Confessions logo

There's Always Something To Be Thankful For

Just one look out of that window reminds us of how much that we have to be thankful for.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1

I wake up early, I was really looking forward to sleeping in late this morning. I glance at the clock, it’s 6:54 AM. There’s no use in trying to go back to sleep, I playfully growl at the white cat sitting on top of me. He has decided that it’s time to have breakfast and get the day started. “Alright boss, I’m awake.” I scratch his head while encouraging myself to crawl out from under the toasty, warm blankets.

I stumble into the kitchen and prepare myself a single cup of coffee. I recently invested in one of those K-Cup pod coffee makers, I'm impressed with it. I look forward to exploring all of the different flavor varieties, this morning I choose toasted coconut. I let out a pleasurable sigh as the first sip of warm magic hits my cold, sleepy soul. I smile as the cat gently wraps himself around my feet. He’s still waiting for his breakfast. Instead of his normal kibble, I reach for the special stuff that I had purchased for him. He seems pleased with the high-priced delicacy.

Today is Thanksgiving, I stare out the window and notice how quiet, and peaceful that the “usually chaotic” neighborhood appears. I envision everyone still snuggly sleeping in their beds, preparing to gather with family and friends for a feast later in the day.

I crack open the window and take a deep breath of cool, morning air. I almost expect the scent of roasting turkeys to be lingering in the wind. Instead, I smell wood smoke; the older lady next door uses a wood burner for heat. The scent of oak wood swooshes through the neighborhood. I notice the smoke billowing from her chimney. She must be awake, and stoking up the fire. Her husband recently died, and she’s mostly been a hermit since. I’ve lived here for years and still don’t know what her proper name is. I wonder how many Thanksgiving dinners that she has slaved over, preparing with love for her family. I hope that she has someone to spend the day with.

Across the street is where the Johnsons live, she’s a foster mother and always has a house full of rowdy, feisty children. I cringe as I imagine the mess and disarray that her house will be in later. Those kids come from all walks of life and heart-breaking situations, they’re lucky to have her. I smile as I think about their little tummies having a proper holiday meal.

Further down the street stands the crumbling remains of the Martin home, it burned down back in the Summer. The eye-sore serves as a reminder of just how delicate that life can be. We’re all just one mistake away from being like the Martins; misplaced and irrecoverable. I wonder where they might be, with family I assume. The last that I heard of them they were meandering between motel rooms, and any place else that they could rest their heads. I hope that they’re safe and happy this morning.

I close the window and sit down at the kitchen table. I have a small duck sitting on the counter, I should really put it in the oven. I glance at the pumpkin pie sitting in front of me. I consider for a moment just how good that it would taste with my coffee. It looks delicious, and tantalizing but I refuse to slice into it right now.

I notice that the cat has finished his breakfast, and is now perched in the windowsill licking his paws. I wonder if he’s contemplating on how much things have changed. Just one look out of that window reminds us of how much that we have to be thankful for.

We have a roof over our head, even though it might not be as fancy and sophisticated as others, I’m thankful to have it. There’s food in my cabinets, although it may not be fit for a king, I know that I won’t be hungry. I’m not alone, I have the company of this arrogant but lovable feline. Of course, I have other family members out there in the world but we’ve all separated over the years, none of us really talk much anymore.

My mother lives just on the other side of town, after my dad died our relationship crashed and burned. I try to block the thought of her out of my mind. She was never really good to me; I was more of a burden and embarrassment to her than anything. A tinge of anger begins to form inside of me when I think about her too much. I grew up more afraid of her than anything else. I always felt like I was walking on egg shells to keep her happy. Still, I wonder what she’s doing and if she’s found anyone to spend the holidays with. I form a mental picture of her sitting in her recliner, sour and turning her nose up to the rest of the world.

I shake my head, trying to dislocate the negative thoughts, I want to remain in a peaceful and happy place. I turn on the television, the Thanksgiving Day Parade should be airing soon, even though I’m a grown adult I still enjoy watching it each year. “I wonder if any balloons with come crashing to the ground again.” I immediately hear about another shooting, robbery and senseless murder. With a sigh I switch the turmoil and unrest back off. “What is wrong with this world?”

I begin to recall the holidays of when I was a child. Everything was so much less-complicated and easy back then. Our entire family would gather at grandmother’s house. There was so much good food and laughter. On this one day of the year, we all loved and cared about each other. Looking back on it, I know that it was all a masquerade. A well-acted show to satisfy my grandmother’s wishes for a peaceful, and loving family. After she died all of the glue came loose and nobody had to pretend anymore. Still, it was nice while it lasted. Way back then I couldn’t imagine it ever changing or being like it is today; It’s funny how life works out in ways that we never expect.

I take another long, hard look at that duck sitting on the counter. I’ve never had duck before; this will be my first time of being introduced to Chinese turkey. I laugh to myself, “Chinese Turkey” a reference from the famous holiday movie “A Christmas Story”. My dad and I watched that movie every single year, so many times that I have memorized each line. I sure do miss that man, more so than ever during the holidays. I decide to search for the movie online and relive it once more. It’s nice to remember the good times, to go back to a time that was innocent and carefree.

I look out of the window one last time. The world outside sure has changed, but for today I will be happy and thankful for what I have no matter how little that it may be. As I finish my coffee and begin preparing this duck, that I am clueless about.... I hope that everyone is having the most wonderful, happy Thanksgiving.

No matter what day of the year that it is, never forget to be thankful. If you have a warm home, good food, clean clothes and someone to love “even if it’s an old, imperious cat” you have so much more than some. Be thankful and be grateful because we’re all just one mistake away from losing it all. Life can change so quickly and without warning...

If you need motivation, all it takes is one, long look out the window to see just how fortunate that you truly are.

Just always remember to be thankful.

❤️Feel free to leave a heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world but are never expected or necessary!

If you enjoyed reading this story, you might also like:

Family
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.