Education logo

COLLEGE TIPS FOR SUCCESS THAT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE

In 5 easy steps

By Iman AarifPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
COLLEGE TIPS FOR SUCCESS THAT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

1.BUILD STRONG TIME-MANAGEMENT SKILLS

When it comes to college time is everything. For a successful and stress-free college experience knowing how to manage time is crucial. Truth is you don't have time even when you think you have. Thinking of that is the trap, you have time but you aren't going to use it because you will procrastinate until the last minute. Put this new concept in your mind, I DON'T HAVE TIME. Ok, now that you put it we can start: use this time wisely, start to study/prepare/collect study material early. The earlier the better. I usually start collecting material and writing down all the past exams' questions. Starting this way I allow myself to know how much I have to study and which topics. When this is done, start by writing down how many days are left until the exam and take off seven days before the big day. These days you have to revise the whole exam program. You should already know everything, these days are just for revising. Alright, use the other days left to study and memorize. And this is how you will manage your time perfectly.

2. KNOW WERE TO FIND GOOD NOTES AND DOCUMENTS

Based on my personal experience this is what I do:

First thing I like to collect all the past exams' questions and write them down. I make a sort of list with all the questions and how many times they have been asked, this helps me to focus more on some topics and not on everything. Questions that have been asked several times are more likely to appear in your exam, so they need a little bit more attention.

Second, I like to read all the material and answer the questions. Answering them makes me memorize information quickly. If your class has got a group on social media you are more likely to find notes and pdf documents, they are really useful, sometimes I skip the book to focus on this type of material and still pass my exams brilliantly! So as I said, collect the material from every corner, write down a list of questions and answer them, better if you write them by hand, in fact writing on paper is way more effective than writing on the computer or an iPad, it helps you memorize information and keep them in mind ready to be found on exams!

3. YOUR CLASSES ARE YOUR PRIORITY

Always think of why you started. To get a degree? To get your dream job? To fulfill yourself? For personal satisfaction? Whatever the reason don't ever forget that always remember why you started, always make your classes your priority no matter what, even if you are going through a rough time, there's nothing that can stop you except you.

Make your education a priority, because not only you will save a lot of time (years), but you will be happy because you did it, you got that degree and made that dream come true.

To be successful in college you should attend all your classes and be present always every day. Hustle today so tomorrow you can party whenever you want, relax and sleep and everything you want, but first, you have to work hard now. I promise it's so worth it!

4. ORGANISATION IS THE KEY TO SUCCESS

Organize, organize, organize!

Organize your desk, your house, your room, your grocery, your make-up, your mind, everything. The organization is the key to success, it makes life easier and helps with getting things done without stress and anxiety. To study better I like to organize my desk first if it isn't colorful and organized I can't study! I like to use steaky notes and colorful pens to match the notes. Writing in good calligraphy is also important, good looking, organized notes make you want to study them, try to believe!

5. CHOOSE THE RIGHT PATH BASED ON YOUR CAPACITY

This is very important, you will succeed only when your choice matches your capacity.

Choosing the right career is hard, nobody said it was easy, but when you think of something you like think if it matches your capacity too, think if it's something you are capable of doing if it's something you can bear.

Based on my personal experience, I choose a difficult path in college, I was so in love with the topic that I didn't ask myself if I could do it. In reality, it was hard, really hard that I found myself hating it. Liking something doesn't mean you can do it, you can work on it but it takes time, at the end, this depends on you, if you are willing to spend eight years doing three years of college that's a choice. But if you don't want to waste time or don't have time, choose something you can do and go for it, work hard and be successful.

how to
1

About the Creator

Iman Aarif

20 yo business administration student 📚

I love writing content to inspire others ✍🏻

Daughter, sister, lover, friend 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.