Education logo

How To Make Your First Etsy Sale In 3 Days

Beginners Guide To Selling On Etsy

By Chandi PeardonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
How To Make Your First Etsy Sale In 3 Days
Photo by Rebecca Grant on Unsplash

If you are like me and stay up late surfing through Pinterest, then you might have come across people that have made a decent living selling on Etsy.

My biggest issue? I do not have artistic qualities that are worth selling. I was not going to invest money in learning a crafting skill nor was I about to dive into purchasing supplies. So I decided to do my research.

Research

Surfing the web, I managed to find out the top three most popular items on Etsy; jewelry, planners, and apparel. Jewelry, to me, was overly saturated with similar products so I did not think it would be a good niche to start in. Planners, I still have a hard time understanding the concept of digital planners, and no...I don't want to buy your course to learn how.

Lastly, I came across apparel. There is a lot of trendy t-shirt designs on Etsy, but a majority of them are only tailored towards women. That is when I had an idea.

The "Ah-ha" Moment

By AbsolutVision on Unsplash

As I continued my research I realized that there are not many items of apparel on Etsy that are tailored towards the male population. It's a female-dominated site. I then had to figure out what kind of men's apparel would sell best. No one is going to go to Etsy to buy fitness apparel when you have so many popular brands out there on Amazon.

The men's apparel would have to be tailored towards male-dominated hobbies such as; woodworking, fishing, hunting, camping, etc. I opened another google tab and began to search on images of different styles of outdoor activity apparel for men. When I found a design that I liked, I would transfer the image to Canva and create it as a transparent png image.

I then created a Printful account. From there, I chose a variety of t-shirts, sweaters, hoodies, and windbreaker jackets to transfer my design. The great thing about Printful is that they will automatically upload any design right to your Etsy account for you. The only thing you need to do is make sure the pricing is where you want it and that you enter keywords and search terms.

Posting Content To Etsy

By Christin Hume on Unsplash

Once my product transferred over to Etsy, I created a trendy title to attract buyers' attention. Check out my, what to do and what not to do for title creation below:

What to do: Men's Fish On A Hook Hoodie | Comfy Men's Outdoor Apparel S-XL

What not to do: A comfy fish on a hook design men's hoodie outdoor apparel for me in sizes s-xl

Once I realized how to make my posts look, I then organized all of my products into different categories on my Etsy site. A site that is clean and free of clutter is a site people want to shop on. Think about it, you ain't taking leftovers from someone's dirty crusty kitchen. And you are not shopping in a place that seems sketch-magetch

Next, I needed products to drive traffic and I shit you not my friends...I created 35 products within 10 hours (over the course of two days) and uploaded them to my site. The algorithm is in your favor if you have anywhere between 30-50 products uploaded within your first week of creating your site. Understanding the algorithm helped me to get my first sale in just 3 days of creating my site.

Create Ads

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

On the second day, I made a big step into the business world by creating ads. And I want to tell you all something; if you honestly believe that your product is going to sell without ads, then you are wrong. Your product NEEDS to get into the faces of others in order for your product to reach a larger and broader audience.

Do not ever think, "I am creating an outdoorsy product so I need only outdoorsy people to see it." Why is this thought process wrong? Because you are eliminating the outdoorsy people that I know that I could refer your product to. Therefore, you want to create an ad that hits everyone, of all ages, in every category.

I set my ads to hit every demographic on Etsy and I ran it for 5 days. I ran my ads through Thursday-Monday because these were the peak days people were shopping on Etsy. I only ran it for $1 a day! Once my ad was posted, I went from 0 views to over 12k views on my first day.

By noon on my third day, I had my first sale. It was a doomsday prepper hoodie that I actually designed myself. Not a transferred one from images.

I cracked the algorithm by;

  • uploading as many products in a short period of time
  • advertising to all categories
  • adding detailed keywords and search terms into my products description

Even if you are not doing a dropshipped service from a creative provider, the same method applies to any product or service sold on Etsy.

Shop On Etsy

Check out my favorite Etsy shop to purchase from! It is a small-local vendor from my community and I am in awe of their crafted designs!

how to
1

About the Creator

Chandi Peardon

Creative Writer.

My inspiration? Personal trauma, mental illness, and love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.