Education logo

College Study Tips

Tips that helped me to learn as much as possible

By MeganPublished 4 years ago 18 min read
Like
College Study Tips
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

This one goes out for all my college students.

Studying can be hard and trying to stay focused while studying can be even harder. As a college graduate, I have spent the majority of my time at school studying. Even though I was a dance major, I still took classes that needed focus on and the only way for me to maintain my GPA and my goals grades, I spent countless hours studying. I would wake up early and start doing work. When I was at the gym, I would be studying while I was on the bike, treadmill or elliptical. My goals grades for each class was my motivation to stay on top of my work and to study, but I still made time for my roommate and friends.

Putting my studies first was also important to me. Little backstory… when I was in high school, I never used to put my studies first. I attended two high schools, a public in the morning and a performing arts in the afternoon/evening, so clearly I had more focus on the performing arts high school then I did the public high school. Mainly because I was dancing everyday and that was all I wanted to do with my life. I didn’t care so much about public high school, all I thought about was dance all day everyday. During those times, I was brought down quite a bit by classmates saying that I wasn’t smart enough or that I was dumb. And when you are being told that you start to believe it and live it in reality. I still graduated from both high schools, with better grades at one school than the others (you can obviously guess which ones). Flash forward to college. I didn’t want to constantly think that I was dumb and that I wasn’t smart enough. I made it a goal of mine to prove those people wrong. To prove to myself, my friend, family and the high school bullies that I was smart enough. And guess what happened! I made Dean's List each semester, had a GPA that met my standard and I was still dancing. But the best thing was that I could schedule my classes around my dance schedule. As a dance major, I spent the majority of my days in dance class, at the dance building, rehearsing late nights and had many performances. Even though I had all that, I took all my general education classes and a ton of electives. I found that I really loved learning and I really enjoyed it. I took different classes that interested me and helped me to realize that I am capable of doing so much more and growing my knowledge.

I was the first person in my family who graduated from college and I not only proved to myself and to my family that I could do it, but I proved all those haters wrong. I showed them that my passion is worth my degree and if I wanted to go back to college I can because I have the confidence in myself to realize that I am smart and have a mind full of intelligence.

During my times in college, I managed to create a study system that helped me to maintain my goals and to help me get the grades that I wanted. Not only did these study tips help, but even the simple activities that I would do outside of my study times helped.

So now, let’s get started!

Tip #1: Create a schedule and stick to it!

By far one of the biggest things that helped me when I was studying to create a strict/specific schedule. When I first really started getting into studying and making my goal grades, I created a specific schedule for me to follow. This schedule has my classes blocked out, when I would go to the gym, rehearsals and study times. Study times can be as long as you want. I suggest making them at least 1-2 hours for beginners and 2+ hours for those who are really wanting to crack down on studying. Doing this can help you kind of figure out how you are going to structure your day and what subject you specifically want to focus on.

This schedule can be completely however you want it to look like. Planning out when you will study and how long can give you a general idea of what you want to accomplish and how you want to accomplish it.

Some things that I did was, I would know my class schedule first and my gym schedule. Since I worked out in the mornings from 6-7:30, this would give me an hour before my 8:30 class. During that time I would stay at the gym and do some studying and some class work. If I had a test I would focus strictly on that. If I had a 7am class (yes, I took classes that early), I would change my schedule around just a bit to make sure that I had time to study in the mornings. Then throughout the day, if I had a break I was usually doing work so I wouldn’t have so much at night and I can spend it with my roommate or with my gym buddies.

Tip #2: Note Taking

The biggest thing for college students to note is that note taking is extremely important when you are trying to maintain a certain grade or reach a goal. Many classes you are able to go on your laptop and write notes, but taking the time to physically write everything can make it stick into your brain better. The act of physically writing things down can make a difference in memorization of the work you are trying to do.

What I would do when taking notes is I would have my main notebook for the class that I was attending and would write everything in black pen. Then during my breaks, I would head over to the library and would have a second notebook for that class where I would take the time to re-write the notes that were given to me during the lecture. I would color code and highlight. This would make the material that I was learning easier to learn and helped me to make sense of the lecture that was being given. Doing this helped me to understand the material.

Tip #3: Do extra research

Now this tip might sound excessive, but if you don’t understand a word or a topic do some extra research on it. This extra work will help you to grasp a better understanding of the word you are studying. Not only that, but it will also go into deeper meanings. Say you understand something but it is still confusing, well turn to the internet. It will help you to get a closer meaning and understanding of that subject. Even for words that you truly don’t understand, I highly suggest looking them up because it will make writing and reading material easier and gives understanding/clarity to your knowledge that you already know.

