Education logo

Memoir of a Dollar Bill: A Creative Writing Activity

A cross-curricular writing assignment students enjoy

By Brenda MahlerPublished 4 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
2
Memoir of a Dollar Bill: A Creative Writing Activity
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Writing creates anxiety for adults and kids alike. However, it doesn’t have to be a daunting experience. This activity offers a strategy to inspire kids to write in a way that makes it fun and a learning experience.

I used this activity when I taught English and published the lesson in a writing text, Strategies for Teaching Writing. Students enjoyed the creative aspect of this assignment and learned new information about money. It is easy to implement at home and a perfect writing opportunity for secondary children.

Give the child a one-dollar bill. (For this activity it must be real; play money will not work.)

Have the child examine the bill and answer the following questions. Some of the questions may require them to get online to research answers. Depending on the age of the child, this activity can be done alone or with the guidance of an adult.

Prewrite

Research

Look at the front of the dollar bill.

  • What is my serial number?
  • Whose picture in on my front?
  • What year was I born?
  • Who was the Treasurer of the U. S. when I was born?
  • Who was the Secretary of the Treasury when I was born?
  • How many times does the word “one” appear on me?
  • Which Federal Reserve Bank was I born?
  • What am I made of?
  • How many items are represented 13 times?
  • What do the symbols on the U.S. Treasury seal mean?
  • Scales?
  • Key?
  • Chevron with stars?
  • Look on the back of the dollar bill.
  • What does the pyramid represent? Why is it not finished?
  • Why is there an eye at the top of the pyramid?
  • What did my first words, “Annuit Coeptis”, mean?
  • My mother used to say, “Novus Ordo Seclorum.”
  • Why does the eagle face the olive branch?
  • What does the olive branch represent?
  • My country’s motto is “E Pluribus Unum.”
  • What does the eagle clasp on the right side?
  • What is written in Roman numerals below the pyramid?
  • What other items do you notice on the dollar bill?
  • What other information have you acquired when doing research?

Creativity

After completing this activity, encourage creativity. Ask your child to pretend the dollar is a living being with a past. It has lived an exciting life and is writing an autobiography. Makeup answers to the following prompts .

  • Look closely at me (front and back). Describe my appearance. (crisp, crumpled, torn, creased, dirty, fresh, etc.)
  • What was my childhood like?
  • Share a favorite memory, scary moment, embarrassing incident, and/or important event.
  • Describe my family.
  • What is my personality? Tell a story that explains why?
  • What are my goals?
  • Record 12 things that humans used me to purchase.

Write

Draft a Story

Once ideas are gathered, provide the assignment to write a story about the life of the dollar from the point of view of the bill. Kids are so creative. In the classroom, this activity produced entertaining stories and the students were engaged. The stories shared exciting experiences: bank robberies, gambling, what it feels like to go for a ride in a washing machine, a trip around the world. It is amazing what young writers can produce with a little inspiration.

Model

I have provided the beginning of a story I wrote as an example.

My life began on April 4, 1987, a day to remember. As I recall, mom and dad were both surprised to see I was a one- dollar bill. You see, mom came from big money. She was a fifty herself and her parents were both hundreds. Dad came from a middle-class family. Everybody including his parents and two sisters were twenties. So yes, I was a surprise.

As the years passed and I aged. I never grew. I believe mother secretly wished I would, but she never inferred that I was worth less. She said I was kind, gentle, and fun to be around. Made me feel like a million.

I was fortunate to stay with my parents several months. These were some of the most peaceful days of my life. We were in a large envelope labeled vacation. My first trip away from home was scary. I remember being handed (along with four cousins) to a small girl with the warning, “Don’t spend it all in one place.” That statement forecasted we would be separated in the future. I remember being devastated as my cousins were traded for a coke and a hot dog. Somehow, I knew I would never see them again. My parents never told me about my possible role in life. Maybe they were protecting me.

This assignment can keep kids busy for quite a while, provide excellent writing practice and spark the creative juices.

Revise

When students complete the rough draft, the teacher has the option to continue to the revision stage of the writing process or consider it done. If more time on this assignment is appropriate, this lesson on writing leads which is what I call introductions is a perfect next step an works well with this activity: A Strategy to Write the Perfect Lead to Hook a Reader.

Share

I am a retired English teacher looking to share material. Just ask and I might have something you can use.

courses
2

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.