Families logo

Easters Past 1920-2020

100 years of Easter in Jellico Tennessee

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Each and every holiday season I really enjoy looking back at old photos. Remembering the past really gets the holiday spirit flowing. Memories are priceless and seeing how much traditions have changed over the years is interesting. I like showing the kids just how different things are today and to be honest, I like reminding myself as well.

Over the past few weeks we have been busy gathering old family photos from 1920 - 2020. We hope that you enjoy this trip down memory lane as much as we do. Let's take a look at Easter Day in Jellico over the last 100 years.

Mary (left) and Dorothy (right) Smith 1920

Submitted by Sue:

This is a photo of my aunts Mary and Dorothy Smith on Easter Day 1920. Both ladies lived in Jellico Tennessee and had families here. Mary married a Buchanan and Dorothy married into the Clark family. This photo was taken in Cincinnati Ohio while visiting relatives for the holiday. They sure did look like two classy ladies in this photo. You'd never guess that they came from Jellico and on normal days worked in gardens and fields all day long wearing hand made burlap clothes. I am unfortunate to have never known them other than stories and photos. I am told that they was two of the sweetest ladies you'd ever meet and was known for their apple trees and home made apple pies which they sold for 2 cents each.

Meriam and Dee Herman with daughter May 1930

Submitted by Ruth:

My great grandparents Meriam and Dee Herman on Easter 1930. They only lived in Jellico for a couple of years before moving West. Meriam worked for a short time at the Jellico Union Bank. During their 50 years together Dee gave birth to nine children including two sets of twins. In 1970 Dee came back to Jellico to spend the remainder of her life. She loved this town and always referred to it as her home. To the best of my knowledge this photo was taken somewhere on Old City School Hill.

Judith Peace 1940

Submitted by Pam:

My mother Judith Peace on Easter Day 1940. My dear mother was a life long resident of Jellico. Easter was always her most favorite holiday. She was a very religious lady so this day was important to her. She also loved it because it signified that Spring was here and there was absolutely nothing that she loved more than seeing the flowers bloom and come to life. This photo was taken at her childhood home in Jellico located on what is now Florence Ave.

Jake and Mildred 1950

Submitted by Mildred:

This is a photo of me and my brother Jake on Easter Day 1950. We was both born and raised in the Jellico area. This particular photo was made at our grandmothers house (not located in Jellico) right after the Easter Bunny had visited and left us both baskets. Easter was a fashionable day at our house and our mother always dressed us in fancy, ruffly clothes. It was the one day of the year that I looked and felt like a Spring Princess.

Michael (right) Rosetta and Thomas (left) 1960

Submitted by Thomas:

Easter 1960. Me, my sister Rosetta and brother Michael. This photo was taken at our home in Jellico. We lost our brother Michael in 1976. Rosetta married a Lambdin and moved in S. Carolina where she still resides. I too left Jellico and moved down South for work opportunities. Jellico will always be home to me and I come back often to visit. This picture brings back fond memories of a simpler, happy time.

Ann, Irene, Linda and Polly 1970

Submitted by Ann:

This photo taken at our home in Jellico TN on Easter 1970. All four of us was born in Jellico and lived there until the late 70's. We later moved to Indianapolis with our parents. Ann returned to Jellico and was married at the Indian Mtn. State Park in 1987. Linda also returned and worked at the Jellico Hospital for several years.

Alice Lay (back) with cousins Laura, Lily and Leah 1980

Submitted by Alice:

This photo was taken in 1980 on Easter Day. We lived near the Jellico Highschool. Jellico was my home for many, many years and my best memories take me back there. I will always remember Jellico as being a small, friendly comforting place. I recall the downtown streets being filled with people on Saturday mornings. Everyone that you knew was in town and people stopped to talk and caught up with each other. Oh how I cried when my family moved. Jellico will always be my home and I look forward to coming back each Summer.

Kendra and Jennifer Bryant 1990

Submitted by Johnny:

A photo of my daughters on Easter 1990. We lived in Williamsburg, about 10 miles North of Jellico. Every Easter we'd go to the park in Jellico and have a family cookout and hide eggs for the kids. I knew a bunch of people in Jellico then and now. Jellico is still a nice little town with some good folks in it. Both of my daughters met and married really good men from Jellico.

The Long family 2000

I Thelma (5th in the back) lived in Jellico as a young girl. This picture was taken on Easter 2000 in Jellico at a family members home. I bring my family to Jellico every single Easter and they absolutely love it here. We would move to Jellico in a heartbeat if my husband could find work there. Someday we hope to be able to come back for good.

Danny and Christopher 2010

Submitted by Kim

Photo of my grandsons taken with the Easter Bunny in 2010 at Walmart in Jacksboro. I have lived in Jellico most of my life. My daughter moved to Georgia right after school. Every year she brings her family home to Jellico. The boys really enjoy it here. They're older now, but they still say that someday they want to live in Jellico with their Nana. Sometimes Christopher comes for the weekend to relax . He tells me that there is no place like Jellico to just relax and find some peace and quiet.

Brittany Greenly Easter 2020

Submitted by Joyce:

This is my granddaughter Brittany at my home in Jellico for Easter 2020. She lives in Knoxville but loves more than anything to come visit me here. She always wants to drive through the park and look at all of the flowers and trees blooming. She says "Mamaw, it's not this pretty in the city." She's right, there's no place that I know of as pretty as Jellico.

Thank you for revisiting 100 years of Easter in Jellico with us. We hope that you enjoyed reading it as much as we enjoyed creating it. Thank you to everyone who shared their precious family photos and memories with us.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.