Education logo

How to keep personal biases aside while teaching young students

Being a teacher, I have to keep my biases in check to avoid impacting the impressionable minds of young children.

By Ethan MillerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I am a highly opinionated person who is never afraid to voice personal views and biases, no matter how different they are from popular beliefs (Santa Claus is real, okay?). But I tread carefully while expressing my personal views in the classroom as it can have a deep impact on the way my students think. Manipulating students’ thought processes and making intellectual replicas of myself is the last thing our society needs (one is enough - trust me!). So, how can a teacher keep his/her personal biases aside while teaching students?

Before we discuss the how-to part, I wish to clarify that it is completely okay for a teacher to reveal their personal choices and biases sometimes. When a teacher talks about their viewpoints, it could make way for a healthy discussion among the students. But it is definitely a concern when teachers start forcing their opinions on students. Here’s how not to do so:

Put yourself in your student’s shoes

Kids and young adolescents are soft targets for media and internet trolls to propagate biased agenda. Students don’t need their teachers as well to brainwash them. Before you strongly put forward your opinions on a subject, put yourself in your students’ shoes and wonder how you would feel if someone tells you how to think and what to think. If I don’t like someone imposing their biases against President Donald Trump (I have my own biases against him!) on me, then I shouldn’t impose my opinions on my students. Express your views, not impose!

Understand that your bias is your opinion and not a fact

Have you ever felt the need to be termed right? Many a time, our personal biases are so strong that we just don’t get it when someone puts forth a counter opinion. In our heads, our biases are not opinions but are facts that are true. And in order to prove our point, we are willing to go to any lengths. I've read hundreds of essays online that present opinions as facts. Such behavior is a big no-no for teachers as they risk influencing the thinking of their students. While teaching, one needs to understand that their bias is just an opinion and others can have a different opinion.

Always tell both sides of a story

A coin has two sides. An argument has two sides. Every story has two sides. Often, we tend to focus on one side of the story that we believe in and ignore the other. One of the best ways to prevent personal biases overpowering your teaching is to talk about both sides of a topic. You might have a strong views on topics like gun control or war that you are tempted to share with students, but it is important to let your students know about the counter viewpoints as well. Only then will your students form their own opinions on the topic. You might love Marvel superheroes, but you can’t let that bias stop you from talking about DC’s superheroes.

Don’t let stereotypes dictate your biases

Boys are difficult to control in class. Girls love to gossip. Trouble makers are weak in academics. Introvert students are stupid. These are a few stereotypes that every teacher must have heard But the problem arises when these stereotypes affect your opinions about your students. Every student is unique and does not necessarily fall under any of the common stereotypes. Form your opinion about a student by getting to know them rather than creating a bias because of stereotypes.

Encourage students to speak their minds

A teacher needs to strike a perfect balance between being strict and being friendly. By being friendly and approachable, I have empowered my students to ask questions and challenge my words if they feel I am wrong. I encourage my students to speak their minds. And if their viewpoints contradict my thoughts, then it makes for a highly enlightening discussion that helps us all understand and respect others’ opinions.

I wish to conclude a la Martin Luther King (my hero) style: “I have a dream of a society where freedom of speech is upheld with utmost importance. I have a dream of people voicing their opinions that aren’t manipulated by external forces, without the fear of being trolled. I have a dream of people respecting viewpoints that are not aligned with their opinions. And this dream can be realized only when teachers empower students to form their own opinions and not push personal biases on impressionable minds.”

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.