Education logo

What's Wrong with Reading Challenges?

furthermore, how to maintain their health

By CatalinutPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Goodreads Reading Challenges are fantastic.

I've been taking part in them for the past two years, and there are a lot of things I like about them. For example, you can plainly see all of your books, you don't feel alone because so many people do it, and Goodreads summarizes your reading for the year.

Having a reading challenge is not all pink and glitter, though.

Since I was a teenager, I've read between 40 and 50 novels year. I increased my reading goal to sixty novels last year after being motivated by everyone who read more than 100 books. It couldn't be that difficult, could it?

By the time the New Year rolled around, I had finished reading 66 volumes, and the strain had finally subsided.

Over the course of the year, I gradually came to see how seriously harmful it was for me to continue working toward my objective, regardless of how little time I had.

Reading difficulties should be enjoyable. Instead, in 2019 I made it a tense contest to see who could get the greatest number. I ultimately decided to drop my target for 2020 to 40 books, which has allowed me to read more joyfully and without worry.

The reasons why reading challenges can be harmful to us as readers and how we might make them healthier and more rewarding are discussed below.

A book is reduced to a number.

Do you recognize the joy of crossing something off your to-do list?

That's how I started to feel about finishing novels. I can now check the book off, improve my grade, and go on to the next one!

It's simple to succumb to the "calculator mindset," as I would put it. One more book, one more number. You appear to be the greatest reader in history since the list keeps growing. When a book is placed in its designated spot on your shelf, it appears so affirming.

I've discovered that occasionally, adding a book to my list of reading challenges gives me more joy than actually reading it.

And that's a challenge. We read mostly for pleasure since it broadens our horizons and provides access to fresh ideas. We read because we like the way certain people can combine words in such a way that causes our eyes to tear up, our hearts to pound, and our minds to unite.

A book is not an amount. It is a piece of art, a whole tale, and a complete universe that was created by someone who genuinely cared about it.

Above anything else, that is something to treasure.

Overindulging in Quantity

Similarly, if you set your objectives too high, you tend to blow through books without giving them too much attention — which also reduces their genuine value.

I didn't reread novels while I was pressed for time last year unless I had to for my literary course (although re-reads do count on Goodreads). I rarely paused to reflect on the books I read, didn't take notes, and didn't jot down favorite quotes.

I ingested information and let it engulf me, but I didn't take part in it consciously.

I think you can learn far more from a book if you immerse yourself in it, read it three times, and analyze the narrative and writing style than if you plow through ten novels in a month.

You can read a book in its entirety if you set a modest reading target for yourself.

to really understand and appreciate it.

You read non-interesting books.

Even when I didn't like a book at all, I felt too bad to quit reading after I was a third of the way through it.

I argued with myself, "But... but I've already marked it as currently reading." I've already put a lot of effort into it. I should finish it and add it to my list of accomplished tasks; otherwise, it would be a waste of time.

This caused me to read novels that I didn't really care about slowly, which left me bored and irritated whenever I considered reading.

I know. Ridiculous. My all-time favorite pastime, although there were moments when I didn't even want to engage in it.

One of the worst things that can happen to a reader is reading the incorrect kinds of books, which is, in my opinion, one of the primary reasons why kids stop reading at school. They are frequently exposed to dull classics that they dislike.

It's a larger waste of time to keep reading a book you don't enjoy than it is to read half of it and then put it down. This is due to the fact that it diminishes the enjoyment of reading, which in turn causes you to desire to read less in the future weeks.

You may set the book aside.

Long Books Have a Drawback

When you want to read as many novels as you can, you avoid those that are over 800 pages. Three books from the A Song of Ice and Fire series may fit within one book. So why bother?

Because long novels, especially fantasy ones, have a certain type of charm. They pull you into a brand-new universe with characters that have plenty of room to express their true selves, grow, and win your heart.

I read the whole Mistborn series plus The Priory of the Orange Tree thanks to my aim of only forty books for this year, which may possibly be attributed to nine shorter books instead of four longer ones.

However, I don't regret it in the slightest because they were all worthwhile reading. They kept me up all night reading, and I know I will treasure the reading experience for a very long time.

Long tales provide a lot of benefits. It would be unfortunate to steer clear of them out of selfish competitiveness.

Reading Develops into a Duty

A pastime is reading. A joy. a fervor. It has moulded and organized my entire existence, almost like a lifestyle. Both books and I are centered on one another.

It would be tragic to make something so great in your life into a duty and a source of stress, therefore it's better to steer clear of that path.

So how might we improve reading challenges?

You don't have to completely stop taking up reading challenges. Even the way they operate on Goodreads doesn't need to be changed.

The main components of the approach are a change in perspective and some organization. All there is to it is that.

Here are various methods for doing it.

Lower the Number

First and foremost, reading 100 books in a year is not necessary to feel successful.

This year, I set a lower target, which has really enhanced my reading pleasure. I read a lot in certain months. I only finished a small number of novels since I was preoccupied with other elements of my life. However, I didn't feel anxious about taking a break or moving slowly since I was certain that I had everything under control.

I was aware that I didn't need to race.

Setting a lesser goal does not require you to read simply that many books. You can read 200% more than you initially planned to read after you complete the challenge, exceeding your expectations.

It's crucial that the objective is simple to achieve. Since it is what gives you a sense of accomplishment. This just serves to motivate you to continue reading because there is no sense of strain or tension associated with it.

You may also take breaks without feeling bad, read as many lengthy books as you like, and read novels slowly and carefully.

This compensates for a reading experience that is far more pleasurable.

Prioritize horizontal rather than vertical progress

Try to expand your reading horizontally rather than reading an increasing number of books each year.

Become more knowledgeable about different genres, writers, and works of fiction and non-fiction. Take the decision to read five novels this year that were authored by people of color. Or 3 nonfiction works, 5 works by authors who do not speak English as their first language, 3 graphic novels, 5 works featuring gay people, 2 classic novels... You understand my point.

Be careful not to overburden yourself with obligations. Don't boost the number too high; proceed cautiously. Read books in genres you're not accustomed to, give deserving writers your support, and read about experiences you haven't had to gain a deeper understanding of the world and a fresh perspective on it.

Your reading experience will become much richer as a result of this.

It's All right to Lag

The world won't end if you don't reach your reading target; there is no magic button.

It's acceptable to lag behind, to take a break, and to put your attention elsewhere in your life. It's acceptable to fall short of your objective due to unforeseen events in your life.

You don't have to correct yourself; the only one who could do so is you. Your closest friend is you. Be compassionate with yourself.

As a result,

My reading experience this year has been more leisurely than it has been the previous three years combined. I've read lengthy books, books by Asian authors, and stories that made me feel like I was 13 all over again. I would read into the mornings because I couldn't put the books down since I was so engrossed in the plot.

No one has to read. Not a race, exactly. Create reading challenges that will benefit you rather than deplete you.

You should read for pleasure, not because you have to.

You should read because it makes you happy.

Read for enjoyment.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Catalinut

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.