Education logo

How I learned to code, being a call center guy.

learning

By Kaushal mandalPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
callcenter guy image from pexels

So you are looking to learn something but not able to complete not even 10 percent, No worries this is the best place where you can find the best-applied solution by me while I was learning something new.

There would be a reason.

journey image by pexels

If you want to learn something new there would be a specific reason because we are living in a world where don't even meet our parents without any reason, So learning something is giving your life's important and valuable time so it should have some strong reason.

If you have a reason it's well and good maybe you want to get promoted in your job or work on some personal project or try to switch your current situation by learning it and switch in or find a better opportunity.

In my case, I was working as a call center agent, where I use to sit and speak to random people about their issues for 9 hours continuously. In some cases need to be on call for hours and the guy’s on that call were just yelling at me and this use to happen every day at least 3 to 4 times.

That was the day when I decided I will switch to developing and become a software developer. It was my reason to learn something new there might be some specific reason for you to start to learn something new.

Start from a hardcopy book never go-to online reading materials.

Now you have your reason to start learning then start reading about it through books not online or by any pdf use books only to start if in any case it is not possible then make notes write it down by your self and then make it a habit.

In my case it was specific I knew about how to get started as being a computer science graduate. My next move was getting the book and starting learning on my own without any online materials. I got a book from one of my friend and the book name was "the c programming language by Dennis M.Ritchie".

Make a timetable to follow.

Everything is fine you got the hardcopy book or handwritten book but unless and until you don't give a fixed time to it you won't make it happen.

So time table creation is a must and following it is also a must. In my case, I used to come home by late 11 and after coming home I use to sit with food on my plate and the textbook on my desk at least I had a goal of completing a page daily till then I won't go to sleep. It usually took me 45 to max 50 minutes daily to complete the page.

Follow it daily without any break.

Everything would be of no use if you are not following it on daily basis with the same goal of completing the set task daily.

Because at last you have set it and no one is forcing this on you to follow. You are the owner of your life and mind and the owner decides whether to do it or not.

My call center job was a motivation for me to follow my daily routine to complete my daily one-page reading task. My mind use to give me reasons to stop and take a leave for one day, tomorrow read 2 pages more but everyone knows tomorrow never comes and I am the owner of my mind and body.

Practice is key to success with reading.

If you are reading something which you are not applying practically chances are much that you would forget it. Because we are human and we are designed to remember the things that we apply in our daily lives.

In my case initially, for a month, I guess I was just reading not applying practically and I use to forget always even after reading the page 10 times because in programming reading won't help unless and until you are applying it or practicing to code on a daily basis.

By the next month, I got my laptop on and added more 50 minutes to practice daily after reading is done I use to sit in front of my laptop to code daily to practice.

Conclusion

This was my switch from being a call center guy to learning to code and still, I am on my track and would keep posted about my journey and life update so follow or subscribe so that you won’t miss my life update and thank you for reading till here.

how to
1

About the Creator

Kaushal mandal

Hi, my name is kaushal mandal and I am a computer science graduate and a crypto believer.

Currently getting treatment for pancreas and fighting it

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.