Criminal logo

To the Georgia State Patrol ..

Or why we need to respect our state troopers.

By Justice for AllPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 22 min read
Like

I had never met a Ga State trooper until 7/12/2019. While the Pooler PD was terrorizing me over either a dead car battery or being in need of gas and leaving me in a Starbucks parking lot with my two animals, then taking them away and leaving me in the car for months before they took the car with no legal reason, which they remain in possession of and have been lying about for almost two years I met one.

I was sitting in Shane's Rib Shack working on my project for first responders, and business and needed a quick break. I went outside to have a cigarette and there was a gaggle of Ga State Patrol officers. As I was pondering all that was going on, there stood two Ga State Patrol Officers in the doorway of Wild Wings. No louder than a whisper I muttered one was cute. Oddly enough he walked towards me and asked me if I was alright. Not knowing how to tell anyone in law enforcement what was being done to by the Pooler PD. I did what I always do, I quickly changed the conversation. I was trying to put together Go Bags for my conference and not having been a police officer I was curious to what Ga law enforcement was issuing. Officer Caleab Wilkinson, and I chatted for a few minutes and when we were done I went to grab a piece of paper, I still remember the plates and positions of the cars clearly. There were 11 spaces of Ga State Trooper cars with empty spaces at 10 and 2. The plates were 0911 and 0369.

Having been failed to be protected by any local law enforcement officer in Ga, including my ex in north GA, and terrorized by the department who would go on to damage my career and whose officer had physically assaulted me for trying to go to the only officer I trusted, to see the Orange and Blue was a godsend.

Whenever I had travelled across Ga, in search of justice oddly enough for officers like the Ga State Patrol and the local police who have all had their departments fail me, having been sexually assaulted in the middle of litigation against Chatham County every time I saw the Orange and Blue I felt safe because they had not done anything to hurt me. Once morning, at the Courthouse in Savannah I walked up to to two GSP Troopers. One I swear I recognized but that was neither here nor there. The other, Trooper Walker and I had a brief conversation. Personally, his wife has her hands full, but he was a very kind man who made me smile for a brief second with his blunt assessment of the ridiculousness he faces. Not disrespectful just humorous. Thank you Trooper Walker where ever you maybe.

For these men and women I have tried to figure out how to arrange court dockets so they don't have to go to court after a long shift, I also fabbed up their go bags for my conference with may things that I would consider mandatory, I created a card for them to give violators and victims, for them I have tried to come up with a way to increase their numbers because their coverage area is so wide, and their primary duties literally make a career out of the one of the two most dangerous things that a police officer can do - traffic stops (the other being domestic violence calls.)

Because of them, they remain one of the few agencies who have treated me with some respect I created a Witness Protection Program for me - because even the Federal authorities in Georgia have literally refused to even speak to me (despite my recall of license plates on two GSP units almost two years ago) who have refused to investigate every crime from Identity Theft to the death of my animals, the theft of the evidence in my sexual assault, refused to return my property, wire fraud, theft of my firearm by Judge Thomas Bass and have refused to investigate anything that has been done from me from being molested by a black man and threatened with being arrested for Criminal Trespass by Officer N. Lantano of the Savannah PD, to being dumped on a CVS corner by Ofr Derrick Roberson (who sadly was given an award by who used to be my favorite police chief and one of only two police chiefs I have ever met. Sean Clayton with Thunderbolt PD, who I absolutely adore from his time on patrol and working with him on the Anderson case and Former Athens-Clarke/Savannah PD Chief Joseph Lumpkin who sadly despite having met him in October 2015 at a mandatory saturday conference and who when I emailed in April of 2016, to compliment the officers of the Savannah PD who had gone above and beyond , whom he placed my email in their guardian files returning the email himself within 10 minutes and having copied several high ranking command staff to my shock, seems to have forgotten how much I valued his own leadership of the Savannah PD).

