Earth logo

Majique MiMi’s Wildlife Minute…

…humbled by children 🤣

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
One of THREE Deer 🦌 just meandering about.

Courtesy: Maddlyodd.com

Picture it

In the room

4:20 Eve

So I hear footsteps and a very loud…

“Aunt MiMiiiiiii!!!” (not my real name 🤣🤦🏻‍♀️)

“Oh my gosh, there are deer 🦌 outside!!!”

Me (mainly because the boy is six and if I have to barrel downstairs and ain’t no damn deer, I’ma be pissed) : For real, baby?

Six year old: Yeah! Aunt MiMi! (LOUDER) Oh my gosh!!! Two deer 🦌🦌!!!

Me: Hurry up! Take a picture with your iPAD

Look…MiMi don’t know 💩 about wildlife as y’all know from the BBQ cover bear 🐻 in the backyard 🤣to the anaconda 🐍 under the trashcan. But what little I do know about deer 🦌 is that they’re fast and spook easy.

So I did NOT expect the child to come all the way up the stairs with his iPad and show me a rather nice shot of what I consider a rather large deer. 🦌

Truth be told I wouldn’t know a big deer from a small deer🤷🏻‍♀️. Shoot, the freakin garter snake 🐍 looked HUGE to me and I STILL shudder when I take Cheech out.

But now 🤨 now? Now I’ma have to go out armed 🤣🤣🤣. With what, Ion 🤬 know, but I 💩 you not y’all…these deer 🦌 were HUGE!!!

Y’all notice the change in modifiers, there?

Yes, THESE deer. Because by the time MiMi got her 🍑 together and RAN, yes I know, MiMi doesn’t run, but this time I RAN down the steps 🤣 and there were not one, not two but THREE deer 🦌🦌🦌.

Just out back chillin 😎

😱 Like I 💩 you not I asked the child to run upstairs and get Aunt MiMi’s phone, so I could take pictures. But I saw #BFFSis the super ♊️ on the landing pointed to the window, and exclaimed DEER!!! 🦌🦌🦌

She gave me the same expression she gave me when I told her about the snake 🐍, but in her defense, twas a pleasant expression and MiMi ain’t know she was on a call.🤦🏻‍♀️🤣🤣🤣

My dumb 🍑 goes to the window and stares at the deer 🦌🦌🦌 and tries to take better pictures of them. Because to ME, they’re huge and adorbs!!! And they’re so close to the house, I’m afraid to open the blinds because they might run away!!!

But they didn’t run, they just casually walked behind another house.

And it was over…😞

But not for MiMi cuz I’m still a six year old at heart, right?

Absolutely 🤣.

Excitedly, I went upstairs to the ten years old’s room and knocked on her door.

Then I said, “hey” & excitedly began telling her that there were deer 🦌 in the backyard and as I went to show her a picture she gives me this face 😶.

I suppose that’s the emoji closest enough to an expression which is void of any excitement whatsoever, and she says…“Oh yeah, there’s a family of deer 🦌🦌🦌 that go next door to eat all the time”

Me : 😦

I didn’t know what to say to the child who obviously, like her mother, is also used to random wildlife coming up on the property all willy -nilly.

😳

🤣🤣🤣.

I really thought the ten year old and I were beginning to bond and stuff, and I’m gonna have to get with her later about this, but …at what point was she gonna tell me about Bambi and em just leisurely meandering about out back to a catered lunch and what not? 🤣🤷🏻‍♀️

And 🙋🏻‍♀️ wait, what else does this child know? 🤣

Ima have to ask her before bedtime, I’ll fill y’all in later…

✌🏼💜💨

Peace, Love & Exhale

short story
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.