Confessions logo

Why I'm saying Goodbye to Vocal

No snappy subtitle required.

By Trevor WellsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
17
Why I'm saying Goodbye to Vocal
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

When I first discovered Vocal, it was like a dream come true. A place where I could write and get paid for it? Sign me up! My blossoming love for movies and movie review only further fostered my love for this platform and, when it started out, it was all fun and games. I was in college, Vocal had me in what one could call their Newbie's Spotlight, and the easy money had me feeling like Scrooge McDuck swimming around in his pool of cash. In my delusions of grandeur, I thought that if I kept it up, I could start making a living wage and forego any post-graduation job hunting.

But as long-time readers of mine will attest, there were times when I'd momentarily hung up the gloves. Be it mental health issues or a need to prioritize school over movie reviews, I've taken breaks from this creator's arena that ultimately didn't last too long. But looking back now with a clearer head, I can see those breaks were the beginning of the end for my time here on Vocal. Between more pressing real-world concerns like the one I've hinted at above and the constant flow of material I felt compelled to review, the dream "job" started to feel more like an anchor tied around my throat. I couldn't much enjoy the thrill of getting a new review posted. I was too busy getting ready to watch the next movie. Between that and the aforementioned flow and an overload is only inevitable.

For a long while, I tried to deny that there was a problem, convince myself that things would just turn around if I just kept "working the grind." But over time, the grind became overbearing. Writing began to feel more like a chore than a passion, as did watching movies, and the Vocal payments weren't increasing enough to allow them to supplement an income. Some months back, an epiphany had me altering my review length in order to accommodate everything. But even then, the review material kept piling up and my stubbornly self-imposed deadlines kept rearing their ugly heads so much that it felt like I'd be in an eternal cycle of trying to keep up.

But a few days of rest have a way of putting a lot of things in perspective. So with that, I'm finally taking my retirement from my side hustle that turned into more of a thorn in my side.

(And consider that last corny pun as my final treat for the road.)

Don't let this last piece of mine think that the Vocal experience has been completely awful or anything like that. In fact, the majority of my time with Vocal has been great. Not only has the platform given me a space to hone my writing and deepen my appreciation for film, but it allowed me a space to raise my voice on real-world concerns that speak to me. It also allowed me to make new friends and introduce an older-than-my-discovery-of-Vocal friend to this platform (that being Clyde E. Dawkins, whose profile and works concerning villainesses, sports, and more can be viewed here). It may have its problems and my time on the site certainly didn't come to a sweet end, but it's still a pretty good site for creators and has fostered a great sense of community. Just don't be naïve and look at it like it's something you can turn into a money machine.

With that, I say farewell. Thank you to everyone who read, hearted, or otherwise gave my content their attention and stood by me throughout this whole crazy journey. I wish you all the best with whatever life has in store <3

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

Humanity
17

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I read a lot of your reviews when I'm on Vocal, and I will miss you. However, sometimes people need new things, so good luck with your future Trevor.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Trevor , you will be miss. I love your Romance movie Review the most. You do have talent. You cannot go by just what vocal say. I love the spoiler alerts in your stories. Not many review writer have those features . 🥰

  • You are a talented writer Trevor and I wish you success in all that you do. I will most likely remain with Vocal until I can no longer write so you know where to find.

  • All the best Trevor and I do get it. I’m not far behind you, just making the most of my free year and then I’ll do the same.

  • Thank you. Totally get it. As soon as it's not fun, I'm done too. I enjoy reading more than writing and sometimes the writing takes up all my time 😉. I love movies. Will your reviews go with you? I'm not sure how that goes??

  • It's so sad to see you go but I totally understand the pressure of self imposed deadlines and the eternal cycle of keeping up. It's exhausting. Though sad, I'm happy as well because you managed to come to a decision to do what's best for you. I wish you all the best of luck!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Wishing you all the best! I have enjoyed many of your reviews, but agree that you need to do what is best for you!. Good luck in all future endeavors!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    It was nice getting to know you. You're a very talented writer! Good luck to you in all of your future endeavors!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Definitely agree that it’s time to stop if you no longer enjoy it.

  • Sad to see you go, but your health and wellbeing is the most important thing. Vocal for me is just a convenient hobby, not an income stream.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Enjoy your time, Trevor! You're not alone. 🙃

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    Sounds like you have made a smart and considered decision. Best to you.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    All the best in the world to you Trevor ❤️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    When it stops being fun, changes have to be made, and definitely do understand. Peace & Love, my friend.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    I wish you nothing but health, wealth and happiness in your future path.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins2 years ago

    Bless you sir! Thanks for the shoutout and thanks for everything!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.