I know you don't have witness protection program but the GSP is and and remains one of the few agencies who I have any respect for. I created a Youth Coordinator position for you to mentor because of my former probationers, because you are the officers who are true standards of leadership, true heroes in my book- you could teach the local agencies much better than their own Chiefs have, or care to correct their ill behavior, who tarnish your badges when they put on a uniform- what to do when a woman reports a sexual assault- not threaten her , or make the sexual assault case inactive for merely going up the chain of command when Detective Sarah Miller would not and still won't speak to a victim of a sexual assault- you can't get probable cause if you won't interview the victim, and so the tow truck driver who violently raped me in November 2018, who I don't know well enough to even know his last name, who left bruises on my arm, barely unable to walk into the Ga Supreme Court and Court of Appeals to get paperwork to help protect the careers of the officers statewide don't care about, one that was one of theirs , one who can remember every detail down to the brand of cigarettes he smokes, the food he ate that I bought him to say thank you for helping me out remains on the streets of Chamblee, Brookhaven and Atlanta for over two years now when the receipt that would link him to the hotel remains in the car Pooler PD illegally took and I am left to pay for, in my icloud I haven't been able to get into since May 2019 because of the Chatham County Sheriff's department taking all my apple electronics, and the Savannah PD Chief Roy Minter refusing to return an email in March 2019, that I have in a broken Iphone, that is in safe deposit box in North Carolina who a Florida FBI agent who was one of my best friend's has had the key to since March 2019 when I mailed it to him.

Who have themselves become more felons than the criminals they leave on the street, who it could be your daughter, sister, wife, girlfriend, niece or friend they are endangering, rather than answer a text message because I was trained by a former Los Angeles sheriff deputy Gus Markes, as if I was a police officer though merely a juvenile probation officer and know what protocol is because I have stood up for a 13 yr old who was sexually assault when her mother took her to a party and she was raped and what it should not be when Detective Miller and her superiors refuse to interview the victim, managing to get themselves indicatable as defendants in a Federal RICO case.

I can't even wear a hoodie without it triggering the memory of being raped, because that is what he wore the night he raped me - a black hoodie and cargo shorts. I can't eat a calzone because that is what he ate the night he raped me. I can't watch Shrek because after he raped me I discovered his twitter handle was Shrek_In ATL. I didn't meet him on Twitter I was trying to make sure he went to jail so he could never rape a woman again. I have only seen him twice in my entire life, but I could tell you he has two boys, a girlfriend and lives in Conyers, Ga because he told me. I could tell you this the easiest rape case to solve, but for Chief Gary Yundura, Mayor Ernst who promised me he would have someone look into it and won't respond to any follow up, nor will the city council, Deputy Chief Brandon Gurley who sent me an email telling me they do not interview rape victims in 100's of cases.

Mayor Johns Ernst who has never responded despite the follow up email I sent las month and also an attorney..sadly a UGA graduate.

Brandon Gurley Deputy Chief Brookhaven Police-I don't know what updates he was receiving considering I haven't ever had Lt Ayana or Det Miller being willing to ask me any questions about the rape.

No interview was conducted because Detective Sarah Miller refused to return the text message she sent me setting up a window of time for the interview. It was reported in July 2020. no one from the department would even acknowledge I made a report until Feb 2019. Then no one would even take the photos of my injuries, the name of the doctor who treated me following the sexual assault, no verbal statement, no details of the events no request for a line up, no request for any information I had or knew about him, no details on what he looks like, not even a show of compassion that i had survived this terrible event and through being terrorized by local police done everything I could to make sure someone knew what he did while police officers in Chatham County are ding the evidence it happened, including Police Chief Ashley Brown.

This is all I was ever given by the Brookhaven PD ..

I begged Brookhaven PD to take evidence , to interview me and Deputy Brando Gurley has no concerns he is victimizing me but countless others including the possiblity it could be a police officers daughter that was raped, and it could be.. Sadly it could be Savannah Parker, or my exes two daughters who do movies and modeling in ATL.

Since then the Georgia State Patrol remain the only agency to treat me like a human being. In the last two years of being terrorized and lied to by just about every agency in Georgia, I still see the Orange and Blue and believe that law enforcement might still be good.

