Education logo

How to Deal with High School Drama

Or How to Avoid It

By Amanda TuckerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
I do not own the rights to this photo

Just don’t. You heard me. Don’t even bother with it.

Now before you go clicking out of this article, hear me out. Trust me, if anyone gets it, I do. When I say “don’t bother with it” I know it’s much easier said than done, but it’s also much more rewarding in the end.

Girls (or guys!) in high school start drama for one of two reasons:

1. They’re bored

2. They’re jealous

I totally understand that there are exceptions to this, but most of the time, they start rumors for one of these two reasons. Looking back at all of my high school drama, while I didn’t see it at the time, it was all started because someone got bored or jealous.

You hear everyone say “don’t worry about it now because it won’t matter after you graduate” and while this is true, it’s extremely hard to understand while still in high school. I remember my senior year of high school, I’d cry on the way to school because I really hated going and I didn’t want to have to deal with any drama. I had two weeks left of school- I was starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel, yet, I still didn’t understand. How can it get better after high school when it’s so bad right now? It’s really hard to understand that everything will get better after graduation when you’re having to see the same people every day.

Let me explain that logic to you, then I’ll get in on how to deal with the drama for the time being. When you spend eight or more hours of your day with the same people, there’s bound to be drama at some point. But the reason it get better after high school is for one, you will probably barely talk to most of the people you graduated with. Two, you won’t have to face them every single day and worry whether or not they’ve heard all the nasty rumors about you.

As for actually dealing with the drama, I have a few suggestions:

1. Before you respond to anyone or anything about something being said about you turn off your phone for an hour or two and give yourself time to calm down- this way you don’t end up saying anything in the heat of the moment that you might regret later.

2. Think “Is this true?” And then you’ll have one of two responses...If it’s true, and you’re upset about it, think about why it makes you upset that people are finding out the truth. People make mistakes, but that’s how we grow. So learn from your mistakes, fix them and move on. If it’s not true, then I can assure you, the truth will come out eventually. Plus, who cares what all these random people think? If your close friends and family know the truth, that’s all that matters. Their opinions should be the only ones that matter anyways.

3. Ask yourself “Will this matter in five years? Five months? Five days??” Because the reality is that it will all blow over eventually because some new gossip will come around and take the distraction off of you anyways. Plus, if it’s not going to matter in five years, why worry about it?

It’s okay to be mad. It’s okay to be sad. It’s okay to be upset. It is not okay to let those people have any negative effect on your life. They don’t deserve any of that. Give yourself a time frame to be upset (NO MORE THAN AN HOUR!!) and then after that, think of all the ways you can get revenge. I’m not talking about the revenge where you turn around and spread rumors about them, that’s stooping to their level. Instead, rise above them, and get revenge by being the best you that you can be!

For Help

I understand that bullying can be very serious. If you struggle with suicidal thoughts, thoughts about self-harm or harming others- please call one of these lines to talk to a representative.

Suicide Hotline

800-784-2433

Crisis Call Center

800-273-8255 or text ANSWER to 839863

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.