Education logo

State of mind when you pass your High school and about to get admitted to University/College.

How stressful times can force you to give your best.

By Vishal SoniPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
6
State of mind when you pass your High school and about to get admitted to University/College.
Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

Everybody dreams of success, whether he is a businessman, an author, or a student who is about to pass his high school and prepare to enter his dream University or College and that too in his dream department.

I, too, had a dream to enter my dream college, but this story is not how I entered my dream college, but how I learned to do my best.

I was in my 12th grade and was studying with full efforts with my short term goal to get 95% in my Boards exams, But it was easy thought than done. I had to work on all the subjects individually. I wrote articles and letters to improve my written English, solved multiple sample papers and previous year papers to form a firm grip on all crucial concepts.

Finally, I was done with my Board exams; I had given my best in the Boards and was sure to achieve my short term goal. Now I had to focus on getting admitted into any top-notch colleges of India and what could better than IIT's. I started preparing myself for JEE-Mains. I had less time and more syllabus to go through. Before the day of my exam, I could only revise the syllabus once, without any practice of solving questions or any experience of solving previous year paper. While entering the exam hall, I could hear my brain repeating that you aren't ready for this challenge, But I convinced myself to move ahead with the only knowledge of concepts and gave the exam, came home and without thinking much about it, started working for other exams.

Every exam I prepared for, I had less time to study and more syllabus to cover. I also prepared for IPMAT (Integrated Program in Management Aptitude Test). IPMAT was a new and exciting program for which I developed an instant liking, and it became my new dream. I prepared for it days and nights. The time to make for it was also less, but I managed to cover most of its syllabus and was sure of clearing the cutoff, and a call for the interview after giving the exam.

Now I was waiting for the results; meanwhile, JEE-Mains result was out, I didn't perform well, but I had made the cutoff, but getting admission into any college was impossible with those marks.

Now my Board exams result was out, I had scored 2.6% less my dream, and I was not happy about it, my score was high, but still, I was not satisfied with it, I was heart broke and in the evening came my IPMAT result, I couldn't clear the cutoff and all my dreams shattered in a single day. I felt like crying, but there was not a single drop in my eyes, I couldn't see myself entering into any good college, forget about getting into any top-notch college. Everybody at my home was trying to convince me that everything was okay, but in vain, I couldn't give myself any excuse to be okay.

I couldn't sleep that night, the next day I woke up, everything was normal, but I still was not happy, then my brother came and told me to try for IISER's. Now again, I got an aim and one month to give my best shot. I even studied Biology, even after being a Mathematics student, to clear this exam. My hectic day schedule followed by sleepless nights, and it did pay off. I scored decent marks, but admission into IISERs was still away, all the counseling sessions got delayed (some judicial actions were going on JEE counseling affecting all the admissions). I would wait eagerly for all the lists to see my name in one of them but in vain. There were moments when I thought I wouldn't be able to make it. I had sleepless nights, checking my E-mail, wishing for the miracle, praying God for helping me. All my prayers paid off, and in the very last round of counseling, I made to the list. One night I was sitting with my family, and there was a pop-up on my mail, with my offer letter, I got so happy and was so excited to join IISER Bhopal. This time again, I had less time to prepare to enter my new college, but with the struggle in the past few months, I knew how to work under pressure and time constraints.

student
6

About the Creator

Vishal Soni

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.