Education logo

5 Ways To Manage Your Diet For Diabetes.

5 Ways To Manage Your Diet For Diabetes.

By jose Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
5 Ways To Manage Your Diet For Diabetes.
Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash

My own diet has changed considerably since I was diagnosed with diabetes at the age of eleven. With a good diet and eating regimen, I am able to maintain my current healthy weight. If you intend to lose more than a stone in weight, I recommend consulting your doctor for more information on how to do so safely.

I've had diabetes for seven years, but it would be completely inaccurate of me to claim that my weight management is flawless. However, I recommend that you follow my instructions because I am familiar with what works and what does not. Before I begin, I must state that I was raised by wonderful parents who encouraged me to eat everything, which I do! If something doesn't appeal to you, there are plenty of other diabetic recipes and ideas that you will enjoy.

I am a university student who prefers to buy local, fresh, organic produce. This is significant to me since it has the potential to be the most beneficial to your body and includes more nutrients and vitamins than most stored vegetables. I like to buy food from my town's twice-weekly farmers market, which has fantastic meat and dairy products as well as fresh, in-season fruits and vegetables. Another thing to keep in mind is that eating fruits and vegetables while they are in season can make them taste better while also benefiting your health. As you can see, I am heavily influenced by Western European food (particularly France and Italy), but I do not claim to be a chef, and everything is simple to prepare and very handy.

I've read a lot of diet books and diabetic recipe/diet books, and I've come up with a solution that I believe is effective. I combined all of the positive aspects of the diets (but not all of them) to create my own. This is what I refer to as my Juvenile Diabetes Healthy Diet! The following are the "rules" that I would establish:

1. Reduce snacking and then switch up the types of snacks you eat.

My biggest flaw, despite the fact that I didn't realize it at the time. I had little or no routine when I first started university, which made it tough to occupy my days and meant that stopping into the kitchen for a snack, no matter how healthy it seemed, was a common occurrence. For some people, this is one of the most difficult things to do, yet creating a good routine is critical to good diabetes management. Unsalted nuts, dried unsweetened fruit, fresh fruit, fresh vegetables (I love fresh red pepper and cucumber), and dark chocolate are all good snacks to eat (richer and nicer and you only want 2 squares usually).

2. Reduce your intake of white flour and increase your intake of whole-grain carbohydrates.

This is the most important aspect of your diet, and it's the one that can help you lose the most weight. Some diets, in fact, are solely focused on this aspect and have proven to be highly beneficial. Switching to wholemeal (particularly stoneground wholemeal) is much easier than you might imagine because it is so much healthier and has so much more flavor. Most people are pleasantly surprised by the variety of bread available in their supermarket; nevertheless, keep in mind that the best bread for you is the one that is freshest and contains the fewest preservatives or additional substances. Brown or basmati rice is also delicious, with a nice nutty feel. Whole-wheat spaghetti is delicious, and I highly recommend the smaller fresh potatoes for your potatoes.

3. Put down the cocktail and pick up a glass of wine instead.

Sugar, colorants, and preservatives abound in cocktails. I've got plenty of practice going out without drinking drinks as a student, so my go-to drink is Malibu and Diet Coke if I feel the need to drink something, and I make it last all night. I can then top it up with Diet Coke (which contains almost no sugar) and pretend to be drinking Malibu, who knows. If you're dining out, red wine is far superior to anything else on the menu (except water, of course!) It's also been proved that red wine's antioxidants are beneficial to heart health. One glass of wine every day, with your evening meal, is recommended.

4. Start cooking more fruit and vegetables.

Fresh fruits and vegetables are an excellent source of all of the vitamins and minerals your body needs. And while there are many other ways to prepare veggies, I believe that raw is the best, followed by steaming. Both of these methods keep all of the natural goodness of the ingredients. I'll follow up with another post about diabetes recipes.

5. Drink more water.

I know you've heard it a million times, but the advantages of drinking more water are numerous. One way to get more water into your day is to keep bottles of water near you at all times in the house or at work. So keep one on your desk, a glass in the kitchen, a glass in the bedroom, a glass in the sitting room, and so on. If you drink all of these glasses, you'll be well on your way to achieving your goal of 8 glasses each day. The idea is to add a glass every few days or so; if you try to drink all that water in one sitting, trust me, you won't be so keen to drink 8 glasses again. Give it a shot; you'll be amazed at how good you'll feel.

Learn more about it.

product review
Like

About the Creator

jose

I like to write articles about things I know well, like health, profit from the internet, etc. I have spent a lot of time developing online media destinations in many areas of interest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.