Earth logo

Touring the Raccoon River

I thought it was just a small park, but I didn't expect it to be so big.

By John K DelgadilloPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Touring the Raccoon River
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

I thought it was just a small park, but I didn't expect it to be so big.

When I first entered the park, I saw a stone tablet poem embedded in the wall. I read the first few lines and gradually lost my patience, but my mom was interested in it and took a lot of pictures with her phone along the way. I had to call my mom and she said she was waiting for me on the bridge, but I didn't know which bridge. I went around and around, and it took me a long time to rendezvous with my mom.

From the bridge, I turned right to Canglang Lake. I wanted to buy a sausage to eat, but I found out that the sausage in Ronghuaxi Park cost 5 yuan a piece, and the most common ice cream cost 6 yuan, which was more than twice as expensive as outside, so I had to give up the food and go forward. Canglang Lake is on our right-hand side, a few steps forward in front of a large area of green water, seems to be the surrounding trees green, green, green, green, dark green all melted into the water here clear bottom, the lake under the pebbles can also be seen, the day the sun is great, the lake is sunlight clear, the wind blows, sparkling, blowing ripples, the tree's reflection by the wind a stir became blurred. The lake is intermittently planted with woods, neither thick nor sparse, but just right. These trees grow very tall and thick enough to naturally become a place where birds live in abundance. I rested under the shade of a tree for a while, and now and then a few birds broke through and stood on the ground pecking at the grass for a while, and there were many birds nesting in the tall trees in the distance. It was spectacular.

On Lake Canglang, you often see many wonders, a large flowered beak suddenly sprinting upward, soaring in the blue sky, and then swooping down, and a flying egret suddenly flew to the nest and then slept peacefully there, these birds are free.

In Canglang Lake, there are not only birds but also flocks of tadpoles swimming in the water. There were so many tadpoles at the river, they should have come from different places and gathered at the warm stream of the river, clearly nibbling on something. I think it was the nutrients in the grass, which could make them grow into frogs, but they were so cute when they swam, wagging their tails, and when they gathered together, it was like a black patch, and it was impossible to see which tadpole was which, after a while, they might have scattered and gathered in another place. I guess they should be foraging for food and preparing food.

The first thing that caught my eyes was the statue of Qu Yuan, Li Bai, and Du Fu, but my mom didn't see Qu Yuan at first. Under the statue was the 388-meter-long poetry avenue paved with granite, on which there were more than 300 poets and lyricists of various dynasties from the pre-Qin Dynasty to the Qing Dynasty, as well as various poems and writings, embedded in a long road, "The road is long I will go up and down to seek the way," "I will shelter the world's cold people in ten million rooms," "I urge the God of Heaven to revive, not to confine a talent to descend"... ...every word contains the history of Chinese civilization for 5,000 years. The statues of 25 poets, including Du Fu, Yang Jiong, Bai Juyi, and Lu Zhaolin, are displayed on both sides of the road, and I liked the pen in Du Fu's hand the most, but I didn't touch it after a few jumps.

Mom led me around Canglang Lake again and went home through the north gate. The world is so beautiful, I feel good.

Nature
1

About the Creator

John K Delgadillo

A person who loves to create

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.