Education logo

Whoopi Goldberg, “the Holocaust wasn’t about race”?

my thoughts on how our wounds effect our behaviors and belief systems.

By Danielle DsEnlightenedEditsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
ET video, explaining Whoopi’s comments, and detailing her 3 public apologies.

On Monday the 31st of January 2022, View host Whoopi Goldberg made some rather ill-informed remarks about the Holocaust; and her beliefs (at the time), that “it wasn’t about race” [see video].

It brought up a lot for me; and I feel like its a moment we can learn from.

I love Whoopi; but I find it so interesting, that she could believe race is about something you “can see”.

It just goes to show, that no matter how educated, mindful, or professional people are, they (can) still act and speak from their wounding, in moments when they are fired up.

I am sure Whoopi (or her family) were judged many times, by how people “saw” and (wrongly or harshly) identified them; thus she believes at a core level, that’s what race is about.

What I find especially interesting, is that I know I have heard her comment in the past about the “one-drop” (racist) rule, which used to class someone as being of the black (or otherwise colored-people) race, for having “one-drop” of “black blood”, regardless of how they looked. I know that I’ve seen her support people of mixed race, who didn’t appear clearly as one race or another. So in this case, it seems that she was so focused on the (honestly legitimate) point of view, that the Holocaust was about inhumanity (which it also was), that her upset and personal wounding didn’t allow her to take in or remember the other point of view (and fact), about the Holocaust also being about (another type of) race.

Obviously Whoopi isn’t the only one who thinks of their race or experience first, we all do that; but that’s precisely what makes this moment a lesson for us, as its only when we cannot (or refuse to) move past that point, that arguments and upsets tend to happen and cause issues.

It also was quite clear to me, that this is an issue which (most likely) could only happen in America, a country committed to still seeing race as “black and white”. While I do think that her suspension from The View was a bit harsh, and detest its use as a way to stop the conversation, I am grateful that this opens up a talking point for many.

Recently, I was horrified to see another YouTube video, where people aged 18-50 who were approached on the street, did not know how many millions of people were lost (and executed) during the Holocaust. As someone who works with people to heal their ancestral, collective, and past life wounding, traumas, and karmas, I’ve worked with a great many involved in or touched by the Holocaust. I’ve studied it extensively; and I believe that everyone should, whether they are touched by it in their personal histories or not.

I also believe this to be a moment, where we can all see that at an automatic level, when we are heated, we will still define and defend things, based on our wounding. Once we have triggered that response system, once we have formed an opinion as a definition or “fact”, its very hard for us to see the other (albeit true) point of view.

This is why apologies cannot be forced, or rushed, if they are truly to be sincere &/or well received.

Its clear to me, that Whoopi was rushed into her apology because of cultural demands. Though I believe she may mean it and support the Jewish community, I feel that being forced to correct herself before she was ready, has made the issue cause more misunderstanding and hurt on both sides.

I find that when people are allowed to calm down first, and then find their own internal drive or motivation to re-educate themselves, apologize, and correct their behavior, that’s when true forgiveness and healing can begin.

I hope that this moment serves as an example for those of us who find this pattern of behavior still prevalent within our own lives. I know I will certainly be able to use it as an example with clients, family, and friends.

Let us never be so invested in our beliefs, opinions, and definitions, that we refuse to stop the pattern, take in new information, see or empathize with “the facts”, or another person’s point of View.

… that’s my (current) View; and I wonder … what’s yours?

If you are looking to prevent moments like this in your own life, ask yourSelf often,

  • What wounds are driving me?
  • What opinions of experience, have I allowed mySelf to take on as “fact”, to the exclusion of all others?

Have conversations about this in moments of calm, with yourSelf, your partner, your parents, and friends.

Educate and re-educate yourSelf; and always be willing to listen to the experience of others, allowing it to (at least) color or contextualize your knowledge, beliefs, and points of view.

Upsets will inevitably still happen; but I believe these the best ways to limit and work through them quickly.

No matter how much we’ve been through, we all have a lot to learn. I hope that in future, we can use more upsets as teachable moments, and opportunities to heal, rather than reasons to fight, cancel, or punish others.

Let us also remember, that when we stop (or suspend) the conversation, we end any and all hope we have of moving forward. Shutting down a conversation may silence it for a time, may even serve to satisfy those hurting on some level; but it will never resolve the issue(s). Such things only serve to serve those who feed upon confusion or pain, rather than those who truly wish to heal, resolve, and rise above it, once and for all.

Lastly, I’d feel remiss, if I didn’t at least mention the fact that this all began based on a discussion about book banning … something the Nazis actually did; and something none among us should feel comfortable with. While I appreciate the chance to heal and correct the misinformation about race, I hate that the original issue is being disregarded. I can’t help but feel, that disregard, is the media’s point. I also feel that this whole mess, is yet another example, of how our wounds continue to create distraction from the issues at hand. This is why I have always believed that our healing, on both societal and personal levels, remains the most important thing we can do, in changing the world.

I know we can do it. I know we can {ALL} do better; and I look forward to those days.

If you’ve read this far, I thank you for your commitment to healing, rising, seeing and learning, from all sides; and for your willingness to see within yourSelf.

I hope you are Blessed … With LoveLight & Light Codes ... 𓌂©♡~Danielle, #DAMCL ™, @DsEnlightenedEdits ™®~☆🌈𓌂{All Rights Reserved}

If called, you can Visit my website ©𝐰𝐰𝐰.𝐃𝐀𝐌𝐂𝐋𝐃𝐞𝐬𝐢𝐠𝐧𝐬.𝐜𝐨𝐦 ™®, for Spiritual Services, Quantum Reading Sessions, Energy Artworks, Enlightened Merch items, & More. Contact me, for Quantum {Life} Coaching, and Energy Healing options . 𓋹

Written © February, 2022.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Danielle DsEnlightenedEdits

Mystic Channel, Writer, Quantum Healer/Coach, Spiritual Teacher, & Energy Artist.

Follow me on Instagram & YouTube @DsEnlightenedEdits. Purchase Readings, Services, Energy Art Âctivations, & products via my website www.DAMCLDesigns.com ✨.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.