Confessions logo

"Ground Control to Major Tom," "Call Me Les, here!"

A day in the life.

By Call Me LesPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
6

*This was for a personal challenge...so while I doubt it makes any sense to my readers...it did serve a purpose!

*

It's 9 a.m. My sun alarm has tried nudging me awake, failed and I'm now feeding the "hungry sheep" in my Alarm Mon app their hay. The insanely loud bleating noise of the sheep has awoken my mouthy calico cat, Savannah, who begins chiming in with the sound. She's still riding high from being named EmPAWyee of the month.

I'm definitely awake now.

But, you know what? I'm not cranky and I haven't overslept. That's the beauty of loving your job.

I was up late with a burst of ideas, which I just had to get out of bed to jot down and sort out. It's a good feeling knowing that I work for a company with whom I have the leeway to go back to my desk at midnight and work until 2 a.m.

I keep my New Year's sleep resolution and make my bed.

The coffee pot has turned itself on and the apartment smells like a Gilmore Girl's episode. I pour a cup, settle at the table with my phone and start scrolling through the feeds. I answer comments: some uplifting, some typical...some make me take another swish of coffee before I respond. Lots of notifications to sort through, but the data from yesterday's paid ad campaign looks promising. I love starting my day talking with people without "talking with people".

Being a Myers Briggs (X)NFP is an incredible thing if it's understood. I absolutely love mixing, mingling and chatting—so long as I don't have to get dressed up for the camera or go into the office first thing. It's the perfect personality for running an online community.

Email list is long.

I decide exercise is more important, so I row for half an hour while listening to a podcast on Instagram trends.

Shower. Eggs.

OK, I'm ready to get into tougher work.

I check in with my colleagues first on our internal messaging app because I like to see how everyone is doing, and check out what's on the to-do list.

Any lunch and learns on offer? Meditation moments planned? Who has a charity right now that needs support?

I send out a message on LinkedIn for Carolina's request for sponsors for a marathon. Then it's time to settle into the harder work. My focus, as always, is a single client, just what I want: all my energy, ambitions and ideas thrown at a single target until they shine. I lay out some new campaign goals, write a new story angle, see what the reels are right now that are getting attention elsewhere and brainstorm ways to build one of our own. The funnel pages for the Metagroup are gaining traction.

Is there anyone in my network that would make a good interview subject?

Storytelling is key.

I write about the newest product feature in a way that's set to appeal to both the clientele and the client.

Before I know it, it's time for the 2 p.m. touch-base. I give my manager a report on my progress, ask some questions and continue getting ready to meet with the client virtually for the first time next week. Need to be informed.

Don't be the person who interviewed Adele without listening to her album, I remind myself.

I'm a late-luncher. It's 3 p.m. and my go-to is soup. I've used a recipe for lettuce soup from a networking contact (recipe here). While I sup, I check in on the community again, answer some comments and clear out the notifications on various platforms. It's a good day for soup. I send out an update about enjoying soup to my subscribers and give a shout-out to the creator who wrote about the soup. This ties in with the winter-wellness theme my client is promoting.

Main activities for the day are essentially wrapped up by 4 or 5 p.m., but I know my most productive hours for anything creative are in the evening. It might end up becoming something for personal use, or it might be for work, or maybe both. Who knows.

My brain feels blocked on the main concept of the newest promo for my client, so I go for a walk to recharge. The river behind my apartment is alive with sounds, but once I get my steps in, I settle on a bench to listen to a chapter from an audio book. Generally, it's non-fiction of some kind: decluttering, history, negotiating. Today it's Bob Brier's Egyptology.

Supper is simple and from the crockpot. I take a snap to share later if the need comes up.

Yes, we can use photos that are free or we can crowd-source, I remind myself, but it never hurts to take a few of my own.

Savannah reminds me it's time for her meal, too. Then my 5:30 alarm nudges me to pay attention to the time difference and catch up with my friends in England before they sleep. By 7 p.m. it's time to tap at my piano for an hour; piano and walking being the only routines I like to stick to.

It's 8 p.m. now.

Where did the day go?

I take a moment to touch base with some local friends, then clear out notifications again for my client and myself. After that, I'm in hermit mode for the rest of the evening. Research. Research. Write. Write. Boom, knocked out a good story! I add it to my growing short story anthology.

At 11 p.m., I settle into bed with my Luna sleepscape, feeling like the day was well-rounded.

I got a lot done.

I left my home for fresh air.

I engaged with people whose moods revitalized mine.

I threaded the needle without a hitch today.

I wake up at midnight.

Bingo!! That's the idea I wanted to convey!

With gusto, I hop out of my bed and tumble to my desk, push the sleepy kitty gently off my keyboard and write for an hour.

I leave a message for my boss.

"Ground control to Major Tom! Call Me Les, here. Had a breakthrough!"

I go back to bed knowing that although my methods and hours are wonky, I'm accepted as I am, valued for my talents and tomorrow is going to be a good day—even with the dental appointment, but, hey, at least it's covered.

***

Social Media CV

Published by Call Me Les on Vocal Media January 21, 2022 as part of an application to Major Tom.

Workplace
6

About the Creator

Call Me Les

Aspiring etymologist and hopeless addict of children's fiction.

If I can't liberally overuse adverbs and alliteration, I'm out!

Instagram @writelesplaymore

Vocal Spotlight

~&~

She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.