I have followed the stories of their officers- from the many involved in a "cheating scandal" and wished I could help. I have been trying to get to law school for two years now. Until I got my LSAT books I would look at the cases involving Ga State Patrol officers and try to find a legal remedy to their cases in order to keep practicing the skills I have as a paralegal and because I would have helped them if I had been in law school.

Here's what I know..there exists a beautiful photo of several of their officers in a Dunkin Donuts bowing there heads. Whether it be in prayer, grief or exhaustion it doesn't really matter. It is one of the most beautiful photos of strength and heart I have seen. We all in law enforcement have had moments of sheer exhaustion and frustration. To see these men unashamed in bowing their heads is a rare glimpse into the personal cost of law enforcement, and a brotherhood so strong that anyone with a heart can not help but be in awe of theirs.

I have followed their stories in the news like that of Jacob Thompson ( I refuse to put his mugshot anywhere else in print. This officer has enough to deal with and I will not put one more image of him somewhere else that he or his family could stumble upon and have to relive the trauma he is and has gone through)

I have wished I could help Trooper (I don't care if his POST creds are revoked. To me he is still Trooper Thompson) Thompson. There is no argument he was a model Trooper who one day had to face a scenario no law enforcement officer I knew two years ago wanted to ever face- having to use deadly force. The circumstances of the incident don't matter except to say this: The man fled, was on parole, was drinking and driving and he felt he was in danger of injury from the driver's car. He defended his life. Now after being dragged through the mud in the press he has been incarcerated, released on bail and restrained from his fellow officers pending trial and the family is suing. He has lost his emotional support system and sadly I understand what this like. My heart breaks for him.

I would have been going to visit him myself, if what had been done to me was not continuing. I would have taken his case on my own. Not because of anything else but someone needs to stand up for this man. After two years, of being kept from everyone who could help me resolve and keep officers who have done far worse to include refusal to conduct an interview with a victim of a sexual assault, refusal to hold entire police departments responsible for creating a Federal RICO case where there was none, for killing two innocent animals and tarnishing my career and withholding evidence, for officers I was once friends with to make up things that were wrong with me who where always trying to get me to sleep with them..I can not say this Trooper didn't do his job and deserves to be where he is today.

When I lived in AZ, there was a similar case, a Pima County Sheriff's deputy pulled over a traffic violation. As he went to get his paperwork. his pen fell to the floorboard of his car. He leaned down to pick it up and a bullet came shattering through his windshield. Had he not dropped that pen, he would have been dead. He return fired and somehow managed to hit the driver, who died. The family sued not only the department but the deputy himself. The department settled. The officer did not. Eventually he won the case, but the absurdity of the family of an attempted cop killer suing the deputy he died trying to kill still rings true. That deputy was a friend of mine. The anguish he suffered that no one else saw, the financial and emotional anguish of having your department abandon you to save face I lived through with him. I won't tell his personal pain, because that is not my place. I will tell you even writing this makes me almost on the verge of tears and makes my heart stings physically hurt, because I lived through that with him. I now understand what it is like to have everyone you consider friend and family turn away from you and make up stories or remain silent when you need them the most.

The "Cheating Scandal" - Initially, I admit my first response was "good" they aren't officers. However after doing some research my alliance lies with the the GSP officers. I happen to know the IA officer who investigated that case. I know he was put through a hell of his own whether he will come right out and say it or not. I know the failure for it be handled properly will darken these troopers careers and lives for the rest of their careers. These officers, whether they did something wrong or not were not treated right.

Even supposing what they were accused of they did, they were POST Certified officers and on the street protecting and serving before it was even handled. The events occurred while they were in Trooper School, the incident was uncovered almost immediately, they were graduated and given their POST licenses which were summarily taken away. It's almost like saying you may or may not have cheated on a math test, we gave you your diploma but we are taking it back. Okay..you are kidding me. If what they had done was so terrible you don't give them their creds to begin with. End of Story. You don't give them and then take them away. I couldn't investigate this case because of my own circumstances but I still stand with these Troopers. Luckily, these Troopers are back at work. However, you can not take the painful experience away from them. In fact, I worry that these officers will hesitate in the line of duty because of it and lose their life. I worry they will be the black sheep of their agency because the know they have a target on their back for stepping up and demanding justice. I know that feeling, and I am sorry you will always have that cloud of doubt.

