Families logo

Forever Bestie

#pricelessfriend #preciousfriend

By Lin. J.HPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

She has been my friend ever since I recalled the past. She was always by my side and with me. Her arms were open to hug and help me; To my every move, she reacted and cared as if it were her body and mind.  Someone who can touch, embrace, and take care of me without my permission. A person who gives unconditional love, praise, or encouragement. Of course, I couldn't remember when I was in her womb, birth, or infant. But she would have taken good care of me with sincerity and love because she was always full of love and consideration for me when I was growing up. When I fell to the ground, she ran to me and got me up. But more than her behavior, her face looked more painful and worried than me. She dressed me pretty and took me out to take a picture. Her face, which took my picture, looked happier and more joyful than me. I cried because my friend moved away. Her face looked sadder than mine. She laughed because of me and cried because of me.

Perhaps it was not easy to raise a child alone in Korea in the '80s. Korea was a patriarchal system and a social structure that did not understand single-parent families. It would not have been easy for a young woman without a husband to raise a child alone and earn living expenses. She was ignored and despised for having no husband. She was discriminated against in society for being a young but single mother. Her family abandoned her because she was divorced. She might have a lot of responsibility and burden on her shoulder as a single, young woman mom. She might have full of sorrow and pain, because no one cared for her, and didn't understand her situation. When I was in fourth grade, I walk home from school, and I saw her walk in front of me. I wanted to run to her, but her back looked dim and weak. I walked behind her quietly. Then we both got home and she saw me and smiled at me, contrasting her appearance from behind. Her front looks always seemed full of love, joy, and laughter, but she sometimes saw her back and looked lonely and sad.

Nevertheless, she never lost her smile and hope. She tried to live a happy life. I always remember her; she is a beautiful, brave, smart, and wise person. She tried to survive and raise me well.  She worked hard and was busy all week. So her life was financially wealth and stable. She provided me with sufficient financial and emotional care, love, and stability with her best to do what she can.

Besides, she always wanted to spend time with me; we went hiking and went to the beach or park. We rode our bikes along the riverside, saw the sunset, wore the same pajamas, and watched movies all night. She and I were the only family, friends, and sister to each other. As I grew up more, we traveled to many places. On weekends, we visited other sites farther away from Seoul, Korea, ate delicious foods, and experienced new things. We went  Pyeong-Chang, which held Olympic 2018; every winter season, we took a lift to ski. The white snowfields were beautiful scenery, winter winds were a cool breeze, and the ski was fun.  Skiing was our favorite winter sport.  Also, we enjoyed stay home and find a local cafeteria and drink delicious coffee; the time we sat there without saying anything, it was so peaceful and comfortable.

She lives in Korea, and I live in the U.S. It is a challenge for her and me, but we are still close. We call every day, talk about daily life, and whenever she visits America, I get excited to find the place I want to travel with her. We visited ten states. We still are together. We always love, cry, and laugh together. She is the only one in the world to me. Even before I was born until now, she is my absolute being, my family, and always my best friend. I call her name, Mom.

I thought of many friends to write this article. I also have many precious and loving friends. But I wanted to write this essay about my best friend, my mom. It depends on the person, but I think the best friend is someone who stays by my side when I am in pain and struggle. She is crying more than mine and reaching her hands out for me to support. It would be suitable for everyone when they are happy, but sharing sadness and difficulties is not easy.

Mom is a real friend to me. Because whether I am sad or happy, failing or succeeding, or no matter who I am, she is always with me and loves me. She is the light when I am in the dark. She is a blanket like a warm hug when I m crying out. She stays up all night beside me when I am sick. She holds my hand when I am disappointed, saying it is okay. Her eyes are always on me, and her ears are still open to my sound. Her heart beats toward me. I know. I live in her heart. She can not change to any name and replace anyone. She is my supporter, helper, comforter, family, and love. She is the best friend who shared the most memories and lives with me. Our time is priceless, valuable, and precious.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Lin. J.H

Everybody has story in thier life, it gives me inspiration to creat story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.