Criminal logo

Puzzled Mysteries Part 3

Meanings Within A Sentence

By Mathew KentnerPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 5

Within ten minutes of me getting off the phone with the 911 operator, I started to hear sirens. I breathed a sign of relief and I finally began to relax.

As soon as we seen the ambulance, Jennifer stood up and started to wave it over to us. They parked the ambulance close by us. Then the driver and the tech got out of the ambulance and quickly came over to have a look at the guy that was lying on the ground.

As they examined the guy, I noticed three police cruisers and another ambulance had arrived. Two of the police cruisers blocked off the entrances to the parking lot. Then one of the police officers got out of the car and used our "POLICE LINE DO NOT CROSS" tape to tape off the area.

"Everything besides the gunshot wound to the shoulder, seems to be OK," I heard the EMS tech say to the driver as she examined the guy on the ground. "But we will strap him up and take him to the hospital just to make sure."

As the EMS people were putting the guy on the gurney, Jennifer spoke up and said, "What about the Detective? He has been shot, too," she said as she pointed to my side.

The EMS tech finished strapping the guy onto the gurney and putting him into the ambulance. Then she turned to me and said, "OK Detective, lift you shirt and let me have a look."

I lifted my shirt and said with a sigh, "I will be fine. It only grazed me."

"It looks to me, like it got you pretty good, Detective." The EMS tech said as she grabbed some gauze out of her bag. "You will have to get stitches at the hospital but I will cover it up for now and hopefully slow down the bleeding. But make sure you go to the hospital right away."

"I will. Don't worry," I said with an irritated tone.

As the EMS tech was taping me up, I was looking around and noticed that three more police cruisers had arrived to help clean up the mess and to try and figure out who did this and to try and find some clues about what this was all about.

A couple of the cops were talking to some of the witnesses while other cops were taking down information of the vehicles that were damaged from the gunfire and information of the owners of those vehicles.

When the EMS tech finished taping me up, I went to start walking towards my car and I heard a familiar voice, "John! Is that you?"

I stopped and turned around slowly, because I was in pain, to see who it was and I saw Detective Steve Williamson. He had only been a detective for just over a year now but he has been on the force for ten years though.

"It is you. Are you alright, John?"

"I had a bullet graze my side. I have to go to the hospital to get some stitches for it, but I am OK," I answered.

"OK, good!" Steve replied, "You go do that and get some rest. Then, I will catch up with you tomorrow morning so that we can try to figure out what went on here and where the gunfire came from. OK?"

When I got to my car, I had noticed that besides the rear window being blown out of it, everything was fine with it.

Since I use my car for work, the police department agreed to pay for any damage done to my car, so I wasn't going to worry about the rear window at all.

I got in my car and I drove myself to the hospital to get stitches, which was about a ten minute drive away.

Chapter 6

He drove into terminal 3 for the departures at the Toronto airport and went straight into the parking garage.

He drove around until he got to the third level and pulled the car into the closest, empty parking spot to the elevators.

He quickly wiped down the inside of the car before getting out.

Once he got out of the car, he looked around to make sure nobody was around, watching what he was going to do and then he wiped off the outside of the door.

Once he finished that, he started to walk towards the elevators. But, when he went to go by one of the garbage bins on the way to the elevator, he threw out the rag with which he wiped down the car. Then he continued on toward the elevator.

Once he finally got to the elevator, he pushed the button and waited for the door to open.

The elevator doors opened and he went in and pushed the button for him to go down to the first level.

Then he walked across the lines of traffic that he had to cross to get into the airport.

Once he got into the airport, he started to look around for the line to the airline so that he would be able to get his boarding pass to get out of Toronto.

When he got to the front of the line, the clerk said, "How are you today, Sir?"

"Good. Thank you," he replied.

"Do you have any luggage that you will be taking with you today?" Asked the clerk.

"Nope," he answered.

"OK! Here is your boarding pass. just go through the security gates over there and have a good flight," the clerk said as she passed him his boarding pass and pointed to her left.

"Thank you!" He responded with a smile on his face.

He started walking in the direction that the clerk told him to go to get to the security gates, and when he got to them, he went through them with no problem at all.

After he got through the security gates, he then had to find his gate number, which in the Toronto Airport could be quite the challenge.

It took him about 20 minutes to finally find his gate number and then he found an empty seat and sat down to wait for his time to board the plane.

He didn't have to wait very long after sitting down for a message to come over the intercom, "Flight 471, from Toronto to New York City is now boarding at gate number 32."

As soon as he heard the message, he stood up and got into line to board the plane.

Once he got onto the plane, he found his seat and just waited for the plane to take off.

He waited for about 15 minutes, because everybody else had to board the plane still. Then the plane started to move and it took off. He was on his way home.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.