Education logo

Writing Papers

Grade School and College

By Helena ReyPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Where to begin? Essay writing can be time consuming and seemingly unbearable. I have gone through school up to a bachelor's degree and have written a lot of essays throughout that time.

There are some tricks to make writing seem a bit easier. I had a hard time for a while being organized and getting papers written well. After a while, I figured out some ways to help.

Outline

What I would do is create an outline of main points that I wanted to write about in my paper. I would also put sub points if I could think of some. Usually I would print it out so I could have a hard copy. I like to write on it and highlight it.

Paper Format

If the teacher or professor wanted a certain format, I would adjust the margins and headers or footers or whatever else they wanted. I would put titles if they wanted a cover page or resource page.

Research

I would research the topic I was going to write about and see if I could find valuable resources to use for my points. It is important to try and avoid Wiki or sources that seem like they are biased or poor in quality. I would usually look for some scholarly articles for certain types of papers. If I had new ideas from research I would edit my outline by just writing something in or scratching something out. Sometimes I would slightly edit a point. If I had major outline revisions, I would retype it and reprint.

Once I had the sources I wanted, I would automatically make the resource page of my paper and enter all the sources I had. I find it tedious and don't want that to be the last thing I do. That way, my resource page is done and I can add or delete if needed.

Organize Research

I would also print my sources or certain pages if it was too much to print. It might seem unnecessary but I like being able to have the source in front of me while my paper is on the screen.

The other reason I usually print is because I like to highlight my outline points in different colors. Then I go through my printed sources and highlight what I want to include in the same color as the point on the outline. That way it is organized.

I also get bored when I write long research papers. So by printing and highlighting, I can come back to it later and it makes sense (given there is enough time to leave it for a while and come back...Not too much procrastination).

Intro and Conclusion

I find it easier to write the into and conclusion before writing the body of the paper. In the intro, I introduce the main points and in the conclusion I kind of reiterate the intro. I knew I would need to edit the conclusion when I finish the body, but I got in the habit of at least having something written because I usually struggled with coming up with something to conclude with.

Body

I do the body by basically putting the outline there. That way all my main and sub points are there and I won't forget any. Then I work my way down and write in any research I really liked and cite them correctly. I do that especially for something that stood out, was really important to a point I wanted to make, or quotes. After that I will start from the first point and work down and write the thoughts I want to get out.

Revise

Sometimes I print the draft because for some reason it is easier for me to catch errors. If there is time, I would being to to the writing center at school or have someone else read over it. If there are errors or something I want to change, I edit and call it a day.

My way might seem weird or backwards but it is what helped when I did papers. I usually get distracted and this is how I would do things so that if I got bored or distracted, I could pick back up easily.

I have not attended graduate school but I know papers get more intense. I imaging I might do things similarly if I were to try it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.