Confessions logo

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

The last Chocolate frontier

By Kayla McIntoshPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Photo by Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

I know this is going to sound very strange, but since I have started my Twitch channel and did my whole Pixie Road project, I have this funny little desire to make my own chocolate pixies. To be honest, I am not very skilled at cooking nor baking, but this has been floating in my head for quite a while now and I can't let it go.. Especially not since a chocolate shop opened down town a few months ago.

I rushed down there as quick as I could to inspect the place and order a chocolate pumpkin spice latte to test to get the vibe and the flavor of the place. It has this kind of modern, yet homey vibe to it which I liked and the chocolate seems to be very pure, but I think they are " low sugar " sort of people, which I am not against, because that just means that they are chocolate purists ( Or perhaps it was the overwhelm of pumpkin, it is hard to remember now. )

Either way, I had the mistake of going there with my mom who happens to talk quite a bit, and my autistic butt really couldn't keep up with the conversation she had with the very charismatic owner. Their flashy personalities sort of dazzled my very tired and frumpy hoodied self so I really had no chance to get into the conversation. Not that I necessarily blame their extroverted, neurotypical selves, but I just usually need a battle plan going into places and just jumping into it after a long day of shopping just wasn't going to get me anywhere.

I also wondered if perhaps committing to a job at the place was a right move, in my typical fashion of overthinking and asking people's opinions I ended up leaving the whole idea alone for a while now, just stalking their Instagram from a far, sending emails to attend the chocolate making sessions but never really attending one. Just very passive attempts at trying to connect to this chocolate making world.

It is now 3:01 am and I am writing a complete article about chocolate, it has been months about chocolate, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate... I think it is time I bit the bullet and asked for the job. My fear of rejection really needs to take a back seat to this one, because I need to see where this might go. As far as trying to apply to Staples and Rite Aid and such, there was no real love there for that, but this.. THIS! Even though it is something that can be classed as a "job" it feels like it is more of a "career" move, you know? I can put my allegiance behind chocolate. Vive le chocolat!

I don't think there is anything wrong with taking jobs, but I think when you can do something that can help you achieve your overall goals, that is just a double win. I know I am probably now overthinking this now in a grandiose way, but I just can't help being excited thinking all about the possibilities.

Now, simmering down for a minute... I do technically have stream today, but perhaps if I can go back to sleep for a bit, wake up around 6 am and head to the shop on the way to or back from the gym, maybe I can work up the courage to ask today~! Perhaps I should do make up and actually do my hair propers just to get that 10+ confidence in.

I'll keep you all posted about the results!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Kayla McIntosh

This is just my personal journal. I needed somewhere to write my thoughts, and I thought here was pretty good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Hi Hana. Follow your dream, you never know until you try it. Go get em tiger.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.