Earth logo

Visions In Landscaping

Making a home better on the outside with a little hard work, imagination, and care.

By Tina MillerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I like to work in gardens. I had a beautiful garden at my first home. I love sinking my hands into a nice healthy dirt. Today I am trying to grow another garden. A beautiful garden. I clip off the fresh vegetables with a pair of gardening shears so not to bruise. A garden gives out what you put into it. It’s the hard work and dedication that I enjoy and in the end a very powerful statement to the outside world. Landscaping also is something I enjoy that keeps me enjoying the fullness that the outdoors has to give me around my home.

I live on water! It’s not much for water. I have so many waterfowl around. I live in a bird sanctuary. Everywhere you look and everything that you hear are birds! In my neighborhood I think my home alone is the only place that has so many trees around it. For some odd reason people do not like trees around this area. If they have any in their yard, they cut them down. I don’t get that logic. I like the forest touch. I love all of the foliage around me. It’s amazing what you see.

I have created a comfortable back yard that I am proud of for the money I had to spend on it. I envision so many things around my home and I know that this can all be possible! The happier I get here, the more I can see things changing. Loving and caring for anything is all it takes that and a little hard work can make it happen. My home is my getaway from the outside world so I try to make it as comfortable and beautiful as I can.

My husband and I built two of our homes together. Both homes were in the country side. I love the country, but my husband does all of the running and shopping so he was getting really tired of the long runs to the stores just to get something we needed, so we sold both homes and moved to a more populated area. We live on the outskirts of a small town but it still has that country feeling. We don't have as much land with which I can work with, but I am doing well here. My husband really likes it here because it is so much closer to civilization. We didn't build this home but we are remodeling it to our liking.

The second house that my husband and I built together was absolutely gorgeous. It had thee most beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Our house sat up on a hill in an old cow pasture. You could sit under one porch on one side of the house in the morning and sit on the evening porch at night. Today here at this home, I have no sunrises or sunsets. I live in a hollow just outside a small town in the countryside.

Our place that we are settled into now is not a bad place. I don't have the sunrises and sunsets that our last house had, but it's closer to everything that we need. It has a lot of work needed to it. A lot of loving care, but it will get there. My home is finally becoming something I can be proud of and enjoy being in.

I love my backyard now. I am making it me. The feeling of home is beginning to grow inside me and I am spreading that feeling around where I live. My home is becoming something I can be really happy in. I take time to wander around outside now, and I trim my trees back with trimming shears and I do all of the weed eating with a battery operated weed eater.

I have a beautiful little red rose bush that is growing outside of our home on one end of the house. I carefully have to keep trimming away at the weeds growing around it and cut off the dying roses...I carefully lay out the little roses to dry so that I can use them as potpourri.

I had two lilac trees planted just outside my kitchen window so when the breeze comes up and my window is open, I can smell the fragrance of the lilacs. I think that is my favorite of all scents around. There is a pond which sets in our back yard, literally. It’s beautiful with all of the foliage and fowl.

I am finally home! At least a place where I can get myself together again. I am enjoying everything it has to offer. And building off what we have is a good starting point. This will be the last house that we build together. The little difference with this house is that instead of it being from scratch, we are working off other's work and forming it to us. Our home and landscaping is coming along nicely.

There are so many different birds around me right now. I love bird watching. I have always watched birds and listened to their songs. I have a concrete birdbath that my mother-in-law gave to us. I put it beside my garden and the birds enjoy the cool water in the bird bath while feeding on the bugs around my garden. I am so excited and anticipating the greatness this summer will bring to us.

We have a lot of plans for our home. And we have so much more landscaping that we are going to do here. We have a few berry trees on our property for the birds to enjoy and every so often for us to enjoy as well. Two trees that we have are Mulberry Trees. The birds go crazy over them and the fruits are so sweet and full of juice. We do have to prune the branches back every year and we trim the branches with a pair of pruning shears. Pruning shears also come in handy when you are out weeding and you find some heavier strays that you must have missed last time you weeded.

We have evergreen bushes and trees all around the front of our home that need trimming every year. We use a large pair of hedge trimmers to trim back our evergreens. Everything looks so clean after a good trimming. The birds love making nest in our evergreens. Every year we have birds flittering in front of our front windows!

This is my home and this is what gives me most satisfaction and happiness. I am finding my true happiness in life again and with the help of landscaping I can create such beauty out of your land. This is my life. And landscaping and working with the outdoors and being able to appreciate nature is all I need.

Nature
1

About the Creator

Tina Miller

I have always written. Since I can remember I have kept a diary. Now I just want to show my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.