Confessions logo

FIRED

— Zig~Zag —

By Jay KantorPublished 2 years ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
6
© Darlene M. Wescombe

Author © Jay Kantor

Toss-up your 'Blinker' ~ Just move-on

— Changing Lanes —

Have you ever been Fired? We never forget that day! 1st reaction of ALL would probably be the overwhelming feeling of rejection - What did I do wrong? Knocks your wind out! Usually our 1st Firing from our 1st job is the most memorable: But, after the initial Firing-Phenomenon, all the following 'Usher-Outs' become old hat - certainly not so dramatic - been there done that 'tude-taken: An emotional shock to your personal 'Failure Factor' Department - Inadequacy? Nah! We, of course, will miss our co-workers and 'workable' comfort zones, but as with all facets of life, it's time to move on!

Lose your Job? You may start feeling emotionally unhinged, all of which may 'pave' the road for chronic physical issues to arise! – Re-Invent ~ Re-Route Yourself – No occupational hazards in sight!

— You are YOU - Not WHAT you DO —

After all, your career-job, often identifies what it is that you do. But there are those that feel that they identify with 'the job' as an intricate part of their being: Others may simply say, "I punch a clock - Gotta pay the Rent - Nothing more."

Odd to me how many 'Expressions-Descriptions' there are for this type of flash-bang notice! Often depended upon the job category - the industry it is taken from - or the lingo from which side of the 'pond' you may be from. But, no matter how this is conveyed, it usually brings out dizzying gut-reactions regardless of the circumstances.

'FIRED' - Made Redundant - Pink slip - Canned -Terminated - Walking papers - Vacate notice and I'm certain there are many more much less subtle missives portrayed. These assortments of labels may be as archaic as the Art Deco building styling of the 30's. Currently you might hear: "Don't Let the door hit you in your a*s!"

Downsizing ~ Outsourcing 'The Cream of the Crop' ~ efficiency with the minimums, only! – No Dead-Weight here – Darwinism: "Survival of the fittest," Indeed! Of course, there's always the First-Time-Ever Quick Lunch with the Boss. The 'Diplomatic' approach - The Doomsday Talk - Never ends well! Politics (even nepotism) play a large part in this oftentimes complicated scenario. There are many reasons why someone doesn't work out for a particular position within any venue: Certainly no question about that.

Most of us have experienced this at least once in our lives – as you continually shake your head – "didn't see this coming!" Out of disbelief an array of Lumps in Throat-Mad-Glad Revelations: Not unlike facing the 5 stages of Loss-Grief 'Laboring' to 'Work' through. Actually, that 'Job' just may not have been 'IT' for you; a semi pain free rationalization?

Try something different at this stage; mix up your job choices. Stay within your 'vocation' but choose an unusual path to utilize it. This 'Life Change' can actually be Way-Better: Was-it-Though a blessing or a curse or just a happy-accidental occurrence; a wake up call? Don't run it into the Ditch.

How long did it take you to recover from your 1st Firing? Come-on we all got dumped at least once! No matter how insignificant that job may have been...it still stung!

Remembering: When we were 15, Twin-Lar, and I shared our 1st motorized ride - a red Vespa motor scooter. We would alternate days who drove and who sat on the rumble-seat. I was a busboy @ a coffee shop and we were stuck in traffic; no padded helmets here. I was ONLY {5} minutes late. And as I slid down the hallway to clock in, Mr. Chambers, the Manager, shouted "Don't bother...we needed you here." Well, I never was 'Fired' again after that - luckily never even worked for anyone - lesson learned. But, if I hadn't been fired I most likely would still be working there!

— Thanks for that Mr. Chambers —

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal

'Senior' Vocal Author

Co-Creators, INK

Family
6

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧10 months ago

    Well said. What we do for a paycheck doesn’t define who we are, or at least it shouldn’t. I am a father, a son, a brother, a Christian. Those roles define me, not my occupation. I was technically fired once. I tried to quit, and my boss wouldn’t let me. He fired me so I would be eligible for unemployment if I couldn’t find another job. Thankfully, I didn’t need that, but it sure was a great gesture. I have been “fired” as a husband, however, so I know that feeling of rejection.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    We need a new system of schools, work. life and everything. A new way of doing things. This one has gown old and is stifling us on a whole depressing level. Down with the old. New world to be welcomed.

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    Actually, it was the picture of a Morgan that got me to check it out. Love those old cars!

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    One thing I learned the hard way while I was in sales, you never want to be the top performer because your quota will be raised and your territory cut in half. Also, never be at the bottom because you're gone. The middle is safe.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    I was never fired until I rose to the position of being able to fire someone. I have a saying, “the higher you are in a company, the closer you are to the door!” The inverse is, I have fired my employers before when they failed to fulfill commitments agreed upon when I was hired. Nepotism, favoritism, and unrealistic expectations (they generated) lead to companies being baited into that narcissistic hire. I became a cleanup guy until the BULL SHARK came along a turned their heads. I found myself happiest managing the middle. Good article, good points, well said. SW

  • Jay Kantor (Author)12 months ago

    CR ~ As the head of my firm for many years ~ I lived by (2) Basics: - Less is more. - Pick my Battle's; aka don't sweat the small stuff! - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • C. Rommial Butler12 months ago

    I've been fired once and laid off once. Never felt anything but relief! The first time I was a busboy myself. Called in sick. Genuinely sick! Manager said "if you don't come in tonight, don't come in at all." Joke was on him! I had money in the bank and was quitting in a month anyway! Went to school the next year and managed to collect unemployment on that one, which supplemented my living expenses! Two punchlines to one joke? Well... it was fucking funny! The second time I got laid off from a job I worked thirteen years. Saw that one coming. Knew the plant was tanking and was thankful for the severance pay, which got me through until the next job. Sorry for all the older guys who had put in so many good years only to not see it to the end. No. I never asked myself what I did wrong in those cases, because I knew I was right, and corporations just suck. "Work for pay and pay for freedom Fuck 'em all, we don't need 'em" -Acid Bath, "The Bones of Baby Dolls"

  • Janet Carpenterabout a year ago

    I agree completely that many times if you weren't "let go", for whatever reason, you'd still be swimming in that same puddle! Your story was a wonderful reminder of turning something painful or disappointing into a positive; and changing that path can lead to many opportunities you wouldn't otherwise have considered. Also, valuable "Life Lessons" can be learned...yes, you're NOT your job, but there is also an element of "unfairness" that exists everywhere and you have to deal with it. Many times the higher road is to quit, shrug it off as THEIR loss, and find someone that appreciates you. Thanks for this insightful story!

  • Just don't say, "You're fired." You know Donald Trump still wants to claim that for his own. (And I may end up having to pay royalties for having just said that, lol!) Thank you for pointing me this direction. That was fun.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.