When I would take notes in class in my first notebook and I didn’t understand something that the professor would say or a word, I would make a little note to look it up. This not only helped me in the subject, but it helped me in understanding how it can relate to topics, how I can use it in essay, how to put it in my own understanding and how to make sure that the material I was learning was going to stick with me for a longer period of time instead of just understanding it for a day.

I will seem extra at first, but it is worth it in the end if you really want to put the work and effort into it. Understanding a subject should be life long, not just for a day. So the more information you research upon and the more understanding you, it will stick longer and be worth the money.

Tip #4: Textbook

Each class and each professor will tell you if you need the textbook or not. My opinion is, if it is an easy class that you can get through then don’t worry about the textbook, but if you’re passionate about the subject or the course you are taking then I highly suggest getting a textbook. Of course you can rent or buy the textbooks. Through my experiences, I would rent the textbook if it is just for a class for one semester, but when I rent it, I make sure that I use it because the information that is given to you in class can be explained even better in text. If it is a class that will repeat itself, then I suggest buying the textbook because once you buy it you won’t have to waste money on renting it out each semester or each year. Then you can sell the book when you are done with it.

When I was in college, I did rent the required textbooks for each class that I attended. I found that it helped me get more information. Even though I did outside research, I still would always go to the textbook first to see how they explain it. Then I would go into the idea of how I would explain it if I was teaching this material to myself.

Tip #5: Study as much as possible

We’ve all heard the trick to study as much as possible because you never know what will be on the test and that is true. There have been many times where my friends would only study key words that their professor would say and not study anything else. Then the test came around and all the words, definitions, diagrams were not on the test or there were one or two questions that were on the test.

I recommend really studying as much as possible and understanding the material so when you do go into the test term, you are more prepared than others in the classroom. The more you remember the easier the subject will come to you and the more you will understand the test questions. If the test has a written answer (open ended), then you should make sure you have enough knowledge on the subject and understand it to make sure that you are able to fully answer the questions and back-up your writing as well. The more you study, the more you will understand and be prepared.

From personal experience, I studied an entire chapter because I wanted to understand certain material that we have talked about in class and by doing this I ended up with a higher grade because there were questions that were related to the chapter that the professor didn’t cover. One thing to note is that some professors, not all, will trick students into thinking that they only have to study key terms. Then the test comes and there are key terms along with written material that will be related to the chapter that the class was studying.

So just be on the lookout when it comes to tests. Sometimes professors will throw some curveballs to see if students are doing the outside work to understand the subject.

Tip #6: Understand your Syllabus

Syllabus weeks in college is one of the most important weeks for students. You should go to those classes. Many people I know skip out on syllabus week, but I highly recommend that you go. Syllabus week might seem like a boring week and all you are wanting to do is hangout with your friends, but going to class during this week will help you to understand what the class will consist of and how it will be structured. Once you understand the structure of the class, you can create a schedule for yourself. And if you really want to get ahead, start to do basic research and start to understand the topics and materials that are written down.

This not only gives you a leg up in the class, but it also gives you a greater idea of what the work the class will entail. Take time to read through your syllabus, ask questions and work on how you are going to study. Your syllabus will help you through the entire term and you will also feel prepared.

Took syllabus week very seriously. I was able to ask the questions that I needed answers for and was able to start to study or start papers early because I spent time studying the material and understand topics that were going to be discussed during class time.

Tip #7: Ask questions

Students I have noticed don’t ask many questions, when clearly they need too. Then they go back to their place and still have no idea what has been taught or is being lectured on. Your teachers want to ask questions, especially when it is a concept that can be difficult to understand. Teachers encourage students to ask questions each class because the best way to learn and understand material is by asking questions. Doing this will help in the study process for tests or exam season. Even for pop-quizzes that will come up. Another reason why students should ask questions is that many professors won’t have a test written up because they are waiting for questions to add (not all professors do this, but some might). Teachers will also ask students questions because those questions might end up on a quiz at some point. So it is important to ask, listen and answer questions.

One thing that my father has told me since growing up is that “There is no stupid question” and that is true. It might sound stupid in your head, but once you ask it the teacher will happy help and will give a better explanation. Even when you are studying, ask your teacher questions about material so you can better understand it and ace the exam.

Tip #8: Study Guides and Flashcard

My favorite things to do and to talk about are study guides and the wonderful use of flashcards. Study guides and flashcards are by far the best thing that helped me get through my times in college.

First let’s start off with creating study guides. Each semester and for each academic class, I created my own study guides. They were time consuming, but doing them helped me to understand the material and know what I was learning. I had a specific way of how I made my study guides to help me learn as much as possible and understand the subject/what was going to be on the test. By doing this I was able to make sure that I truly understood concepts and understood the materials that were taught about in class.

Now, I’m going to share with you all the color coding that I would do when I created my study guides.

