Blush logo

Putting Clutch Nails to the Test

The nails claim to last up to two weeks, but do they?

By Jade M.Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like

I used to love getting my nails done until I saw a news story about a woman who lost one of her fingers after her nails got infected. I still like my nails to look presentable, but regular nail polish chips within the first three days it’s applied. I’ve tried press on nails, but I’ve had similar luck with them. During my first week after applying them, I lose a lot of my nails.

When I worked at Ulta, I was intrigued by Dashing Diva nail strips. Dashing Diva had trendy designs and claimed to stay on for up to two weeks. I bought a pair but put off wearing them because I was intimidated by them. What if I wasted one of the nail strips? What if they looked funny when I finally wore them? What if I applied them wrong?

I watched a video of someone putting them on. They looked easy, so I finally dared to try them. Once I had them on, I couldn’t stop looking at my nails and smiling. I had achieved a nail look I wouldn’t have been able to do on my own. It gave my hands some character. I was also pleasantly surprised at how long they lasted.

I love Dashing Diva, and they have so many designs that I knew I’d never get bored with them, but I found that sometimes I wanted to add some length to my nails. While Dashing Diva had a ton of press-on nails online, I had trouble finding their press-on nails in the store.

Sometimes I get gratis or freebies from work, and one of these freebies was a pair of press-on nails from the brand Clutch Nails. They claimed they could stay on for up to two weeks. I had used press-on nails before, but never anything that was reusable or meant to last more than a few days. I doubted these nails would differ from the ones I’d already tried.

I have a job that’s rough on my hands and nails. I’m constantly unloading shipments where I open products, so I expected my nails to pop off within the first hour. I was pleasantly surprised that they stayed on, and they didn’t bend like the other press-on nails I’d tried before. When one fell off, I assumed it was because I hadn’t added enough glue to that nail. When I reapplied, I used more glue, and it stayed on.

When I explored the Clutch Nails website, I was pleased with the different nail shapes offered. I noticed the nails were mainly basic colors, such as red, without many designs. I was a little disappointed that I didn’t have as many choices as I did with Dashing Diva or any other nail company, but Clutch Nails seems like a smaller brand.

Clutch Nails did recently have a collab with Marvel and I picked up the Spiderman nails. Hopefully, they will have more collaborations in the future and continue to expand their nail collection.

I thought the medium length would be too long for me, but I’m currently wearing them while typing and they aren’t getting in the way. I am disappointed that there aren’t many shorter styles, because sometimes I don’t want to wear a longer nails. Short nails are currently only available in the square style, and sometimes I prefer almond or oval nails.

Despite these minor complaints, I liked Clutch Nails. They lasted through the daily abuse I put my nails through at work, and they added some much-needed length to my nails. They looked good enough that one of my coworkers asked me where I’d gotten my nails done and she was surprised when I said they were press-on nails.

I would like to see Clutch expand their nail collection and offer new shapes in the short style. Despite this, I do plan to invest in more pairs of nails, and I plan to keep an eye out for new styles.

If you are interested in trying Clutch Nails, please use code: CR-JADEMcC for 15% off your purchase.

If you're interested in trying out Dashing Diva, they also have a code. Use the code OURDIVAS10 to get 10% off.

nails
Like

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I like this FYI story and product review on nails . 👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.