Earth logo

Time Capsule Haiku

The River of Time

By goddy igbinosaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Time Capsule Haiku
Photo by Kapil Rai on Unsplash

As I stood by the river, watching the flow of water and contemplating the concept of eternity, I remembered the time capsule buried in the nearby I wrote one final haiku:

River flows and time,

Eternity's endless calls,

Memories endure.

As I walked away from the river, I knew that the memories of the time capsule and the haiku would stay with me forever, a reminder of the flow of time and the importance of capturing moments before they slip away.

River flows and time,

Eternity's endless calls,

Memories endure.

As I walked away from the river, I knew that the memories of the time capsule and the haiku would stay with me forever, a reminder of the flow of time and the importance of capturing moments before they slip away.

ark. It had been sealed 50 years ago by a group of local school children with the intention of being opened in 2023. Today was the capsule's opening, and I was eager to see what treasures lay within.

As I walked to the park, I thought of the haiku I had written about time:

Time flows like a river,

Eternity's endless calls,

Moments come and go.

I wondered if any of the schoolchildren had also written haiku about time. When I arrived at the park, I saw a crowd gathered around the area where the time capsule had been buried. The mayor of the town was there, along with several former students who had buried the capsule.

After a brief speech by the mayor, the time capsule was unearthed. We found old photos, letters, and newspaper clippings from 50 years ago. As I looked through the contents, I found a small notebook with

haiku were written by the school children.

One haiku caught my eye:

The river of time,

Flowing towards eternity,

Memories in tow.

The similarity between this haiku and my own struck me. It seemed that the concept of time and eternity was a universal theme, even among children. As I walked back to the river, I thought about the haiku and the time capsule, and how they represented the passage of time. The river flowed endlessly, and the time capsule had captured a moment in time, frozen forever in history.

The night was dark and stormy, with the wind howling through the trees and the rain pelting against the windows of the old mansion. Inside, a small group of guests had gathered for the 2nd Hymeneal anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Bronte. The couple had been married for seven years, and they had invited their closest friends and family to celebrate with them.

As the night wore on, the guests grew restless. The mansion was full of strange noises, and there was an eerie feeling in the air. Suddenly, the lights flickered, and then went out completely. The guests were plunged into darkness, and there was a collective gasp.

After a moment of panic, someone lit a candle, and the room was illuminated by a soft, flickering light. But it was not enough to dispel the sense of foreboding that hung in the air. The guests began to whisper to each other, wondering what was causing the strange occurrences.

Suddenly, there was a loud crash from upstairs. The guests froze, their hearts pounding in their chests. They waited for a moment, but there was no other sound. Slowly, one of the guests made their way upstairs to investigate.

As they climbed the stairs, they could hear their own heartbeat pounding in their ears. At the top of the stairs, they found a small room with an old clock ticking away in the corner. It was the kind of clock that seemed to measure not just time but eternity.

Suddenly, the clock began to chime. The sound was deafening, and the guests covered their ears. But even over the noise, they could hear a soft voice whispering in their ear. It was a voice from beyond the grave, a voice that spoke of the mysteries of time and eternity.

The guest stumbled back, tripping over an old hourglass and falling to the ground. When they looked up, they saw the face of a ghostly figure standing before them. It was the spirit of a long-dead poet, who had been drawn to the mansion by the world of Haiku poetry that had been celebrated there.

The guest fled from the room, back down the stairs, and into the safety of the group. They recounted their experience, and the guests listened with rapt attention, their eyes wide with fear.

As the night wore on, the storm outside grew more intense. But the guests no longer feared the strange occurrences within the mansion. They had seen the mysteries of time and eternity, and they knew that they were part of something much greater than themselves.

I wrote one final haiku:

River flows and time,

Eternity's endless calls,

Memories endure.

As I walked away from the river, I knew that the memories of the time capsule and the haiku would stay with me forever, a reminder of the flow of time and the importance of capturing moments before they slip away.

AdvocacySustainabilityshort storyScienceNatureHumanityClimate
Like

About the Creator

goddy igbinosa

I am an affiliate marketer and Investor, website designer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.