Blush logo

What Is To Become Of The Door To Door Avon Representative and what has caused their prices to raise?

As a former Avon lady myself and frequent customer, I see prices soaring compared to the past. Has quarantine life caused this company to raise their prices?

By Kathleen RobertsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
What Is To Become Of The Door To Door Avon Representative and what has caused their prices to raise?
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

I am a huge fan of Avon products and have been a customer since I was 18 years old. I am now 33 and still buy their products. I order my products online, through a representative's online store. Avon representatives have the option of selling online as well as door to door. I do not know if quarantine life stopped them from selling door to door because I do not sell it anymore, but it seems to me that it would be obvious that they could not deliver in person any longer. At this point and time though with some stores and locations opening, they may now be able to go back to selling door to door, assuming it had stopped.

I have always depended on them to produce great products at affordable prices. I have however seen that as of late the prices have raised quite a bit more than off sale prices. They are a company that has lasted since 1886. When I was a representative, I sold to family and friends, and sold it mostly because I spent so much on orders I got a discount as a representative. That is a major perk of selling it. You have to buy your samples, bags, and pay for shipping the orders to you, but the discount is great if you buy a lot.

I have also noticed that they have discontinued the Mark and Outlet brochures. They sell discontinued Mark items in their Good Buys section of their website. When I sold it, Mark products were a bit more expensive and directed at a younger demographic. I understand that they have to update their products and sales to be trendy, but I am wondering if it is majorly due to the possible loss of door to door selling recently? Are they making up for the income they are possibly loosing from that cause? Will they loose customers because of this raise in prices?

My favorite product they have available right now is Cashmere Complexion Longwear Concealer. It has a wand applicator and is liquid and covers very well! I also love their Mattitude Liquid Lipstick. I absolutely love getting and collecting the A Boxes. When you spend $40, you get the current A Box for $10. It has been over a month since my last order because I switched my perfume and body cream to Chanel No. 5. My favorite current fragrance Avon sells is Avon Flourish Honey Blossom Eau de Parfum. It smells like Honey Suckle flowers and is so sweet. I buy that when I can't afford Chanel No. 5.

I recommend Avon because of the wonderful history I have with them and the fact that I still love their products. I am heartbroken for people on a budget especially during these difficult financial times to not be able to afford big orders from Avon now that their prices are soaring. I understand why they are though. It is a sad time for door to door sales people. They thankfully have the online shipping option like I mentioned earlier.

However, the thing that makes Avon most special is that you get to visit with a friend or relative when they deliver your order or go through the brochure and sample the perfumes and other products in person. Avon is taking all cautionary measures to make sure they are run clean and such, but the fear of in person selling and delivering is something you have to face and decide for yourself. You get a discount online if you shop through a specific representative website. That helps a great deal. Let's hope for them to sustain during these tough economic and quarantine times. It would break my heart if they closed. Here's to Avon and them not folding under the pressures that face them.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Kathleen Roberts

I am the reincarnation of Marilyn Monroe and a physical medium of ghosts occasionally. I am a book reader, who plans on doing book reviews and writing about my experiences and feelings. I channel my Marilyn personality too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.