Education logo

What I Wish I Would Have Said

School Days

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
unsplash

You are being mean

Basketball was something I knew nothing about, but made me kind-of curious. I always wanted to be in shape anyway. I was a 94 pound waif.

The coach let me join the team, but worked me hard. I practiced as hard as the rest, but never played. Finally, one day, I hyperventilated. I remember attempting to breathe in a paper bag. Now why didn’t the coach just tell me that I was not cut out for the team?

Chemistry is obviously a hard subject. My whole school career until then had been A’s. He gave me a C. I am never going to forget what he said to me. He told me I was “mediocre”. Talk about mean. Aren’t teachers supposed to uplift a student and be nice when the student is working their butt off?

The class is just too hard

Japanese was just introduced my senior year. I could have taken my 4th year of Spanish, but since I was a M.E.R.I.T. scholar, I was offered to take the class. It was so hard. What did I get out of the class? I did not learn a darn thing.

How am I going to be able to afford

I was always in college prep from the get-go. M.E.R.I.T scholar, National Honor Society, Top 10%, danceline, etc. But where did these get me? How was this poor girl from a small town going to afford university? Where were the scholarships? Where were the grants? What didn;t the school guidance counselor do his job? Why was I not sent to the joint vocational school to learn a trade such as cosmetology? I could have had a job and made money by graduation!

What would I like to them now?

Because of you, I am now still poor. I could have learned a trade and provided for my family. You didn’t do your job. Be in my shoes. I am a freelance writer and earn pennies. I work as a barista on the side. Gosh all of that school work came in handy. (I am being sarcastic)

To my basketball coach, you are lucky I did not have asthma.

To my chemistry teacher, one day I am going to prove you to be wrong.

To my Japanese teacher, why didn’t you keep me in Spanish for the 4th year?

To my school guidance counselor, where were the scholarships and grants for me? With my school career you mean there were no scouts checking me out? You knew better. You knew I belonged at the vocational school.

I have a plan

Being that I am still poor, I cannot afford to attend university. I refuse to take out any student loans. But, to all of you wanting for me to fail, I have a plan! Maybe others might learn from my experience also.

There is a website called Coursesity.com where one may study anything and everything for free!

For myself, I want to study aromatherapy. These days, people are flocking to alternative medicine. I want to treat people with essential oils. My friends are already telling me that they are first when I study massages! LOL You should really invest in an essential oil diffuser. I have been obsessed with scents my whole life. Santa Claus even brought me a new collection of essential oils this past Christmas! My favorite essential oil? Rose. My favorite perfume is “Far Away” by Avon.

If all goes successfully, I want to then study herbalism. Again, an alternative medicine route.

I have searched for aromatherapy and herbalism schools which wanted thousands! No thank you. One school wanted over $12,000.

I suggest Coursesity.com to anyone and everyone. A free education? Yes! Learn anything! There is no catch! There is no teacher breathing down your back. There is no cramming for tests. Everything is online via video.

Don’t ruminate over a mean thing a teacher has said to you whether today or in the past. They say hurting people hurt people. Get out that mental toolbox and use those coping skills. By the way, won’t I be using Chemistry skills for aromatherapy? Maybe I may not be “mediocre” after all!

student
1

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.