These GSP officers didn't steal property like the Pooler PD, Savannah PD, fail to investigate a sexual assault, kill two animals and leave me in a car. Didn't throw me out of shelter in the cold of Febuary 2020 and tell me to sleep outside without even giving me paperwork, they didn't film a woman getting dressed who was cooperative, they didn't grab my breasts doing a pat search and dump me at a homeless gathering spot when I went to them for help, they didn't steal my diamond earrings, or ban me from two hospitals for waiting on a bus pass the charge nurse was looking for, they didn't threaten to arrest me if I ever called an ambulance for medical help-this was all done by local law enforcement in Ga. These officers sadly still have jobs..which they should not.

I have looked at ways to revise the GSP policy that are just nonsense, like when hair can be grown out, tattoos having to be covered in the GA heat when every other agency on the planet has no concern about such trivial matters.

I have grieved with them when learning about the death of their own Tyler Parker, and had tears falling down my face at the thought of his wife and child having to go on without him. I have smiled a rare smile at the story of his daughter being walked to school by her father's colleuages, (https://www.13wmaz.com/article/news/local/georgia-state-patrol-shows-up-for-little-girls-first-day-of-school/93-b7e5e050-8d4f-47c5-903c-d7eabdc898bf).

Tyler and Savannah Parker

I have looked into so many cases of Ga State Patrol officers who have been arrested, and wondered "Why are they arresting Ga State Patrol officers for things that don't even add up to anything many local police departments across the state continue to make me live with rather than just do their job.

Two years ago, because of the case I took to the Ga Supreme court on my own, because I didn't want any officer to ever lose their job like I did because I filed a grievance against the Juvenile Court where I worked. I wanted to be an attorney for first responders because I understood what it is like to be afraid to make one mistake, I had federal financial aid to go to law school at the University of Alabama- I had only picked Alabama to get away from the Pooler police officer who punched me so hard I fell into my apartment because I wouldn't tell him I had gone to Dalton to try to talk to my former boyfriend, the son of a GBI Agent, because I didn't know who in local law enforcement I could trust about being raped, but didn't want to bother at work, who still now doesn't care what happened to me.

I still told his department a convict threatened to murder him while I was at that Starbucks where the Pooler PD left me for months, and now is inventing stories about me including that I am a drug addict and mentally ill. If that was the case, why would I have gone through all the proper channels for almost two years, during the worst two years of my life, why would I bother telling the department I considered family, who's officer was the best friend and boyfriend I ever had, who won't even return a phone call or email for 2 years that someone threatened his life. The reason- his two daughters. The two daughters I adopted as my own and despite 6 years since I dated their father, worry about having anything close to this done to them.

Whether his department cares or not, whether or not anyone cares about the the fact I could identify the person or not remains to be seen, but I did not deserve to have the law enforcement in Ga protect the police officer who physically assaulted me, whose department continues to destroy my life, to be molested and have police officers threaten to arrest me, to have them refuse to investigate my sexual assault especially considering it happened trying to protect the due process and rights they sadly have as public employees.

I remember seeing news about the GSP HQ being vandalized and firebombed and thinking "WTF, is wrong with these people. Are you kidding me. Do these people not realize that there is no reason to ever do this, and their proclaimed motivation about racial inequality is insane because there are Black GSP officers. How the hell do you people think firebombing GSP HQ is going to change anything you are complaining about. Seriously, are you fucking trying to start the Civil War again in the middle of a pandemic" ( I am not apologizing for swearing because really sometimes there is no other words).

