Blush logo

Three Down ____ To Go?

I like mine in some low key areas!

By Tiffany LintonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

The year was 2017. I came across a photo of one of my favorite instagrammers, Kiloni Lee. “Yesssss sis! This picture is so cute!” I thought to myself. After admiring her location and poses, I realized the more intricate detail in the image. Her tattoo. “Wait. I’ve been waiting for a cute idea for so long! That tatt is so fire! Let me zoom in,” I said to myself as I used my thumb and index finger to get a closer look. Now, I don’t know what the hell was written on the side of her foot, but I was well aware that it was in Arabic. “Hmm, if I want an Arabic written tatt, what would it say?” 2017 was the year that woke my love for Bob Marley’s music. Not common coming from a Jamaican, huh? I know. I figured I’d want it to say One Love. Well, in this case...حب واحد.

Boy was I nervous. I went to the mall one afternoon with my obsessively inked up older brother, my plain skinned other older brother, and my sister in law. They crowded around as I layed down as the artist went to work on my foot. It stung so much I thought I would never step foot in another tattoo shop again! Plus, it was overpriced. No sir! Overpriced, overwhelming, almost left my account overdrafted, and honey I was OVER it. Over it like Summer Walker’s 2019 album. That’s how over it I was. It hurt so badly due to the pain that was being applied to the bone in my foot. I got through it though, and lo and behold, my one love tattoo was created. After I got it I had to make sure once again, that it said the right thing. I spoke with an Arabian friend over Instagram. “Hey, what does this mean? *sends image of the tattoo*” “Hey! It means loved one.” “Excuse me????” “I’m playing, I’m playing! Lol it’s one love.” “OMG don’t play like that😭 thank you.”

One Love in Arabic

Before I knew it, two years passed and my cousin was celebrating her 23rd birthday. Last month in Queens, New York we celebrated her birthday with an extravagant dinner, strawberry cheesecake, a wonderful Airbnb weekend getaway, and to top it off, we snuck passed her parents in their sleep to get some matching tattoos on our right thighs. “Yo, is there a tatt shop near here?” I asked her. “Girl! I don’t know since we recently moved here, but let’s check Google Maps!” After searching for a cheap but quality shop, we came across a location named “Dragonfly.” Boom. We stepped foot in there and I almost jumped out of my skin. I felt the rush over my body because it had been three years since my first ever tattoo. I was shooketh and excited at the same time! “You go first!” “No, you go first fool!” My cousin and I went back and forth as the employee looked at us. “Alright, fine I’ll go,” she offered. She went first and loved it. She wouldn’t stop raving about it! I went next and cringed the entire time. It made no sense because mine was a little smaller than hers, but hey...our pain tolerance is different! She talked me through it! “Come on sis, you got it! You got it! It’s coming out so bomb! You gonna look so cute!” As soon as it was finished she goes, “Whew chile, thank God. I was running out of stuff to say.” We laughed and treated our new skim additions to A&D ointment and fragrance free soap as we went back to her house.

Black and Beauty/Beautiful in Japanese

My worst influence, she spoke before bed, “Cousin! I want another one!” “Damn, girl! We just got number two!” “I know, but like... for fifty dollars? They did great and I want one more! Just one! Come with me, you don’t have to get another one, but pleeeeease!” “Fine,” I said.

Before we knew it, we were on our way again. Something about the outline of Africa ‘s continent enticed me that day as I tried to search for ideas on Pinterest. Within one hour of debating where to put it, I decided. The back of my arm.

Africa

We hid them from her super strict parents and got away with it, and when I was finally back home, I was able to stare at them all day. I fell in love with them more and more as they stopped peeling and itching, because truly, I love everything about the tattooing process, just not that stage! Because who wants to slap or pat a tattoo when they’re just tempted to scratch it so badly?!

art
1

About the Creator

Tiffany Linton

Writer, Actress, Educator, CEO, Singer, if you want more then follow me on Instagram: tiffanymulan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.