Education logo

An Open Letter to my Fifth Grade Class

Written in March of 2020

By Molly ElizabethPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
An Open Letter to my Fifth Grade Class
Photo by Jaime Lopes on Unsplash

Dear Students,

Today I had to pack up all of your things. I thought packing up the classroom would be the hardest part but it wasn’t. The hardest part was packing up all of your stuff knowing I won’t see you again this year. It is really unfair that our year together got cut short. Teachers aren’t supposed to have favorites but you, as a collective group, are my favorite. For lots of reasons.

You always made an effort to be kind to one another. You really seemed to get that being kind was the way to make our classroom work. In that way you were all wise beyond your years. Being kind didn’t mean you were perfect either. You showed kindness even when you slipped and said things you didn’t mean or made mistakes (like we all do). I could always tell that you truly felt bad about it and most of you often apologized without an adult needing to tell you. I loved that. That showed me you cared and you could learn from your mistakes.

I loved teaching you. Every subject really, but especially Character Ed because it let us talk about the real important things in life. We had such good conversations about character. You all had great insight and ideas, which isn’t a surprise because all of you understand what it means to be a good person. My favorite thing we did was when you wrote compliments to each other. It made me so proud and happy to see how much thought you put into them and how nice you could be to each other.

I miss the “in between moments” too. Those were my favorite times with you. Transitioning, extra recess, lunch, anytime I got to interact with you. You all were so funny and kind and smart and happy and always made me laugh. Like sparkle when you ALL would talk in between EVERY turn or when we would come up with theories about who committed the crime in Theodore Boone. I also loved when we got to work in partners. I’ve never had a class that did this so well. You really enjoyed spending time together and could do it well without much help from me. I loved being able to let you learn that way.

One of the things I will remember most about you as a group though, is how you never let anyone sit alone at lunch. Most kids need reminders to do this or only do it when the teacher is watching. Not you. So many times I caught you doing this out of the goodness of your heart when you thought I wasn’t watching. You always thought of each other because you know what it feels like to be left out. Doing kind things when you think no one is looking is the sign of true character. It always made me so happy and proud of you.

You have continued to make me proud even from a distance. I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to hear from your reading and math teachers that you are all putting in your best effort. You’re making time at home to sit and learn On. Your. Own. And THAT is amazing. You’re turning in your best quality work because you know it’s important not because a teacher is standing over you telling you that you have to. Most people don’t learn that lesson until much MUCH later in school. And you guys are already there.

The best part? We will always remember each other. Think about it, you will never EVER forget this time in your life which, lucky for me, means you will never EVER forget me as your teacher. I guarantee I will never forget the group I had the year Coronavirus hit and everything came to a halt. I will probably remember you better than any class I had for a full school year because we lived through history together and man, is that cool.

Lastly, I’ll say this. I know it feels like we got the short end of the stick on this one but, I think there is a reason I was given THIS group on THIS year. You can handle it. The world knew that you would be alright so it threw us this curve ball to deal with because you can do hard things. And this is definitely hard.

I wish we could finish out the year together but I know that you will be okay. You are already amazing and capable and ready for 6th grade, most of you were the day you walked through my door. Know that I miss you and think about you often. I will always remember this class and be so happy to see you when you come back to visit.

Can’t wait to see you again soon,

Miss Brierley

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.