I saw photos of these officers having to arrest a representative of GA,,and thought more than likely out loud. To these two officers I am sorry that your duties had to include arresting a politician, the professionalism (and by the way, completely proper escorting arm hold) you both shown in the execution of your duties is not unnoticed or unappreciated. You represented yourselves and your department like every officer should.

The cupcakes below were made in a Domestic Violence shelter in Gainesville while I struggled to remember that police officers were still heroes and didn't beat women and destroy their lives like they have done to me for the last two years. The days I have seen a GSP cruiser merely drive by, in all that I have been through and continue to have go through I always smile because of Trooper Wilkinson knowing one of my favorite shows .. Life and Trooper Walker and his humor at the daily life of being a Trooper.

To each of you KCCO Carebear was a conference for officers like you. You are excluded from the GGIA , who have done nothing for one of their own. you are the standard of law enforcement I hold officers to, and will always be. For you, I have based the law enforcement model of my conference on for two years despite what local police agencies have not done, I have wanted to increase your numbers and pay, for you I envision a collaborative model of law enforcement that keeps you and other officers safe. I have envisioned a new state board to handle disciplinary actions to include someone of that profession before you can be fired, I have thought of a position being made that is the liaison between every law enforcement agency in Ga so cases don't get put away when someone is too lazy to even return an email or return a phone call because real police officers 1) Don't like police officers who victimize victims and keep them in the dark carrying the burden to prove they were victimized and 2) Real police officers don't like officers who tarnish their profession. Unfortunately, the list is long in Ga of local officers, and sheriffs deputies that are.

I could do it all if I had those of you I have met and would like to back among my liaisons . Care bear unfortunately, has had to be shelved do to funding issues and the lack of response from the agencies who quite frankly I would use my settlement to fund it, but until they are officers worthy of their POST creds and return everything I ever owned, including my car and my animals, if they are even alive, I can not put anyone's children especially yours at risk. Maybe someday, I have tried creating a Go fund me to no avail. However, it is for each of you I wish I could get any of them to be the officers you are.

If you would like to donate so we can make it a reality ...

https://www.gofundme.com/manage/valkyries-sanctuary-first-responders-conference

Or so I can ever be your attorney https://www.gofundme.com/manage/People-for-the-ethical-treatment-of-Devani

Or to find my two beautiful animals Jacob and Ella

https://www.gofundme.com/manage/Justice-for-Jacob-and-Ella

Each Go Fund me has a separate account so that the funds are not comingled , and can be used for the appropriate goal.

I will put Care bear back together, because of you and the firefighters who have never with two exceptions, the female FTO with Pooler Fire and 3 firefighters with Battalion One in Savannah who refused me medical care and left me on my own when I reported the theft of all of my electronics, My Macbook Pro, My IPAD, my Silver Iphone 8 plus, my credit cards and ID, my deceased step-father's wedding band, my Kindle, by the Chatham County sheriff department- Deputy Gavin and Will who left me out in the street to juvenile court for hours as my coworkers and officers drove by in June 2019 when I went to the people I considered family for help, who wouldn't let me make a police report about it and it took 4 months to make a report to the Savannah PD who has stolen the report number , my cat Mackenize's urn with his ashes and my Harvey's laptop bag and purse. For two years, everyone I trusted has refused to answer a phone call, an email, text message and left me to figure it out. For almost two years I have put my faith in local officers, FBI agents and no one would even take a report about or do anything but threaten me while I have struggled to ever lay eyes on anyone I ever met personally or professionally. Maybe you can get a 10-32 Carebear BOLO out where no one has.

Be safe .. you are always in my thoughts. I am always here if you need me. Please watch out over the good ones of you in the world, their are so few of you angels in blue , that one loss is too many.

Keep Calm and Law enforcement On.

It was for first responders and business. No actual social service anywhere in the state will do anything to help me other then dump me in the street, medical doctors and EMS included.
Virtual Thank you cupcakes

investigation
Like

About the Creator

Justice for All

"Justice delayed, is justice denied" "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

Tattooed, Employed and has a Psych degree..Always on the look out for a group of Avengers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.