may seem, there is always a shortcut. Always a helping hand. Never let your brain decide if you should live or die. Live on for those who couldn’t win. Live on for those who couldn’t make it. Live on for the ones who mapped out their own deaths. Parents: Please fight for your child for more than just the physical things. Mental things matter too.

And so do you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rhea Camp

Just A Future Author

I love cats, sad things, spooky things, and music.

Wrote two finished, unpublished novels

I also have a loving fiancee who has supported me through everything :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.