Blush logo

This Acne-Fighting Ingredient Is So Underrated

The Rotten Egg Smell Is So Worth It

By SotiraPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

We’ve always been told the likes of benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid are the way to go for clear skin. They’re amongst the first topical ingredients you’ll be prescribed by doctors. But what happens when you start to explore?

The Discovery

After countless dermatologists told me I needed Accutane (or Roaccutane as it's called in the UK), I was determined to find products that worked for my skin. I couldn't understand a one-size-fits-all approach to skincare.

I got fed up with the same advice, frankly, I knew it wasn't working for me and I wasn't being heard.

It provoked me to find my own way, that’s exactly how I discovered Sulphur.

The Benefits

Sulphur holds strong anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties. Sulphur springs all over the world have become a popular place to clear the skin.

It works in drawing out the spot by absorbing the oil. Not only will it draw it out but it’ll also start the healing process helping the wound to scab over. It’s also said to be really beneficial when getting rid of hyperpigmentation left by breakout by shedding the dead skin from its surface.

I have experienced dryness but unlike alpha and beta hydroxy acids, it does not irritate the skin.

You can find sulphur in many forms. My personal favourite is an ointment, much like the De La Cruz one. Other popular forms are soap bars and more recently a lotion filled with Salicylic Acid.

Sulphur Based Products

Mario Badescu’s Drying Lotion went viral when Kylie Jenner was seen using it. It has now become a staple for many, using it overnight to work on pimples.

A common misconception is people find their skin getting worse but actually it’s drawing impurities out of the skin. Bear this in mind when using these. Here are some of my top Sulphur based products;

Origins 10 Minute Out of Trouble Mask

A great product for overnight targetted spot treatment or as a quick mask after/during a shower. It semi dries down and is easy to apply and remove.

I have used masks from Zo Skin and also Dr Dennis Gross however I find this Origins option is great value for money.

I leave it on for 10-15 minutes and wash it off. It's as simple as that!

Indie Lee Banish Lotion

Like the Mario Badescu lotion, the sulphur sits in the bottom in salicylic acid. Using a q-tip, dip in the formula and apply to the blemish. Also great to prevent picking.

The sulphur will draw out the impurity while the salicylic acid will go deep into the pore to kill any bacteria and clear it out. A winning combo if you ask me.

De La Cruz Acne Treatment

In ointment form, this super-strong acne treatment has 10% Sulfur. I swear by this particular product! I dot it on pimples for 10 minutes before showering and rinse during cleansing. It’s one of the most powerful acne treatments I’ve ever used.

It doesn't dry down at all and can easily dry out the skin so proceed with caution. For the most part, I find sulphur easy to work with and non-irritating.

My skin as of Feb 2022

I hope this has helped if you’re on a journey to clear skin and it’s something you can incorporate into your routine. Finding ingredients that work for your skin is a journey, one that takes great patience and perseverance. It can be really disheartening when products don't work.

The key is to get to the route cause. There's a wealth of information out there both from a scientific perspective and people sharing their personal experiences.

Acne.Org is a great community, it's where I felt like I was understood.

face
1

About the Creator

Sotira

Beauty Product Developer, curly girl, and professional matcha drinker. I write about all of the above, helping you to find the best products on the market.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.