Earth logo

Where the Bears Roam

A short story

By PaigePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2022
18
Where the Bears Roam
Photo by Rhand McCoy on Unsplash

The sun rises over the mountains. A light fog settles upon the streets below. I sit on the balcony of my little motel room, watching the streets as they start to awaken and liven up with tourists. The cabin like buildings and brick and stone sidewalks that line the streets start to open up. Mountain rides, distilleries, shops with overpriced t-shirts and various other mountain themed souvenirs, as well as restaurants, and other fun attractions all getting ready for the day. It's such a fun and beautiful place that always fills me with wonder.

Gatlinburg has grown so much, even just in the 30 years I've been around. Every time I visit there's something new to see. I do enjoy getting away and spending time here with my kids, family, or friends. There's a bit of everything to experience. Or sometimes it's just nice to escape on your own.

I admire the streets below as I silently sip on my coffee. The children are still in the room behind me, sleeping. I would hate to wake them to soon. We have so much fun planned today, they need to be well rested. But as the sun creeps ever higher, I hear rustling and whispers on the other side of the door and decide it's time to get the day started. I turn to go back into my room and I catch a glimpse of some movement out of the corner of my eye. I look over and scan the trees and finally notice the wonderful surprise that has caught my attention, three beautiful black bears. A mom bear is sitting at the base of the trees while her cubs play amongst her. Climbing and tumbling around, as if they don't even notice the cars and people just around the corner.

I marvel at the gorgeous creatures, doing my best not to startle them. Mom bear is so patient with her cubs. As I listen to my own two cubs starting to chat and move around in our room, I grab a quick video of the creatures and head back inside to show the kids. As I prepare my kids for the day, I can't help but to wonder about those lovely bears. We people come out here to have fun and to escape. We have turned these beautiful mountains into a busy place full of all kinds of new experiences for us. But what new dangers have we brought to the actual, natural inhabitants of these mountains. The bears, the bobcats, the snakes and other wildlife who live here and always have. They don't know what cars are or why all this stuff is in their way. They simply are just trying to survive. They smell food but don't understand why they can't just have it. They see strange creatures and don't understand why we get so close or what we are even doing there. They act as wild animals should and then get punished for it. This was their home first.


It all truly breaks my heart and for a moment I have shame for the enjoyment we have at these poor creatures expense. I know it is how the world is. I would be lying if I said I wouldn't go back or wouldn't continue to enjoy this time with my kids. But I still can't help but to wonder and worry, what will happen to those poor bears if someone else sees them? How much longer do they have before their curiosity or hunger puts them in a place that they shouldn't be? Some people can be so clueless or careless and sometimes heartless as well, when it comes to wildlife. As I take another glimpse outside I realize they have moved on. I follow my kids out the door of our hotel and say a silent prayer for those bears. Maybe one day there will be more peaceful solutions in how we treat our wildlife when things go wrong. Or perhaps all this will return to the wild and they won't have to be bothered anymore. As for now though, all I can do is remain aware and help where I am able. I can spread care and knowledge to my children and to others who may listen. And hope that we humans don't completely destroy the beauty of our planet anymore than we already have.

Nature
18

About the Creator

Paige

💖Trying to turn dreams into a reality.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Young2 years ago

    A lovely piece. Thank you. "They smell food but don't understand why they can't just have it." That is something I'd not considered before, but it is very true.

  • Toby Heward2 years ago

    Loved this story, quite creative and well thought through. Nature is a true masterpiece that must be preserved, or the canvas of life will go from vibrant to dull very quickly. Here's a little something you might find interesting and is related to the bears livelihood. https://vocal.media/poets/run-of-the-river-army

  • Beautiful awareness and empathy, Paige! So many of your sentiments are what I felt when I saw two cinnamon brown bears where I live this spring. I surrendered to their presence, knowing I am a guest in their realm.

  • Govardhan Pinni2 years ago

    Deep thoughts, Paige! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.