Criminal logo

Puzzled Mysteries Part 5

Meanings Within a Sentence

By Mathew KentnerPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 9

When we drove up to the apartment building where I saw the gunfire coming from, I said to Steve, "Go around to the fire escape around the back. I think he climbed down there to get off the roof."

So, Steve drove around to the alley and parked right in front of the fire escape to the roof.

We both got out of the car at the same time and right away I looked up at the roof because it was a five story building. It is a lot of climbing with a gun in your hands.

"How are we going to get up there?" asked Steve.

It was one of those fire escapes that didn't come down to the ground unless you pulled the cord that was hanging down from the bottom of the ladder so that you could climb up it.

I found the cord right away and pulled it down to the ground.

I gave Steve a quick glance with a smirk on my face and he just said, "OH! I didn't realize it was one of those fire escapes."

We climbed up the fire escape to the roof but before we went over the wall at the top, I turned to Steve and said, "Don't touch the railings to get over the wall because I can guarantee you that the suspect definitely touched one if not both of them, so you will likely get a really good finger print or two off of them."

"Okay!" Steve replied.

I climbed over the wall and I stopped right there and stared.

"What is it?" Steve asked as he climbed over the wall.

"A very nice present for you," I responded as I pointed to the other side of the roof where I could see a lot of things shining from the sun light beaming down on them.

"Is that what I think it is?" wondered Steve.

I shrugged my shoulders and said, "Maybe! But can you be that lucky?"

We walked over to them and sure enough, there they were. Dozens of .22 caliber shell casings.

"WOW!" Steve said while shaking his head with a puzzled smile and look on his face. "He must have been in a real hurry to get out of here since he left all of these behind."

"He wasn't in a hurry," I answered. "He left all of these behind on purpose. He wanted us to have found them. Which means they are useless."

"What do you mean they are useless?" asked Steve.

"I mean that since he left these behind, he knows that we won't find his fingerprints on them, so he didn't care if we got them or not."

"But we are still able to use them to identify the gun that was used in the shooting though," replied Steve.

"That is true. I never thought of that," I said. "My job is done here. When you call this in, can you get somebody to come by and take me back to the station to get my car?"

"Yeah, for sure, John," replied Steve. "And thank you for your help. Have a good day."

"No problem," I responded. "I am glad I could help."

Chapter 10

He was sitting in front of a computer, in the dark, at his house, typing up a letter to the police.

He got a big smile on his face and said to himself, "I hope you are as good as they say you are because if you aren't, the big bang is going to be wonderful." He started laughing in a freakish sort of way.

His heart started to race faster and sweat started to go down his forehead in excitement to see if he could outsmart the Great Detective.

When he got about five or six lines down, he stopped typing, his heart slowed down, and he started to think, with a puzzled look on his face.

After a couple of seconds, he got this weird grin on his face, like he was really imagining something fantastic happening to him, while he stared towards the ceiling.

He snapped his fingers and said, "I have an even better idea."

His eyes moved back to the computer. After he deleted everything that he had already wrote, he started typing again.

The smile on his face got bigger and bigger as he typed.

"I hope you guys have a good puzzle solver," he said to himself while he was typing. "Because if you don't, the real person I want here, won't be here in time for the fun to start."

He finished writing the letter and put it in a self-adhesive envelope, so he wouldn't have to lick it to seal it. And he then addressed it "NYPD."

Then, he went out to his car and drove right away to the police station even though he knew nobody would likely get it until the next morning because it was late in the day.

When he got to the police station, he parked his car down the street a little bit. Then he put the envelope in his pocket and got out.

He walked towards the police station entrance but was looking around to make sure nobody would see him put the letter in the mail box.

The mailbox was right at the front door and when he got close, he took one last look to make sure that nobody was around.

Then he went to reach for the letter in his pocket but he heard the door start to open so he quickly moved his hand away from his pocket.

Two uniformed officers came walking out talking to each other with smiles on their faces.

"Good evening, Officers!" he said to them with a smile on his face.

"Good evening!" the officers answered back with a nod and then just kept on walking.

Once the officers were far enough away, he quickly looked around again, and grabbed the letter from his pocket and put it in the mailbox.

Then, he quickly rushed back to his car and went home.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.