Education logo

How to write an essay about your strengths?

Writing essay

By Frederic ClassPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Writing

The ability to present yourself is one of the most important skills of a person who wants to build a great career. At any time, a young girl or man may have a chance to show herself to her boss or to a person who, in the future, can change your life (career). A self-sufficient person needs to know his strengths and weaknesses, first of all, in order to develop his abilities more effectively. Knowing your strengths will help in a better assessment of your own capabilities and prospects in any business. Knowing the weak - will allow you to more effectively direct your moral and physical resources to the development of yourself. In order to correctly highlight and describe your strengths, it is necessary to adhere to several rules that will help any person to clearly identify the dominant skills and abilities. If a person needs to write an essay about his strengths, then first he should determine the best qualities in himself and only then begin to compose an essay.

Fundamental rules

How do you write an essay about your strengths? Let's get acquainted with the basic rules for writing this type of essay.

First, a person needs to identify several stable skills, qualities, skills in himself, which, in his opinion, may be of interest, for example, to a potential employer.

Then it is best to draw up a rough outline of the essay in your head, think over some of the details and meanings with which the essay will be filled.

When writing an essay about your strengths, you should write clearly in essence, avoid abstract sentences, keep the essay short, but clear and understandable.

When writing an essay, you can use some manipulative psychological techniques, for example, the peak-end rule, according to which a person remembers the middle of an event and its end. Thus, having compiled a list of strengths, they can be arranged in the essay in the order according to the above rule

When writing an essay, you should be guided by common sense, you do not need to embellish your merits, you should be as objective as possible, a big plus will be to give real life examples where the strengths that you are describing were manifested.

Plan

An outline of your strengths essay has three parts:

Introduction. General story about yourself: you need to focus on your skills, you can mention a few weak points for contrast.

Main part. You need to smoothly bring to the description of your strengths, start, according to the above rules, give examples from your life, where your strengths were manifested

Conclusion. It is necessary to end the essay with thoughts like that you are motivated to work on yourself further, you know how to level your weaknesses.

Example

From the earliest years of my life, I was fond of reading a wide variety of literature, only later such a hobby was transformed into my desire to constantly improve my competence in the most varied issues of life. Now, despite the fact that I have read quite a few books and often tried to learn something new, there are gaps in my knowledge that I am sure I will soon eliminate. I still consider my personality to be the most unchanging sphere of being. I want to understand who I am and why I am here. Books help me with this, but I find introspection the most productive method of self-discovery. I used it to find out what strengths my character could boast of?

During my (still short) life, I managed to acquire several, in my opinion, useful qualities that help me to more effectively solve urgent problems. One of them is the ability to plan the time correctly, I have acquired this skill since my school days, when it was necessary to do a lot of things in a short period of time. Now this skill helps me a lot when you need to study and work every day. So, for example, in one day I had to finish an important advertising project and pass a successful exam in economics. I completely planned out in advance what, when and how I would do, and in the end I was able to successfully solve all the problems. I took almost every minute of my time, but it was worth it. I have successfully solved all the tasks assigned to me. In addition, I can say that I am a very sociable person. I really don't have to bother asking an imperfect stranger for the answer to any question. This often helps me in my work. Once during an internship, I needed to talk to a respected person who was not famous for being particularly sociable, but I managed to get my interlocutor to talk and successfully cope with the project. The last useful skill that I would like to highlight in myself is the ability to concentrate. Often I have to completely immerse myself in work and clearly perform the necessary actions. This requires great care. Thanks to my studies in educational institutions, I developed this skill quite quickly. There are situations when it is necessary to solve many tasks at one time and I successfully dealt with them.

Now I continue to improve my competencies. I have many weak qualities that I am trying to neutralize. For example, I often worry about trifles and this often prevents me from working most effectively. However, I hope that soon I will be able to correct mistakes and make weaknesses strong.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Frederic Class

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.