Education logo

My Initial Writing Experiment with ChatGPT and What I Learned in The Process

It's a fantastic free writing program.

By Thomas EgelhoffPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
My Initial Writing Experiment with ChatGPT and What I Learned in The Process
Photo by Hitesh Choudhary on Unsplash

If you're unfamiliar with ChatGPT, it's an artificial intelligence source that will write for you — and it's free.

That's very simplified, I know, but I'll demonstrate how it works shortly.

Each Tuesday and Thursday, my YouTube co-host and I post a video.

I send a short paragraph about the day's topic to build an audience. Here's the link to our podcasts.

Tuesday's topic is artificial intelligence.

Below is the promo paragraph I sent out to our audience. Fifty-six words.

How far will artificial intelligence take us? Will humans become obsolete in the future? Will machines take over the world like "The Terminator?" Will we fight artificial wars in the future? What if we lose control? Will humanity be doomed to extinction? How will artificial intelligence improve society? Will the advances be worth any unsubstantiated fears?

Here's What ChatGPT Did with My Paragraph

I entered the above text in ChatGPT, and the text the program produced is below.

Fifty-six words became two hundred seventy-three words.

Artificial intelligence has the potential to take us very far in terms of technological advancement and improving various aspects of society.

However, it's important to note that AI is a tool that is created and controlled by humans, and we have the power to shape how it is developed and used.

It is highly unlikely that machines will become completely autonomous and take over the world like in science fiction movies such as "The Terminator."

AI is not capable of independent thought or action beyond its programmed parameters, and any decision-making it performs is based on data and algorithms created by humans.

However, it is important to be cautious and ethical in the development and deployment of AI to avoid unintended negative consequences.

In terms of the potential benefits of AI, it can be used to improve various aspects of society, such as healthcare, education, transportation, and the environment.

AI can help medical professionals diagnose diseases more accurately and quickly, improve educational outcomes for students, reduce traffic congestion, and monitor and mitigate environmental damage.

It's important to acknowledge that there are some potential risks associated with the advancement of AI.

There is a possibility that AI could be used for malicious purposes, such as cyberattacks or surveillance, and it could displace certain jobs in the workforce.

However, many experts believe that the benefits of AI will far outweigh these risks.

Overall, the future of AI depends on how we choose to develop and use this technology.

As long as we remain responsible and thoughtful in our approach, AI has the potential to greatly improve society and make our lives easier and more efficient.

The Result Using ChatGPT

I haven't run the resulting text through Grammarly, which made about 15 suggestions for substitute words and some clarification of sentences.

The text shown is exactly as the program produced it.

As you can see, it took the initial information and gave a detailed synopsis of my bullet points.

It did an excellent job of taking my initial information and delivering a readable interpretation.

I can add a few changes to make it sound more like me, and I have an article.

Some Final Thoughts on Using ChatGPT

Is this a form of cheating?

Will this make me a stronger writer? That's a good question.

What makes me a more competent writer now?

I think the jury's still out on that one.

I use Grammarly to help my writing.

I use Google to research my articles.

I use MS Word to write my drafts, and it makes punctuation and grammar suggestions.

Isn't ChatGPT just another tool to produce a readable result?

It's using my ideas and topic ideas. I'm not saying, "Hey, ChatGPT, write something for me."

It still depends on me to hit enter.

Pledges, Subscriptions, and Comments are always welcome and appreciated.

Thanks for Reading.

how to
1

About the Creator

Thomas Egelhoff

Author, Radio Talk Show Host, blogger, YouTuber, Vietnam Vet, half-fast guitar player, average cook, and a really nice guy. I read all my articles; you should too and subscribe. Thanks very much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.