Blush logo

Unpolished Toes

Personal Health By, Karenenina

By Karen J. ImasPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

"Oooooooohhh, girl, getting a mani-pedi is a necessity." Is it, though? I mean, really, people. We, women, are brainwashed into thinking spending over thirty five dollars once a month keeps us looking 'sexy'. Here is the truth. Are you ready for some real talk? Are you? I am about to get very real here. Beauty comes from our inner spirit. The crevices of our inner selves we like to bury, buff over, deep cleanse away, and glisten with a new, hot shade of fuschia or ruby red or Morticia green. And yes, these words sound like a self help chapter from Brene Brown's new book, but take a moment and think about feet. Human Beings are lucky because we look different than other species, and we look different from each other. The reasons most people want a manicure and a pedicure fall into these categories: maintenance, a self-care treat, and pleasing others. I understand wanting to maintain a level of cleanliness with your hands and feet and treating yourself once every few months. My beef and lack of understanding is with friends and loved ones, even colleagues, who get their nails done as a bonding experience. What an expensive outing! Hear me out for a second. How often do we really look at our feet? I don't about y'all, but I look at my feet twice a day, if at all. Once in the shower when I am washing my toesies, and at night before getting into my house shoes. My footsies are clean and isn't it true the goal of personal hygiene is to wash and moisturize your body? I think treating yourself to a bath is as much of a treat, if not more, than paying a total of forty+ dollars for gleaming toenails and smooth feet. For one thing, my bath once or twice a month (quick showering saves on your water bill) is way less expensive than a pedicure, and I get the same satisfaction. We need to be grateful for feet because not every person has the luxury of moving on their feet or even having feet. I think the hidden reason people like pedicures is to maintain an external image of beauty for others to admire in them. The problem here is the 'admire in them' part of this philosophy. Being natural means without the artificial layers of makeup, and isn't nail polish makeup for our feet and hands? Before I moved to Texas, I had no idea what these little buggers called Chiggers were in the insect kingdom. Let me tell you, Chiggers are nasty little insects that crawl into your skin, pop out and can crawl back into your skin again. Did you know nail polish kills Chiggers? Oh, yessirrreee. Those little f*&$ers die by suffocation after you dab a few layers of nail polish over your chiggerbitten skin. The next time you look at nail polish, think about how a tiny bottle of artificial beauty saves our skin. Enjoy your next mani-pedi, people.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Karen J. Imas

I am a performing artist and teacher (focuses are writing, literature, philosophy, practical life, acrobatics, and theatre) living in Houston, Texas since 2009. My artist expertise lives in dance, physical theatre, voiceover, and puppetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.