Red = any definitions

Blue = main information

Green = key points

Purple = diagrams

Black = extra information

This coding system can be changed however you would like. The idea of having everything in specific colors helps your brain to read material and for it to stick. This also helps visual learners because you can remember the colors of the material and by knowing the colors, it can also help you to remember the order of which you learnt the material in. For example, when you are writing down material to study in a certain color you are able to see the color for which you are studying which then entails that sometimes you are able to remember the order of the words which you have written down. This doesn’t always happen, but if you put in the time and effort to do so, then it starts to stick and becomes more prominent in your mind. Study guides can however small or large you want it to be. I recommend using plain paper and just start from scratch and really make sure that you are putting down the information (and extra information) that is needed to be put on it. Doing this helps with all styles of learning and makes it easier for you to just whip out the paper before an exam and study what you can before the test/class starts.

Secondly flashcards. I use flashcards mainly for terms and for questions that I know will be provided on the exam. You can also use flashcards if you are trying to remember certain diagrams. Flashcards are an oddly trick, but very helpful when it comes to studying. If you are wanting to go with the color coding theme of flashcards, then you’re in luck because there are many flashcards that are colored (I prefer the pastel ones) where you can group them to either different subjects or you can use the colors for different terms. Example for using the colors for different terms, say you are studying questions, terms and diagrams, you can use blue flashcards for questions, red for terms and green for diagrams. Doing this is similar to creating a color coded study guide, but instead of the pen color being different, the background is different. And of course if you don’t have to do it that way, you can use the different colored flashcards for different class subjects as well. Depends on what you prefer and how you want to go abouts your studying.

Of course I will always be a fan of just plain white flashcards for simple questions. Mainly if there is going to be a quiz with not that much information, then sticking with the plain white flashcards could be your go to, but again it all depends on how you want to go about it.

Flashcards will always be helpful and they are easy on the go studying. Just take them out and read through them. They can be more helpful than creating study guides, but if you have time to create a study guide, I highly suggest it.

Finally Tip #9: Find your study place

We all have different study places and different ideas of where we prefer to study. I suggest being in a room with limited distractions. There are many days where I would spend an entire day at the library doing work and studying. The library also has many resources to help you get deeper into understanding the subjects which you are studying. Many library, I know have something called the quiet sections. There are no distracts and everyone in there or that area will be quiet because they work better in that area.

Many students work better in their dorm or apartment.This can be helpful depending on your living situation. It can also be nice when all of your roommates decide to do a study session where you all just sit and do work or study material for their own classes. You are studying while being social and having fun with your roommate.

There are also those (such as myself) who will study at the gym while working out. Since I was a morning person and would be at the gym once it opened, I would bring along some lecture notes or some study guides and will study while I am working out. If your professor does video lectures or audio lectures, it can be helpful when you are working out. This also depends on the professor or the class. Since I would work out in the mornings when the gym first opened, there weren't that many people there, so when I finished my workout and got ready, I would spend 30 minutes to an hour (depending on my schedule) and sit at one of the tables and do some work or studying. This isn’t for everyone, but if no one is really there then you might be okay. I also find the gym a place where you can meet new people who are learning similar subjects and you can quiz each other while working out. It can be hard at first, but also can be fun.

Once you have found your place then studying will start to be a breeze and it will also become even more of a routine for you.

Studying can be daunting for many students. I get it, I’ve been there, but taking time out of your day to study material and make sure you understand the work can be beneficial in the long run. Take your time and don’t be so hard yourself when it comes to studying. The big thing is, don't cram everything the day before. Spread it out and take your time with yourself. Start small because then it will start to be routine. Even though I am out of college now, I still find time to study because I enjoy the process of learning and continuing to grow my knowledge. The more you know the better.

If you take the time, you will realize that studying really isn’t that difficult. It can be worth it and sometimes even fun (if you make). Treat yourself when you study or when you have finished studying. It helps you to stay motivated and stay on top of your game.

College helped me find my way of studying and helped me figure out that the more work I put in the better experience I will have and the more the subjects will stick. Again even though I was a dance major, I took so many other classes that I found to be interesting and because of my study habits during those classes, a lot of the material has stuck with me and I still reference it from time to time. Some classes that I took outside of my major were: sociology, health/nutrition, psychology, family science and human development, programming, math, public speaking (this class required a lot of research), history, English/creative writing, and some others. Eventually a lot of the material overlapped and because I spent time studying each subject thoroughly, I had a better understanding and greater knowledge to see different sides.

Each course you take will be different, but the dedication you do to the work and the dedication you do to learn/study the material will be so rewarding. And hey, you might find another career path that you enjoy.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Megan

Hi everyone,

My name is Megan. I am a professional dancer, but I have a big passion with research, writing from personal experiences, nutrition, fitness, astronomy and so much more.

I want to continue my love for writing and share my stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.