Education logo

Applying to Uni

How I Chose What I Actually Wanted to Study

By Olivia CheungPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ok. So I am not sure if it is just me and I really don't think it is but I had literally no idea what I wanted to study at University.

I mean I knew I wanted to get a degree but what to choose? Let's be real, a degree means money and so you want to choose the right one, yes?

I liked the idea of Law. Heck, I was dead set on applying to study for it and go in September 2018. However, I didn't have a burning ambition to become a lawyer or a solicitor or anything related to the law. My time spent doing work experience at a Magistrates' Court was great but honestly nah, not that bothered really.

Nevertheless I still filled out my UCAS application with law as my degree of choice and began thinking about writing my personal statement. Needless to say, I had nothing to write and so weeks turned into months and the deadline to send my application was closing in. Yet, I still had nothing written to fill those forty-seven lines with.

It got so bad at one point that my teacher noticed and asked if he could have a chat with me. We discussed whether I really wanted to study law or go to University for that matter. Going to Uni was still a yes, but law? No it wasn't right was it? To feel pressured and worried over an application to study something that I really was not interested in. Gosh, I look back and think HOW SILLY WAS I?

It was decided that I would not apply to University for 2018 but take a gap year and apply for 2019. That was all well and good, I am very happy that I made that decision. Yet the choice of what to study still loomed over me. But falling for bad habits yet again, I procrastinated and put off researching what to study.

That is, until it was that time to start applying again. I couldn't believe a year had passed so quickly. It was crazy.

This time I knew I couldn't waste any more time like I did before and soon I was busy putting together a list of my interests. It took a while but I came to the conclusion of choosing to study English Literature. Finally! English literature was going to be the subject I chose to take into higher education and this time I knew I had made the right choice.

How? Well, I love reading. In fact, I adore reading. I will read anything, children's books, Shakespeare, Bronte to Hardy. I love to write too. Essays and letters really doth butter parsnips for me!

I am thrilled to be applying to study English at university but I can't lie that it was not easy. I still am not sure about future careers either but for now I am so happy about my choice and fingers crossed I am given a place.

Tips for applying to Uni.

  1. Please make sure you want to go. A degree unlike 20 years ago doesn't guarantee employment. Take a look at apprentership or The Open University.
  2. If you want to go but do not feel quite ready, TAKE A YEAR OUT. You have just come from a hard two years studying A-levels or College. Breath! You have earned it and I am so glad I chose to take a year out. Though, every time I hear the name Lenin or Stalin I nearly faint, I can say A-levels were the absolute best and hard work really pays off.
  3. Start making a plan of interests and hobbies. Things you do that you think are not that interesting, someone will find amazing. See what you like and then research what degrees are out there.
  4. Once you have chosen the degree which SHOULD TAKE YOU A BIT OF TIME, read about the Uni's that offer it. Be careful as not all of them offer the same stuff.
  5. Finally, begin the personal statement. You only have 47 lines so be specific and precise. How are you different from all the rest? Why are you the ideal candidate? Once you have made a plan then keep editing the statement. It will not be perfect first time or the second time. Just relax and go for it. You can do it!

Thank you for reading,

Good luck 🙄

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.