Education logo

High School To College

The tale of a not so perfect life story

By Katelyn Published 4 years ago 6 min read
1

The morning was cold and dewy. It was 9:00 am, and I was getting ready for my senior graduation. We were told by our assistant Principal to arrive at our school at around 10:00am, weeks prior.

My aunt drove me to the school's campus that morning, and I was exhausted. Like any other teenager, I wanted to rest that morning. We arrived at the school's campus. There I saw familiar faces, I knew I would not see again after that day.

All 60-ish of us, crammed in on one bus. The band was in another bus, and the MJROTC followed right behind. It was an eventful time for some of us. We laughed, sang the latest songs, and took numerous pictures. When we arrived at the college campus in North Texas, that was holding our graduation ceremony: we were met with teachers, staff, and a few familiar faces there to help prep us for later that evening. We were placed in order of our last names to proceed down the aisle. Of course, I am close to the end. I never did like having a last name that was close to the end of the alphabet. (I envied the last names that started with E's to N's).

Practice ended around 12 pm, and we drove back to our school's campus to get ready for the ceremony at 3. I had my tickets ready, my gown was steamed bone straight, and I had about 15 minutes to go to payless and by some heels because she (me) was not walking in flats! It never occurred to me that I would be the one to be late to my own graduation!

I was able to sneak in and find my position without any problems. Whew!

The moment was near, and I took in every piece of that moment and thought to myself, "We will never be together like this again." It was only around 60 of us. Everyone knew each other. The time came, and everyone was ready to walk to their sits. I sit in my designated chair and listen to the speeches given by the faculty and a few classmates.

After the speeches were done, each row of students began to walk behind the curtains on stage. Names were being called, Finally!

~10 minutes later~ It was my row's turn. I walked behind the curtain and waited until they called my name.

My honest POV at that moment: I can't see jack!

If you know how blinding stage lights are, you know. As I stood on stage, I heard my father scream my name, but could not pinpoint where he was.

After all the names were called, our school's marching band lead a train to the nearest open cleaning on the college campus. At that moment, they all tossed their caps in the sky to salute their accomplishment. (Notice how I said they because she (I) was not finna lose my cap, that I PAID for)

~Three days later~

Blank, gets real!

I was accepted into my college of choice; however, they did not offer enough financial aid for me to attend. So, I was left debating whether I wanted to press forward and move to Arizona or not attend school.

Things that made the situation worse is that I needed a job, but didn't have all of the appropriate documents (legal stuff) and I had family members stressing me out.

During this time, it was the most stressful for me because before graduating, I experienced abuse throughout my childhood and moved in with my aunt during my senior year of high school. I didn't have a support system and no one to really communicate my emotions to anyone. During that summer, I researched different jobs that appealed to me. I found one in particular I liked. This would eventually be the stepping stone into my career. I applied to an internship with an afterschool organization.

After several weeks of not receiving communication from them, I received a phone call to schedule an interview.

I was excited! My first job was an internship, which provided an education voucher when I completed my term of service.

Next on the agenda was to decide on attending the University of Arizona or go to a nearby community college. Attend a community college for 500, Alex! After I researched the benefits of attending a community college, I w=figured that was the best option for me. It was less expensive, (since I didn't have to pay out of pocket for anything, thanks to scholarship and grant money), it was close to where I live, and I was able to choose self-paced online classes that worked with my schedule.

From August 2018 to May 2019, it was pretty chill. I attended school full time and went to work in the evenings. Life was great. I began to save money because, at this time, I was without a car and a license.

It's July 2019, and I need a new job. My internship had ended in May, so I did not have any source of income. I was still attending school full-time in the summer, as well. Luckily, my cousin, who was also looking for a job, lead me to find my next position. A 1st-grade teacher's assistant.

Now, this time around, my experience working and attending school was a bit different. I was 19 years old, working full-time as a 1st-grade teacher's assistant while attending school online. There were times when the experience would be daunting and stressful. During my lunch breaks, I would take out my computer and finish assignments. I chose to use this time wisely.

Again, while I was working, I kept on saving money along the way—however, I didn't need to purchase a car with the money I saved. In November 2019, I was able to purchase my first car. A 2020 Kia Rio.

~Two months later~

I took my first driving test at the local DPS office, I failed!

So, I schedule a second test at a local driving school, I passed!

Finally, received my driver's license.

~Coronovirus~

After spring break, my job gave notice that the campus would be closed down for the rest of the school year and transition to online learning. How am I supposed to assist my teachers, I do not know? We are three months in, and my teachers are fed up, just as much as I am. Parents are complaining about children being exposed to too much screentime, my teachers are tired of teaching nonstop on camera, and I am tired of having to go back and forth on campus to complete phone calls on campus instead of home.

The month is now May, and it's my birthday, I turned 20 years old and stuck in the house. No party, no going out, no nothing. However, the quartine did prove to be beneficial. I learned new hobbies and skills. Such as wig making, doing my own nails, starting a tie-dye sock business, and preparing to transfer to my new university.

Psst, I forgot to mention I was transferring to TCU in Fall 2020. Yeah, getting ready to be with the big frogs!

I will be a junior this fall, and I'm filled with mixed emotions. I was able to transfer all of my credits. I can now focus on my major, which is Astronomy. Just this past month, I graduated from my community college with my Associate's in Science. Yeah, I'm apart of the class of 2020.

I sent my resignation letter to my job and plan to attend school full time.

These past couples of years have been a whirlpool of chaos, but I made it. I applied to numerous scholarships along the way, and I am grateful to have won a few. The majority of my tuition is paid for due to scholarships and grant money, which I thank God for.

Lastly, to end my personal experience transitioning from high school to college, I want to say that it is not easy in the slightest. There will be trial and error. It is about how you pull yourself out of the negative situation you are in. Never lose focus on your goal and strive to remain positive.

Sincerly,

Your College Classmate

student
1

About the Creator

Katelyn

Young college student trying to understand my purpose. I am pursing a BS in Astronomy and Physics with hopes of one becoming an Astronaut.

Favorites:

Stranger Things

Twilight Series

Anything space science-related
Writing

Ginger Kombucha

Sushi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.